Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now ToyHW17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on February 23, 2015
There are two stories in this collection, 'Christmas Knight' and 'Moonrise'.

5 Stars
I will admit, at first, I wasn't that drawn into 'Christmas Knight'. Unlike the other Draycott stories, this one was set in the small Scottish village of Glenbrae for 99% of the story. Only at the very end did the characters visit Draycott Abbey. It's different from the premise of her other Draycott stories. We don't have a back story of the past where the lovers were torn apart, finally to be reunited in the present day. It would be hard to accomplish that as Ronan McLeod is from the past, the 13th c. to be exact and thrust by magic to present day Scotland.

We also don't have characters that are very successful and at the top of their field. Sorry, but it's tiring to read about a heroine who in her early twenties is already world class expert on something, or have a hero who is the best body guard or is the best at anything he does. Don't get me wrong. I love all the Draycott stories, but the majority of them follow the same formula and premise - wealthy, handsome, tough as nails, but with a heart of gold Alpha male meets, and falls in love with a drop-dead, gorgeous twenty something female who is a world class expert on wine, paintings, textiles... etc. In this story, Hope isn't rich. In fact she is struggling financially throughout most of the story. And all Ronan has is the armor on his back, his sword, his horse, and a few coins and trinkets. It was a nice change to read something different.

Here, Ronan is a hard, battle weary knight, returned from the crusades to finally settle in the house and lands bequeathed to him by the hated English king he was forced to serve. Instead of finding peace, he time travels to the future and meets Hope the new owner of his house in 1998. Sparks fly, tempers flare, and love blooms between these two strong minded people. Throw in a mystery surrounding several unexplained thefts in the small village, a parrot quoting strange Shakesperian type phrases, and three magical sisters or Sidhe, who seemed far older than what they appear, and who decide to play matchmaker between Hope and Ronan.

I love the three Wishwell sisters. They remind me of the three fairies from Disney's Sleeping Beauty. They have magic but they are not all powerful and are no match for Adrian Draycott, the ghost of Draycott Abbey. Still, they are delightfully nosey and interfering.

2 and a half stars
The second story 'Moonrise' is another time travel story about a knight from the crusades who seeks revenge. It's very short and the characters don't seem as well developed. It was still a nice read.

I truly enjoy all the Draycott stories and I hope there will be more to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2014
I love love love all the Draycott books. I requested more, but the email received stated her editor wanted her to move on. POO POO on the editor....if all the mistakes in the ebooks are testament to her ability....I am definitely not impressed with her work anyway. Buy all the Draycott books, you will love them. When you review her books, please mention how much we would love to read more of the Draycott books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2009
With every book about Draycott Abby, I love coming "home" to it's mysteries, inhabitants, and roses. Christina Skye never disappoints, and always makes my "trips" memorable. No matter who the main characters are, they always manage to intertwine with Adrian, my abby's guardian, and Gideon, my favorite feline. Truth be told, I was drawn to Gideon from his first appearance and by the time he nonchalantly leapt into Adrian's portrait, I was smitten. I sense Gideon is much more than he (she?) seems. Perhaps that's another layer to Draycott Abby's mysteries that Ms. Skye is saving for the future.

The only downside....as soon as I finish the latest book, I'm missing everyone and looking for the next one!

Brava Christina!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
I bought the first book in this series on a whim and I am so glad that I did. This is a delightful series that keeps your interest. Christina is a wonderful story-teller (which is why I have all of her books!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
havn't read this one yet but I love the other contemporary books by Christina skye. just plain great reading. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
Charlotte Marie Groce
----- Forwarded Message -----
From: "molligirl2@comcast.net" <molligirl2@comcast.net>
To:
Sent: Saturday, September 28, 2013 3:07 PM
Subject: First date

Subject: First date
Her First Date

If you didn't see this on the Tonight show, I hope you're sitting down when you read it.
This is probably the funniest date story ever, first date or not!!! We have all had bad dates but this takes the cake.
Jay Leno went into the audience to find the most embarrassing first date that a woman ever had.

The winner described her worst first date experience.
There was absolutely no question as to why her tale took the prize!

She said it was midwinter...snowing and quite cold... and the guy had taken her skiing in the mountains outside Salt Lake City,Utah.
It was a day trip (no overnight).
They were strangers, after all, and had never met before.
The outing was fun but relatively uneventful, until they were headed home late that afternoon.
They were driving back down the mountain, when she gradually began to realize that she should not have had that extra latte!!
They were about an hour away from anywhere with a rest room and in the middle of nowhere!
Her companion suggested she try to hold it, which she did for a while.
Unfortunately, because of the heavy snow and slow going, there came a point where she told him that he had better stop and let her go beside
the road, or it would be the front seat of his car.
They stopped and she quickly crawled out beside the car, yanked her pants down and started. In the deep snow she didn't have good footing,
so she let her butt rest against the rear fender to steady herself. Her companion stood on the side of the car watching for traffic and indeed
was a real gentleman and refrained from peeking. All she could think about was the relief she felt despite the rather embarrassing nature of
the situation.
Upon finishing however, she soon became aware of another sensation. As she bent to pull up her pants, the young lady discovered her buttocks
were firmly glued against the car's fender. Thoughts of tongues frozen to poles immediately came to mind as she attempted to disengage her
flesh from the icy metal.
It was quickly apparent that she had a brand new problem, due to the extreme cold.
Horrified by her plight and yet aware of the humor of the moment, she answered her date's concerns about 'what is taking so long?' with a
reply that indeed, she was 'freezing her butt off' and in need of some assistance!
He came around the car as she tried to cover herself with her sweater and then, as she looked imploringly into his eyes, he burst out
laughing. She too, got the giggles and when they finally managed to compose themselves, they assessed her dilemma. Obviously, as hysterical
as the situation was, they also were faced with a real problem.

Both agreed it would take something hot to free her chilly cheeks from the grip of the icy metal! Thinking about what had gotten her into the
predicament in the first place, both quickly realized that there was only one way to get her free.

So, as she looked the other way, her first time date proceeded to unzip his pants and pee her butt off the fender.

As the audience screamed in laughter, she took the Tonight Show prize hands down. Or perhaps that should be 'pants down'.
And you thought your first date was embarrassing.
Jay Leno's comment... 'This gives a whole new meaning to being pissed off.'

Oh and how did the first date turn out? He became her husband and was sitting next to her on the Leno show.

If you laughed at this pass it on.
Remember: If you haven't got a smile on your face and laughter in your heart, then you are just a sour old fart!
=

Ms Skye mixes the right amount of humor, mystery and romance to keep the reader interested. I love all of the Draycott stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I realy like Draycott Abbey heroes. I hope to read more abourt Scotland lairds. Like to read about Andrian Draycott, his life and history of his Abbey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
I would give this another half star if it were possible. There were some loose ends I'm sure will be tied up in her next book about Draycott
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
Christina has all the elements; magic, mystery and a hot guy in love... no brainer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here