Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $3.99

Save $8.00 (67%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to The Alaris Chronicles! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Dragon Orb (The Alaris Chronicles Book 1) by [Mike Shelton]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Dragon Orb (The Alaris Chronicles Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 204 ratings
Book 1 of 3: The Alaris Chronicles

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Length: 287 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Age Level: 13 - 18
  • Book 1 of 3 in The Alaris Chronicles
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Lord of the Rings meets Eragon. Fans of Lord of the Rings and Eragon would love this book. Shelton has created a wonderful fantasy world for readers to dive into. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!" - Goodreads reviewer
         

"The first book of the Alaris Chronicles series brings a refreshing take on magic and politics in fantasy. The world feels very much alive as the wizards take on their new challenges, struggling with their personal demons as much as those of the land they are expected to protect. For people wanting a fantasy kingdom-based read that is more sorcery than swords with a depth of intrigue that goes well beyond blood and debauchery, 
The Dragon Orb is a solid new entry in the genre." -Self-Publishing Review


The Dragon Orb is full of magic and adventure,
and a way for younger readers to get a peek into the world of politics. The book is a strange combination of a Dungeons and Dragons adventure with Game of Thrones, but with kids as the movers and shakers of the story -- and with a PG rating. It is a very easy read, a page turner. I love the fact that the protagonists of this story come in all colors, shapes and sizes, and that our leads are not your usual all-white characters. As mentioned before, the world our characters inhabit borrows from already established fantasy folklore; from Lord of the Rings to the Wheel of Time series. The biggest innovation on these series by Mr. Shelton is the inclusion of how politics work (hence the Game of Thrones reference), but accessible for a younger audience." -  Erika Grediaga for Readers' Favorite


The Dragon Orb is an exciting, magical adventure that both young adults and adults alike can fall in love with.
 Mike takes readers on an exciting adventure through the wizards world and the politics that divide the wizards and normal citizens. The plot is new, exciting and you never know what to expect next. Mike brings the story and characters to life and makes you feel as though you are a part of the story, that they are your friends, your enemies and it is your home at stake. This is one of my favourite parts about his writing and this story - you are drawn right into the story and become one with the novel." - workingmommyjournal.ca


Shelton does a great job juggling the characters and theirown stories, while moving forward with the main plot...It amazingly intertwines fantasy and real world concepts like loss andpolitics, in a way that is both entertaining and insightful, but not tooextreme.  There's a lot of twists andturns that I wasn't expecting and it was exciting to unfold each one and seewhere the road let do.  I'm lookingforward to picking up the next book in the series and seeing where each of thecharacters go."  - Words, Phrases, Imagination


"As the first installment in a fantasy series, the author has laid the foundation of what is likely going to be something that readers of this genre will enjoy.  The story has many characters apart from the three protagonists and the author has been able to seamlessly include these characters, who greatly contribute to the story's development.  Each character is a diamond in the rough and the further into the story one reads, the more one will uncover the facets of those characters.  The story has a lot of peaks and troughs that will keep one reading and turning the page to find out what happens next. Bring on book two!" M.P Ceja InD'tale Magazine


"I loved how each character has their own unique personalty. Roland is cocky and handsome. Ally is confident and enchanting. Bakari is nerdy and awkward. Put these three together and there was bound to be tension. I also enjoyed that there was enough action to keep the story engaging. The fighting and suspense were prevalent. Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of wizards, magic, and fantasy. This was a great read and I look forward to the next one." Bethany W. and YA Books Central


"Masterfully written with the epic magical combat of Maas' Throne of Glass series, sprinkled with the political intrigue and phenomenal world building of Martin's A Song of Fire and Ice. I can see why this was a RONE award finalist! What a fantastic read full of magic and adventure! Roland and Alli were my favorite characters. I loved their fiery attitudes and kickass fighting skills. But the story . . . wow . . . it grips you right from the start and weaves you further into its web until that last final moment, leaving you wanting more!" Angel Haze, Author

From the Author

Best Seller Lists:
#1 Teen& Young Adult> Fairy Tales &Folklore > Anthologies

#1 Children's eBooks > Fairy Tales, Folk Tales &Myths > Arthurian
#1 Teen & YoungAdult > ScienceFiction& Fantasy > Fantasy > Myths &Legends > Arthurian
#1 Children's eBooks > Science Fiction, Fantasy &Scary Stories > Fantasy & Magic > Sword & Sorcery
#1 Children's eBooks > Fairy Tales, Folk Tales &Myths > Dragons
 
Top 10
 Teen &YoungAdult > Science Fiction&Fantasy > Fantasy > Sword & Sorcery
 Teen &YoungAdult > Science Fiction& Fantasy > Fantasy > Wizards& Witches
 Teen &YoungAdult > Science Fiction&Fantasy > Fantasy > Epic

 Teen &YoungAdult > Science Fiction&Fantasy > Fantasy > Myths & Legends
  Children's eBooks > Action & Adventure > Fantasy & Magic

Product details

  • Publication Date : March 1, 2017
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • File Size : 1486 KB
  • Print Length : 287 pages
  • Publisher : Michael Shelton (March 1, 2017)
  • ASIN : B01N4LI376
  • Language: : English
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Not enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Simultaneous Device Usage : Unlimited
  • Lending : Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 204 ratings