Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 745 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,024 reviews
on December 14, 2014
The primary premise of the book is that carrots-and-sticks approach to motivation is no longer good for many modern jobs, and a better approach is needed, based on intrinsic motivation. Intrinsic motivation is then described as having three components - autonomy, mastery and purpose. Based on that, the last chapter gives practical recommendation for work, family and school setting. The book is brief, easy to read, and might be rather helpful if you are new to the concepts.

On the downside, there is not much of scientific background. While books that synthesize existing research can be really good, this one is based on works of Deci and Csikszentmihalyi, both fairly old, and some anecdotal evidence, like 20%-rule at Google (reportedly discontinued as of 2014). There is a list of more recommended books at the end, but it mostly consists of popular titles, not original research. I expected more sources, and more recent ones.

Fair amount of content, such as splitting of intrinsic motivation into autonomy, mastery and purpose, as well as many recommendations, appear to be author's imagination, not necessary validated. It also takes stance similar to "Flow", presenting intrinsic motivation as something entirely separate, with no relation to delayed extrinsic motivation, and often sounding like it's a good thing.

For that reason, I would suggest that watching TED talk by the book author might be enough, followed by more in-depth books.
11 comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2017
Just finished Daniel Pink's research summary on motivation. Terrific insights and a thought provoking read. A big fan of his work, Daniel Pink seems to find topics where the science and research has outpaced business and society. He builds a compelling case for a concept from the academic research findings and weaves in a few real world examples to create an engaging challenge. Drive takes on the concept of motivation. Pink challenges us as leaders educators, parents,etc. to upgrade from a command & control, "carrot & stick" Motivation 2.0 world to create a Motivation 3.0 environment which fosters an individual's autonomy, mastery and purpose. Drive is about helping the inividual achieve their full potential and is a well crafted book that will be a re-read again and again. I highly recommend checking this one out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
It was taught and instilled in my generation – from childhood through college and management, that “carrot and stick” motivation was how one motivated people; from volunteers to employees.

As a headhunter, recruiting a professional away from their current company to a new opportunity has very little to do with the traditional “carrot” aka money. Professionals who are motivated by challenge, autonomy, and purpose are the most desirable.
Pink explains these “secrets” of motivation in the 21st century include autonomy, mastery and purpose.
Yet many business today have yet to recognize this fact and continue to try to motivate their employees with the archaic management method of Carrot and Stick.

In the day and age where skilled talent is difficult to find, recruit and retain – management MUST recognize this motivational and behavioral fact. The book Drive is a must read for every manager and executive who wants the best for their staff and company.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
The meat of this book starts right before the midpoint. The author gives lots of data to back-up his theory and then goes on to repeat it in a few different ways. Once you get to the fundamentals applications, some of the ideas seem great in theory but require a huge shift in your paradigm from the past. Also, many of the examples are really feasible to all businesses so if you're looking to "explode" your business carefully evaluate the suggestions against your staff, product, resources, etc. Ironically, many of the examples cited are multimillion dollar companies but I could see where a small start-up would have difficulty implementing these suggestions.

Overall, good insight into what drives people to be successful but take the suggestions and apply them accordingly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
The whole book can be summarized in 50 written pages. The author repeats himself again and again, sometime it looks ridiculous as if the goal is just filling up pages... Otherwise interesting topic, that is well worth further reading of material from other ,more interesting researchers.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2014
More people should read this - especially those in sales. Management teams are using outdated and broken sales methods. The shelf life on some of their methods expired long ago, but basically you have people with either no experience heading up sales teams, or old dinosaurs who use the "it was good enough in my day so it has to be good enough for today." This book challenges their lack of vision and relevance to the world today. Let's face it, we are in the age of near instant information and people are in time demanding jobs that have little room for some sales schmuck who makes 30 cold calls per days just to get one appointment. The era of "hit and run" sales and getting "ink" same day of the appointment is for amateurs and people selling commodities out of their car trunk. Do you really want your company brand and reputation to be as a cheesy churn and burn shop? And yet, some large Fortune 500's are doing that (and kiiling their brand recognition in the process). Read this book and get new insight, get educated and well researched insights if you want to propose any manner of solution selling or selling something that is worth more than $100 per month.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
This is one of the most insightful, concise, and useful guides that I have read in the past five years.

