Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 1, 2015
Do you need to read this book to make sense of the Dragonlance series? Not at all. But there are two good reasons to do so:

1. If you are a fan of the RPG adventures, and you wondered how they might reconcile the Verminaard's end in the novels with Verminaard's end in the adventures, you should probably read this.

2. If you just want one more shot at reading the classic version of the Heroes of the Lance, all together, acting the way you remember them acting, you should probably read this.

It's fun, it fills in some gaps, and it's like visiting old friends. If you have the time, pick it up and get some warm feelings and nostalgia from the read.

Disclaimer: If you aren't already nostalgic for the original series, it's probably not worth your time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 7, 2012
This review looks at the Kindle version of "Dragons of Dwarven Depths" by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

Fantasy readers should not begrudge Weis and Hickman for returning to the story that started the Dragonlance franchise but they should have concerns. Far better writers have failed to recapture past magic when they returned to past subjects (for example, Hemingway's "The Dangerous Summer" simply can not live up to the same ground he covered before in "Death in the Afternoon"). Thankfully Weis and Hickman avoid the major pitfalls. This book does not take any luster off the original Dragonlance Chronicles.

"Dragons of Dwarven Depths" is a solid if unspectacular addition to the series. There is a certain joy in seeing beloved characters interact with one another and the writers send more than a few knowing winks the reader's way since we know more about the plot than the characters do at this point.

Some of the best parts of the Dragonlance series focused on the intimate moments; when the companions seemed more concerned with their own survival and what was in front of them than the epic wars for control of Krynn. Weis and Hickman are able to present some very good scenes when they can think small; when Tika and Tas face dangers; when Raistlin, Caramon and Sturm explore a dungeon; when Tanis and Flint look for a lost city. When Weis and Hickman try to show the bigger picture (for example, Riverwind leading an army of refugees or an in-depth take on dwarf tribal politics), the authors simply lose the narrative and the reader loses interest.

There remain some problems with the book. This book suffers from poor editing; poor copy editing and poor plot editing. One of the chief reasons Weis and Hickman split the Companions apart in "Dragons of Winter's Night" is they could not focus on character development when there are too many actors on the stage at once. That's a problem here since Tanis, Tas, Flint, Caramon, Raistlin, Laurana, Tika, Sturm, Riverwind, Goldmoon, Elistan, Gilthanas, even Hedrik the Theocrat. not to mention a host of new dwarven characters and villains, fight for page time. Tolstoy may have been able to pull the strings on so many puppets but Weis and Hickman simply are not up to that level. For example, the first part of the novel shows more focus and depth on Tika than almost any other part of the series. She's invisible the second half of the book. One has to also concede that the first half of the book is much more gripping than the second half-and no, that has nothing to do with Tika.

Despite these flaws, the authors are able to hold the book together through good characters and a decent enough plot. If Weis and Hickman did nothing to take the series to greater heights in this book, they at least did not tarnish their previous glories.

I gave the book four stars--but I have to give a lower ranking to the Kindle version. Words blend into one. Spelling mistakes not in the original book can be found in the Kindle version. Spacing is atrocious as paragraphs are jammed together. This comes off as amateurishness and readers should expect better from the published of a well established series like Dragonlance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
Having won a small skirmish in the War of the Lance, the companions (with several hundred newly-freed slaves-turned-refugees), are holed up in a valley, hopefully to wait out the bitter, unforgiving winter and proceed to safety with the first thaws. Resourceful and streetsmart, they are aware that defeating a single commander is hardly sufficient to topple a cohesive military unit and throw the remaining draconian and human troops into chaos.

Their fears prove true after their nemesis, Verminaard, is resurrected and flexes his muscle over his escaped prizes. And so begins a desperate rush for survival and shelter in Thorbardin.

There are almost no rehashings of events that occurred in the trilogy's first third, enabling the authors to leap right into the story, showing us glimpses into the Draconian plots as well as the struggles of the heroes.

Sturm and Flint are fleshed out in detail, and they become more mature as well as composite characters, engendering rage as well as pity and sympathy from readers. Reorx himself makes a brief appearance, and shows an unexpectedly playful, almost capricious side to himself. There are references to the Dragonlance Legends saga and these will doubtlessly be of interest to fans of those books as well as new fans who have read Dragons of Autumn Twilight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
There is a bit of catchup from the last books which is helpful as I read them years ago, and I'm enjoying the return to some of my favorite characters. I feel like I've picked up right where I left off.

