<Embed>
List Price: $17.99
Save: $2.71 (15%)
FREE delivery: Tuesday, Oct 27 on your first order.
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2021
For the 2020 holiday season, returnable items shipped between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2021.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Murfbooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item shows signs of wear from consistent use, but it remains in good condition and is a good working copy. All pages and cover are intact , but may have aesthetic issues such as small tears, bends, scratches, and scuffs. Spine may also show signs of wear.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$16.19
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Fifty Third Street Books
Add to Cart
$13.28
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: ---SuperBookDeals
Add to Cart
$17.99
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: BookCentral20
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Dread Nation Hardcover – Deckle Edge, April 3, 2018

4.6 out of 5 stars 733 ratings
Book 1 of 2: Dread Nation Series

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Deckle Edge
$15.28
$12.61 $3.66

"Devoted" by Dean Koontz
For the first time in paperback, from Dean Koontz, the master of suspense, comes an epic thriller about a terrifying killer and the singular compassion it will take to defeat him. | Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Dread Nation
  • +
  • Deathless Divide (Dread Nation)
  • +
  • Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha, 1)
Total price: $43.86
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Slavery comes to a halt when the dead on Civil War battlefields begin to rise and eat their compatriots. The north and south put aside their philosophical differences and join forces against the undead. They are aided in their efforts by the passage of the Native and Negro Reeducation Act which forces African American boys and girls into combat schools. Graduates from these schools are a buffer between the living and the undead. Jane McKeen is a biracial girl sent to Ms. Preston's school of combat to obtain an attendant certificate. Jane is about to graduate when her friend, Red Jack, asks for help locating his sister Lily. Jane's attempts to discover Lily's whereabouts land her in a survivalist colony. Survivalists advocate a disordered view of natural selection that places Jane firmly under the thumb of a vicious sheriff and his psychopathic family. Jane is tasked with finding a way out of Summerland not only for herself, but also for those she loves. She must make some unlikely alliances of her own if she is to survive long enough to find her own path to freedom. This is a fictional exploration of the chattel slavery and American Indian boarding school systems. Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. VERDICT A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for public and school libraries and fans of The Walking Dead.—Desiree Thomas, Worthington Library, OH

Review

“This highly anticipated release is getting lauded as equal parts exciting, terrifying, and oh-so-relevant. Crackles on every page.” (Brightly)

“Ireland delivers a necessary, subversive, and explosive novel with her fantasy-laced alternate history that does the all-important work of exploring topics of oppression, racism, and slavery while simultaneously accomplishing so much more. Brilliant and gut-wrenching.” (Booklist (starred review))

“Abundant action, thoughtful worldbuilding, and a brave, smart, and skillfully drawn cast entertain as Ireland (Promise of Shadows) illustrates the ignorance and immorality of racial discrimination and examines the relationship between equality and freedom. Mounting peril creates a pulse-pounding pace, hurtling readers toward a nail-biting conclusion.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Will catch readers off-guard with its blend of genres: it starts out as an historical thriller but then tosses in hard hits of mystery, dystopian reimagining, romance, and humor. Jane’s voice reads familiar to more contemporary considerations of Black girlhood, with elements such as beauty standards, colorism, and friendships.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review))

“This absorbing page-turner works on multiple levels: as unflinching alternate history set in post-Reconstruction-era Maryland and Kansas; as a refreshingly subversive action story starring a badass heroine; as zombie fiction suspenseful; and as a compelling exhortation to scrutinize the racist underpinnings of contemporary American sociopolitical systems.” (Horn Book (starred review))

“Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for fans of The Walking Dead.” (School Library Journal (starred review))

“Tremendously original, subversive, sharp, and all around badass, Dread Nation is not your mother’s Civil War–era zombie story.” (Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Dumplin’)

Dread Nation is everything I love—it’s beautiful, unflinching, lyrical, tender, and vividly imagined. Don’t miss this book!” (Ann Aguirre, New York Times bestseller and coauthor of Honor Among Thieves)

“This is the zombie novel I’ve been waiting for my whole life.” (Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives)

Product details

  • Grade Level : 9 - 12
  • Lexile Measure : 870L
  • Item Weight : 1.2 pounds
  • Hardcover : 464 pages
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0062570604
  • ISBN-10 : 0062570609
  • Product Dimensions : 5.5 x 1.41 x 8.25 inches
  • Reading level : 14 - 17 years
  • Publisher : Balzer + Bray (April 3, 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 733 ratings

How would you rate your experience shopping for books on Amazon today

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
733 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
82 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
61 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2018
Verified Purchase
34 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Emma
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully well written and super diverse!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 13, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
S. Naomi Scott
4.0 out of 5 stars A superbly written tale that will stay with you.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
amysreading_nook
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much world-building
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 10, 2020
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie western
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
Farah Mendlesohn
5.0 out of 5 stars I cannot remember who recommended this to me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 3, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: black boy books for children, ireland books