Dan Pink points out that there has been a body of rigorous, scientific work that has accumulated over the past 50+ years that identify motivators for creative jobs. They are: (1) Autonomy, people want to have control over their work, (2) Mastery, people want to get better at what they do, and (3) Purpose, people want to be part of something that is bigger than they are.

The author points out that traditional motivators, e.g., pay, titles, etc., work well for some areas of work such as highly repetitive, low creativity endeavors, but for creative jobs money (at some level) becomes a disincentive to innovation.

The beyond a certain level is an important caveat. There are two counters to this. One is workers need to be compensated at a baseline level that allows them to live comfortably. The second is that people are endowed with an innate sense of fairness, and even creative people will baulk at being recompensed at a rate that they feel is unfair.

I've given copies of this book to all of my direct reports and have incorporated the reward framework into my organizations.

The book is spot on. The points about non-monetary compensation ring true in my own experience, but Pink's data and explanation have guided me in being more effective in applying the concepts broadly.

On the autonomy side, I have pushed more resources to my supporting managers, and I have encouraged them to further encourage autonomy with their direct reports. Additionally, we have encouraged inter-organization moves for those that feel affinity towards other work areas.

For mastery, we are encouraging and rewarding actions aimed at self-improvement across a broader range of activities and professional areas.

Finally, for purpose, we emphasize the value-added that our employees work has on broader society.

These changes have had a marked, positive impact on morale and the number of personnel volunteering their talents in new and creative areas.

I give this book my highest recommendation.

in service,

Rich
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
Daniel Pink has hit the nail on the head! The work force of America is changing. How people are managed is changing as well. Daniel pleads his case with examples and studies to back it up. I have personally seen his ideas shared in this book happen in the work force. The ideas shared in this book may not apply to everyone but I do believe that every employee should have autonomy, mastery and purpose. Giving people the freedom to set their own hours and do the work when people are a their best seems to be the better way to manage employees. GREAT GREAT READ.

I would recommend this to anyone in a management position as well as any owners of medium to large businesses. Such an interesting read and I hope this is the future of the American workplace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
I thought this book was great at breaking down the three key drivers of Motivation 3.0 as Pink calls it. Pink was good at making the book redundant, not repetitive. What I mean by that is that instead of just repeating things the same way, Pink used many different ways to help you remember his main points -- the first half of the book is like a regular nonfiction book with how and why Pink finds these three key factors to be the root of Motivation 3.0, as well as what is Motivation 3.0. Pink then spends the second half of the book talking about recommended steps to incorporate Motivation 3.0 into your life as a person, as a manager, as a parent or teacher, and even as an athlete or exerciser. He also includes suggested further reading with brief synopses and talks about key thinkers and influences in the field. Overall a worthwhile book, and the list-heavy second half means this is a much shorter read than it looks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
Daniel Pink delivers. Again. Picking up where he left off (A Whole New Mind), Pink lands a knock-out punch with this one. With great stories and keen insights, he shows us where the world is headed. This is more than a book about motivation. It is a book about life and how you can make your life (and work) better by focusing on the right things.

This book is a trip at 35,000 feet. A great adventure from the mundane world we find ourselves in every day. Pink describes three types of motivation. Motivation 1.0 is survival. People behave in certain ways (sometimes very negative and hurtful ways) to survive. Motivation 2.0 is extrinsic. The factories of today are systems of carrots and sticks and use extrinsic forces to control behavior and make improvements. Unfortunately, most of our public schools today are elaborate Motivation 2.0 systems designed to produce cogs (worker bees) who follow instructions but don't think for themselves.

Pink shows us that Motivation 3.0 is where it's at. Motivation 3.0 companies have figured out how to tap Intrinsic behavior and are destroying the competition. What does this mean for schools? We must move beyond carrots and sticks. We must seek to inspire students to become thinkers and learners. People who read and write because they want to. People who solve problems. What kind of work can we provide for students so that the work itself will inspire thinking and learning?

We need to challenge the 2.0 way of doing school. Bigger carrots and sharper sticks is not the answer. We are not going to create Linchpins (Seth Godwin's term, which means indispensable people) by extrinsic forces (i.e. money for test scores)--that method will just create more cogs.

Train teachers to provide work for students that matters. Work that makes them think, produce things, solve problems, and work in teams. Easier said than done, but Pink will rock your world, dunk your head underwater, and wake you up. If you have every been frustrated by our test-crazed current public school system, this book is a must read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse