Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Today only: Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on July 5, 2015
Stallone is not the main focus of this film. He unlike Jim Garner, Paul Newman or Steve McQueen is not closely associated with motor racing. He looks like just a gratuitous and random Hollywood star thrown into the mix to bolster the box office.

He does not seem very credible as a race driver. The story is not strong. There is however one good scene where Stallone does this stunt where he puts a stack of quarters on the track and picks them up from behind the wheel while negotiating a four wheel drift. It looks quite impossible and I wouldn't believe it possible except that I know that it is a recreation of a real stunt often performed by Fangio in the sixties.

If you don't know who Fangio was you're not likely to care for this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2017
Good action/romance flik. The effects are great for the year of building. I recommend it to action junkies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 4, 2011
...but it can be hard to find sometimes. I remember, when it first appeared in theaters, some friends called it "Rocky on wheels." That, it definitely is not. More of Stallone's story filtered through in Rocky. Here, I have the impression that half of the story was jettisoned for "slowing down the action."

For there is plenty of action. The speed and horror of crashing are well communicated, as is - strangely enough - the simple thrill of racing. Harlin does a good job with the action sequences, making the moment of impact truly impressive. Racing relies so much on instinct rather than preplanned thought; the pit crew and support staff can only prepare and plan so much - the race still revolves around the driver. Racing is an old sport, and any tried-and-true fans who rent or buy this film hoping accurate, down-to-the-nub details will be disappointed. Harlin and Stallone take plenty of dramatic license. The famous chase through the streets of Chicago? Come on. While obviously something like that would never happen, I understand that Harlin and Stallone were trying to communicate the rage of a rejected young man in a unique and forceful manner. I can allow for that; but the chase went on far too long, almost as though it were enjoying the spectacle for its own sake. Don't say you weren't warned.

Still, in between the racing montages and the overly-loud boom-boom music, there are some good parts. Robert Sean Leonard of "House" fame turns a really great performance. Stallone is strangely given little to do - the story of his character, Joe Tanto, is truncated, giving the impression that is where a lot of cutting happened so the film focuses more on Jimmy Bly (a suitably intense Kip Pardue). This is unfortunate, because I speculate that it is Tanto's back-story that is the real catalyst for the final climatic race. Certain elements of the story felt forced as a result. Our introduction to Joe Tanto happens with little warning or preamble, and exactly why Carl Henry (Burt Reynolds) thought Tanto could help the situation is never clearly stated. Stallone is perfectly cast as the old veteran with a few good races left in him; but , save for the ending, all his character does is dispense advice throughout the film. We see his impact on others, but never really see the impact of events on him.

And this is ultimately what drags Driven down: is it about Bly (Pardue) or Tanto (Stallone)? They assembled some good young acting talent, had Stallone ready to play the embattled-but-charming man of wisdom, had Burt Reynolds ready to chew up any scenery he was given. What was 'wrong' in the '80s for Stallone was 'right' for this movie: if it was more about his character, Joe Tanto, his relationship with Carl Henry (Reynolds), and the changes Tanto had to make to help a younger driver and allow himself to get back a little dignity, suddenly you'd have a pretty good film on your hands. Instead, what we have is an assemblage of racing montages with fragments of a story in between - a real wasted opportunity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2017
Ordered to replace my lost DVD, good movie for car buffs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2017
I love it!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2017
Great working VHS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 31, 2017
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2017
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
I’m VERY UPSET I thought I was purchasing a BRAND NEW DVD but when I opened the movie the disc was all scratched.. I’m not happy at all.. I am hoping cleaning the disc will work and none of the scratches are too deep..If they are I will be asking for a replacement of an ACTUAL NEW DVD!!!
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rush
$3.99
Driven
$7.99
Torque
$3.99
Supercross
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here