Buying Options

Kindle Price: $11.49

Save $0.50 (4%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Dread Nation by [Justina Ireland]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Dread Nation Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 1,618 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.49

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $22.48
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Slavery comes to a halt when the dead on Civil War battlefields begin to rise and eat their compatriots. The north and south put aside their philosophical differences and join forces against the undead. They are aided in their efforts by the passage of the Native and Negro Reeducation Act which forces African American boys and girls into combat schools. Graduates from these schools are a buffer between the living and the undead. Jane McKeen is a biracial girl sent to Ms. Preston's school of combat to obtain an attendant certificate. Jane is about to graduate when her friend, Red Jack, asks for help locating his sister Lily. Jane's attempts to discover Lily's whereabouts land her in a survivalist colony. Survivalists advocate a disordered view of natural selection that places Jane firmly under the thumb of a vicious sheriff and his psychopathic family. Jane is tasked with finding a way out of Summerland not only for herself, but also for those she loves. She must make some unlikely alliances of her own if she is to survive long enough to find her own path to freedom. This is a fictional exploration of the chattel slavery and American Indian boarding school systems. Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. VERDICT A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for public and school libraries and fans of The Walking Dead.—Desiree Thomas, Worthington Library, OH --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

“This highly anticipated release is getting lauded as equal parts exciting, terrifying, and oh-so-relevant. Crackles on every page.” -- Brightly

“Ireland delivers a necessary, subversive, and explosive novel with her fantasy-laced alternate history that does the all-important work of exploring topics of oppression, racism, and slavery while simultaneously accomplishing so much more. Brilliant and gut-wrenching.” --
Booklist (starred review)

“Abundant action, thoughtful worldbuilding, and a brave, smart, and skillfully drawn cast entertain as Ireland (
Promise of Shadows) illustrates the ignorance and immorality of racial discrimination and examines the relationship between equality and freedom. Mounting peril creates a pulse-pounding pace, hurtling readers toward a nail-biting conclusion.” -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Will catch readers off-guard with its blend of genres: it starts out as an historical thriller but then tosses in hard hits of mystery, dystopian reimagining, romance, and humor. Jane’s voice reads familiar to more contemporary considerations of Black girlhood, with elements such as beauty standards, colorism, and friendships.” -- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
(starred review)

“This absorbing page-turner works on multiple levels: as unflinching alternate history set in post-Reconstruction-era Maryland and Kansas; as a refreshingly subversive action story starring a badass heroine; as zombie fiction suspenseful; and as a compelling exhortation to scrutinize the racist underpinnings of contemporary American sociopolitical systems.” -- Horn Book
(starred review)

“Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for fans of The Walking Dead.” -- School Library Journal
(starred review)

“Tremendously original, subversive, sharp, and all around badass,
Dread Nation is not your mother’s Civil War–era zombie story.” -- Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Dumplin’

Dread Nation is everything I love—it’s beautiful, unflinching, lyrical, tender, and vividly imagined. Don’t miss this book!” -- Ann Aguirre, New York Times bestseller and coauthor of Honor Among Thieves

“This is the zombie novel I’ve been waiting for my whole life.” -- Kate Elliott,
New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B071RQX7W9
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Balzer + Bray (April 3, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 3, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2406 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 418 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 1,618 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Justina Ireland is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, including Dread Nation, Deathless Divide, and the Scott O’Dell Award winning middle-grade, Ophie’s Ghosts. She is also the author of numerous Star Wars books and one of the story architects of Star Wars: The High Republic. You can find her work wherever great books are sold and you can find her on Twitter as @justinaireland or at her website justinaireland.com.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
1,618 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 10, 2018
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 8, 2018
39 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 15, 2022

Top reviews from other countries

S. Naomi Scott
4.0 out of 5 stars A superbly written tale that will stay with you.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on July 2, 2019
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
N Harvey
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, so different and refreshing!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 13, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
amysreading_nook
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much world-building
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 10, 2020
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie western
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 9, 2020
Emma
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully well written and super diverse!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 13, 2018
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?