I read a review about a few editing/spelling/typos, and they were correct. I was disappointed to discover that there have been three in the first thirty pages. It is enough to take me out of the story for a moment. I'm not upset, but they damage the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2011
I was eager to read this because like many I am entranced by the Dragonlance Universe, and I enjoyed the brief glimpse of backstory- I feel like this might have been intended or at the least contemplated 26 years ago when the first novel was published, because I was always puzzled/ frustrated by the gaps in storyline.

Unfortunately the stilted writing, grammatical errors and shallow overview of the emotional depths of the characters ruined the story line for me. It was as if the entire story was dictated to a text to speech and sent off to be published without any effort at... well anything really.

Perhaps the most poignant thing I can say about it is I read this three months ago, and despite a strong hunger to know what happens in the other two in this trilogy, I haven't been able to bring myself to buy Dragons of a Highlord Sky.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
IN MY OPINION WEISS AND HICKMAN DID IT AGAIN. ONLY THEY CAN CONTINUE TO TELL THE STORIES OF THE COMPANIONS WITH THE LOVE OF A PARENT RECOUNTING TALES OF THEIR CHILDREN. OTHER AUTHORS HAVE WRITTEN STORIES IN THIS SAGA BUT THEY WERE LACKING BY COMPARISON TO ANY OF THE BOOKS WRITTEN BY THE ORIGINAL TWO. I AM GLAD TO HAVE FINALLY READ OF THE STORY OF THOBARDIN AND AS ALWAYS TO AGAIN HEAR ABOUT THE BELOVED CHARACTERS. MAY THE STORIES BE TOLD ALWAYS. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND READING THE CHRONICLES AND LEGENDS SERIES FIRST AS THERE ARE MANY REFERENCES TO PREVIOUS TALES AS WELL AS IT TELLS OF THEIR EXPLOITS BETWEEN CHRONICLES DRAGONS OF AUTUMN TWIGHLIGHT AND DRAGONS OF WINTER NIGHT. AS THE TITLE OF THE REVIEW STATES, AWESOME!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
I have read so many Dragonlance books that Im just about done ever reading anymore. Hickman & Weis are awesome writers of fantasy novels that I will always be grateful, but this book, this series, Lost Chronicles, I cannot recommend. This is only my opinion. For those who like to root for the bad guys, this book may be for you? It just seems like the author is trying to squeeze blood from a rock. All the moments that were not in the main series are in the Lost Chronicles. Maybe it is why they were "lost" in the first place...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
Civil war is about to break out in Thorbardin, and the treacherous Realgar of the Thiewar has plotted the fall of the kingdom to the forces of the Dark Queen, known to the dwarves as False Metal, in return for his assumption to the position of High King. Our heroes split into 3 groups in order to save the 800 rescued Pax Tharkasian slaves from the winter cold AND dragons. Flint, Tas, and the hero-in-his-own-mind Arman Kharas go on a treasure hunt to the Tomb of King Duncan in order to find the Hammer of Kharas -- both to unite the Dwarven kingdoms and to forge new dragonlances to defeat the dragons of the Dark Queen. Tas meets a golden...woolly mammoth???!!...or does he?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2009
First off, do not expect Tolkien type quality from these authors. They are great storytellers and are very capable of writing an enjoyable tale.

That said, I have been wanting to know what happened between the first two books in Chronicles since reading them 20 yrs ago. This book tells the tale of how the companions gained entry to the Dwarven kingdom and convinced the Dwarves to house the Pax Tharkas refugees.

The story did not go as I had expected given the information from other novels and sources. The story was not consistent in several parts, however, since these are the original authors I'll take what they say as canon.

The characters are not the same as they were in the Chronicles. Meaning if you read the Chronicles and the Lost Chronicles in chronological order, the characters would act differently as you changed books and back.

Overall the book is good. It is not a literary masterpiece but neither was the first trilogy. If you enjoyed Chronicles, chances are you will enjoy this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2007
After such a long time our favorite Dragonlance characters, Tanis, Flint, Caramon, Raistlin and Tas have returned in a new tale explaining how the Hammer of Kharas was found. I have always enjoyed the Dragonlance books that dealt more closely with Flint and the dwarves and their mountain home, and Dragons of the Dwarven Depths definitely delivers in that area. I thought the book was great and very much enjoyed reading it, although the editing was absolutely horrible. Like a few others have already mentioned there are quite a few misplaced words and others are just simply left out all together. I was very disappointed in this as it was not what I expected or remembered from previous Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman books. Regardless, if you can get past the editorial shortcomings, Dragons of the Dwarven Depths is a very entertaining book and the first volume in The Lost Chronicles trilogy. I am looking forward to reading the next two books (although having to wait a full year for the next book to come out is a real bummer) and I'm really hoping the editing is much better on the two following releases.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse