Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on April 30, 2014
My best friend just passed away from cancer. This album brought us together; it was our most favorite album ever, so I ordered a CD to take to OK from OH so she could listen to it on her deathbed. It is not Gracie's usual rock n roll stuff; instead it is a wonderful group of songs set to fantastic music about living and dying and getting through the interim. Wow! "Grow love grow!" Thanks Grace Slick!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
I am so glad to see Grace Slick's "Dreams" re-released. It's been out of print for decades and I've always wanted a copy but could never get one until now. I think this album is the best of Grace Slick's solo albums even though its reception was lukewarm in 1980.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
Grace Slick has had a big influence with female rock and rollers. She, to me, was and still is the greatest voice in rock music (sorry all the Joplin fans). I remember this album from a past era. This is Grace Slick at her finest and I am VERY happy to have found this on CD! She was one of the most under appreciated vocalists from the past. She is the reason I loved Jefferson Airplane/Jefferson Starship (not Starship with that horrible song We Built This City!) Dreams really catches this talent at her peak. Just wished she had more exposure as say, Stevie Nicks. As much as I love Stevie, she doesn't hold up to the beautiful voice of Grace. Man, what a treat to the ears to hear this great recording on CD after all these years. I use to wear this album out on my turntable. Now I can listen to this CD without it wearing out! Just wish Welcome to the Wrecking Ball would get re-released again. Would love to have these two together. Too bad Grace Slick retired from the music business. She will always be remembered by these great recordings she was able to release. Thank God for imports, because I couldn't imagine a studio taking the risk of releasing these albums today. Where has our taste in music gone!?
Oh, how I cherish the memories!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
Grace Slick cut this recording years ago, and it is her selection of tunes that she liked. If you like Grace Slick, this is a great CD. The transfer seems to be fine--remember it was an analog world back then. All the tunes are different, so there is no real theme. Just Grace and her music. She has an intensity that is much missing in a lot of today's music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2007
Grace Slick likely did not care about critical opinion at this point in her career. She had already been the object of much rock scribe scorn for using orchestration on MANHOLE in '73. By the time this, her second solo album, was released in '80, her obstinate decision to continue with this trend was even more likely to rankle the critical establishment. This was, after all, the New Wave era, and while Grace may have shared a certain kind of rebelious 'tude with, say, Chrissie Hynde or Debbie Harry--to say nothing of a kind of spiritual kinship with out-and-out punks--she liked her own musical settings layered and lavish. (Well, for now anyway: this one WAS followed by the harder rocking WELCOME TO WRECKING BALL a year or so later).

DREAMS is more cohesive--and much more of a true solo record--than MANHOLE, which was a real love-it or hate-it affair. The earlier record consisted of a Grace Slick magnum opus (the more-or-less title track) and a few other songs she penned, but it closed with "Epic #73" a song that she technically co-wrote with Paul Kantner and David Freiberg, but was in fact a primarily another Kantner-esque epic. And she was totally absent on another track, "It's Only Music." I have my theories as to why Grace opted for this kind of strategy. Primarily, I think, she really didn't want to do a solo record and was being pressured by the record company. Largely absenting herself from two of the tracks was perhaps her way of thumbing her nose at the "suits."

Unfortunately for her, many fans thought they were being slighted too. (I wasn't one...I loved MANHOLE, but I understand where some of the naysayers among the fanbase are coming from.)

But DREAMS was a different animal. Recorded after her official (first) departure from Jefferson Starship, it really did not involve the particpation of many members of the "Airplane family." Her main collaborator here is producer Ron Frangipane. Grace was always a collaborative artist, and, cut loose from her bandmates, she was lucky to find a sympathetic artistic collaborator in Frangipane.

Also appearing for the first time on a Slick project was guitarist and songwriter Scott Zito, who would go on to work with Grace on her next project, the harder rocking WRECKING BALL. He contributes a couple of songs, both of which are thematically and musically appropriate to the overall feel of the album, the Flemenco flavored "El Diablo" and "Angel of Night" (a bit to close to Kansas' "Dust In the Wind" for comfort, but an OK track overall).

So we see thatm, as with MANHOLE, not every song included on the album is a Grace Slick composition. BUT pretty every one sounds like it could be, and that's the main thing. The album is interestingly sequenced so that only last six tracks are Grace Slick originals, but the opening tracks flow so well with the mood of the album that you have to read the credits closely to realize that.

Tthe album really DOES seem unified. Unlike even the best Airplane or Starship records, DREAMS is not a "variety show." It's all Grace, and it's all good. By the time we get to (what was originally) Side 2, we find Grace in a rare confessional mode. Her stint in rehab behind her, we find a less cryptic, more sober (in every sense of the word) songwriter. Her "Do It the Hard Way" is as focused and direct a song as Grace ever penned. That song, and the similarly themed "Let It Go" are anthems of sobriety and spiritual renewal. "Full Moon Man" is that rarity, a Grace Slick love song, and while it's not a Balin type ballad, it has an appeal all its own. And speaking of atypical Grace Slick songs, the closer "Garden of Man" is certainly that. Even at the height of the Haight, no one in his right mind would have imagined that the sarcastic Slick would pen a song with an overtly hippie title--and message--like that.

But it works. Her double track vocals weave in and out through the song's coda (one that unself-consciously echoes the earlier "Full Moon Man") singing about love that "goes on forever." The Grace Slick of 10 years previous might have sung similar words perhaps, but only as a back up singer on a Marty or Paul song. By 1980, Grace was willing to embrace something of the spirit of the Sixties in a way she hadn't personally been able to do before. Of course, she wasn't just mouthing "love and peace" platitudes. It went deeper than that--it really was a metaphor for her own sense of renewal and rebirth.

It's pretty clear from reading reviews posted here that this is THE definitive Grace Slick solo project for many fans. It serves as proof that Grace could do great work apart from her old bandmates. The other albums had their intersting moments, and fans would certainly welcome having them re-issued on CD, but DREAMS really is Grace at her amazing best.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2004
"I believe in magic And I still believe in Dreams" sung with haunting definance by a soulful Grace Slick in stunning opener "Dreams", brilliant collection of great songs with wondrous vocals, all beautifully orchestrated and arranged to perfection. Majestic guitars surround Grace in exotic "El Diablo", flowing gem is rich & complex becoming a breathtaking listening experience...get ready for the musical journey of a lifetime with Slick throughout this stirring tour-de-force masterpiece that musically is all over the map, magnificent collection of tremendous performances should have been huge Grammy Award winning success but instead only nominated for Best Female Rock Performance...total injustice! Grace Slick went in studio prepared to show all she has no peer in the world of rock singers proving it in this versatile collection filled with stand-out mesmerizing performances. Experience biting vocals charged with fierce intensity in the searing "Face To The Wind" then become a believer nobody can top this rocking DIVA with her hot guitarist/composer Scott Zito...high energy & hard rocking "Angel Of Night" is a tour-de-force anthem and perfect showcase again for Grace/Scott combination, they are perfection together and scorch the tracks. Haunting illumination make "Seasons" an engrossing Slick original that becomes a nostalgic & sentimental celebration of life, unforgettable like that special ride on a carousal with a special someone one doesn't want to end...funky Slick composed blues-rocker "Do It The Hard Way" is a revealing song giving a rare inside look in to the soul of a fascinating & very creative lady. Soaring to glorious heights in "Full Moon Man", clearly listening to his haunting anthem Grace Slick possesses one of the uniquely original great voices of the century, awesome Slick original is a timeless classic that celebrates ultimate love that goes on and on forever...another original Slick masterwork "Let It Go" is a compelling message that becomes a complete life experience then soaring to majestic heights "Garden Of Man" takes one on a magical musical journey that ultimately is a towering masterpiece that is a joy to experience over and over again...mixing classic fully orchestrated tracks arranged to perfection with the magnificant voice of Grace Slick was a brilliant idea that works throughout "Dreams", making it a dream of a musical masterpiece...liner notes credit Grace Slick with album concept, clearly her monumental classic is a lasting musical treasure chest filled with earthy heart & soul vocals sung with complete passion, ultimately every stellar vocal is supremely soulful and deeply moving to experience. "Dreams" is for music lovers who enjoy the finest the world of music has to offer, lucky listeners will be astounded by the brilliance on full display throughout this work that is a once in a lifetime classic! Bravo Grace Slick, you are truly a musical wonder who can be deeply proud of "Dreams" as an important part of your legendary musical legacy.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
Grace Slick had just quit the Jefferson Starship in 1978, due too much drinking, she got herself dried up and started recording this dynamic album "Dreams", this would be Grace's 2nd solo album, 7 years after "Manhole", at 40 Grace was at the top of her game,you just can't beat this album.

The album opens with the beautiful title track, a blockbuster tune. The spanish intro of "El Diablo", is freakin' awesome, Grace's vocals never sounded better. "Face The Wind", a Scott Zito tune, Zito's guitar is excellent here, a tune about second chances. "Angel of the Night", is a galloping rocker that almost resembles The Outlaws version of "Ghost Riders In The Sky", intro from the same year of 1980, Grace could rock with the best 'em! Grace wrote the sentimental "Seasons", a song I put on a few mix tapes back in the day, reminds me of late 60's AM radio, excellent choir by the Celebration Singers on this number. "Do It The Hard Way", is a mellower track, Zito's guitar is swift here, love the line "Queen of the Nuthouse".
"Full Moon Man", this is a piano-based tune, Grace's vocals sound as good as ever here. "Let It Go", is not the Frozen song, this version is way to good for that stuff! The orchestration is top notch on this number, Zito's guitar adds flavor, should of been a hit, one of Grace's top tunes! "There's A Spirit Child Inside You". A tale of past drug taking.
"Garden Of Man", closes the album, a sweet number that most people love, it sounds so mystical, great orchestration, i'd put this back to back with Led Zeppelin's "Kashmir". A top notch album from Grace Slick in 1980. This album peaked at #28.
Grace would return in 1981 for the hard rockin' "Welcome To The Wrecking Ball", again with Scott Zito.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
I had this LP way back when it first came out. So happy to have it now on CD. Grace's voice & the orchestrations are perfection. Sounds almost like a soundtrack of sorts. Love "Garden of Man." I'd buy it for that song alone. So pretty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2015
First listen to Entire Album on YouTube. After listening to the 1st Song "Dreams", I was Hooked. Grace Slick's Vocal range is Amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2003
By far the best Grace Slick sounds on any of her solo cds. Everyone seems to think Manhole is her best but I disagree. On Dreams her voice sounds stronger and clearer....as if she really cared what it sounded like. On Manhole she sounds ok but doesn't sound as if she really cared how it sounded, she was busy with the Jefferson Starship at the time also, so solo ventures or LPs with Kantner/Freiberg just seemed like something to do because they asked her? She was expected to help ? Anyway, if you love Slick, her voice, her writing....ANYTHING with her on it is worth it...to me anyway...but Dreams is all Grace and very special. Both of my sisters...both younger than I love this cd but are Not fans of anything Grace did....and both have this cd.....buy it, hopefully someone..some label will put out a really really complete anthology of her career...a box set...I would love it....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse