Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 153 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 240 reviews
on March 1, 2015
I was finally able to pick up Jack McCallum's Dream Team book which was published in 2013. I've looked forward to this for quite a while and snagged a used book through Amazon. The book chronicles the 1992 Dream Team which allowed NBA players to participate in the Olympics for the first time as a reaction to college players not winning gold in the 1988 Seoul Olympics. McCallum doesn't disappoint as he chronicles the forming of the team, the behind the scenes that made that possible, the marketing, international impacts and most importantly the players themselves. From who wanted to be on the team, to who was selected and why, their relationships and stardom in Barcelona that transcended the lives these players already lived. I love the back stories the behind the scenes goodies and this book delivered.

About the only thing this book won't provide is detailed analysis of the games themselves but they don't deserver to be front and center. They weren't as important as the players and the stories. The one game that stands out the most when the Dream Team is brought up is a scrimmage the team had which pitted Michael Jordan dueling Magic Johnson. That was more important than the drubbing the team laid upon opponent after opponent. Bottom line is I loved this book. If you are an NBA fan of any sort this is an easy read. The world's greatest players were on this team. All, sans college player Christian Laettner, were future hall of famers and had either led the revival of the NBA (Magic Johnson and Larry Bird) or helped build on the momentum through 1992. But not only were they great players, many were great personalities. Some were exactly as I've known (John Stockton, Chris Mullin) but some surprised me some (Patrick Ewing). It was great getting to know these players on a different level. McCallum spoke to every player, coach, executive, competitor, or other writers who could bring the story more to life. And it came together wonderfully. Every NBA fan needs to read this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Reading Dream Team brought me back to when I was a 14 year old getting to enjoy all the great legends of the NBA at the time on the same team. Getting to watch those great names in action was always such a treat, especially being a Bulls fan and having the privilege of watching MJ and Scottie do their thing on both ends of the court. But in Dream Team, Jack McCallum gives a behind the scenes look at how it all came to be and the controversies and alliances that formed after the team was assembled. I only wish he had given more details on the specifics of the games, but the section on the scrimmage between the players on the team was fun reading and really page-turning. Apparently Michael and Magic didn't always get along when it came to winning and losing.

This was truly the greatest basketball team ever assembled, and this is the definitive account of that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
As an avid basketball fan and player, I loved this book. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has a love for the game. If you are not a basketball fan, this probably is not the book for you.

Jack McCallum had the unique opportunity to ride along with the Dream Team through its wild ups and (very few) downs. His firsthand accord of what happened in practices, games, and locker rooms is fantastic. He obviously established personal relationships with most of the players on the team. I particularly enjoyed the chapters on Christian Laettner and Scottie Pippen. His details about the coaching staff (especially Coach K) kept me itching for more. This was a once in a lifetime opportunity for a reporter, and McCallum perspicaciously soaked it all in.

The writing in the book is very strong. His use of prose and varying sentence structure was refreshing. As a reader, you could tell this isnt the writer's first rodeo. The only thing I would change would be the length of the book. Certain chapters ran a little long, but didnt necessarily take away from the enjoyment of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
Amazingly detailed account of the Dream Team & how they were formed. Who would've thought that the idea of putting NBA players didn''t come from America but from Europe? Some little knows facts pop up every now and then which are invaluable as insights. We get a look into the politics that might have played around in the background. We get a detailed account of each and every player in the dream team too, and how in spite of being competitors they really came together to form one hell of an amazing team. then we see how this affected basketball for the whole world and really took the game to the next level internationally. Brilliant book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
If you're familiar with the Dream Team and seen the documentary, then you got most of the main highlights of the book. He does go more in depth on some areas, such as how the team was formed and the "greatest game never seen". The author clearly has a spectacular vocabulary, but his writing style is not much to write home about. I felt like I was just flipping each page hoping to learn something new that I hadn't seen in the documentary, and there were small portions of that, but he doesn't write in a way that flows well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2016
Bought this book thinking that it was the Dream Team book I really enjoyed when I was younger. Read a few chapters and knew that something about it was not right. It didn't flow as smoothly and not as fun as how I used to remember it.

Then, I googled around and then found out that I bought the wrong book! "The Golden Boys" by Stauth is a MUCH better book. Skip McCallum's. If you really want to dig what the Dream Team was like, check out The Golden Boys. Won't disappoint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2012
As someone that fondly remembers the 1992 Dream Team, this was one of my favorite books. It brought back a lot of memories, including obscure ones like "Uniform-Gate" for the Gold Medal ceremony and also included much unknown material, such as the lives of the players during the Olympics in Barcelona. I highly recommend this to anyone that was old enough to remember that team and followed players like Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, and Charles Barkley closely during their careers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
This book came to me very highly recommended, it did not reach those heights, still enjoyable, just not worthy of the hype
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
Everyone knows the story of the 1992 Dream Team. A collection of a dozen of America's greatest players, and Christian Laettner. They were brought together for one common goal: to bring the gold back to the States. And boy, did they do it!

McCallum is a fantastic writer, and he really brings you into their universe in this book. You go out to the golf courses that Jordan and Daly liked to visit, to the casinos that these millionaires liked to gamble in, and of course the basketball court where the magic (and Magic, as it were) took place.

The book even describes in fantastic detail of a intrasquad game between MJ and Magic Johnson lead teams, which was brimming with pent up envy and one-upmanship.

An essential read for fans of the beautiful game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
Jm brought back some fond memories. Not a lot of new ground is covered but you do pick up some insights into the players. The most interesting players are Jordan and Barkley. Jordan's brutal honesty is something that seems to be hidden behind the charming icon you see on tv. I was also amazed to see him studying tape of the Angola team! The ultimate alpha on a team of driven players. Barkley is so funny and smart you sometimes lose sight of what a great player he was.
The relationship between bird and Ewing was unexpected given the intense rivalry between them. David Robinson is the rare athlete who combines talent, extreme intelligence and goodness. He's almost to good to be true. The only player who I thought didn't come off well was magic. Perhaps this was due to all he was going thru plus the emergence of Jordan was something he unlike bird couldn't accept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse