Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Due Date
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2011
I'm so tired of reading reviews of people saying "it's not as good as The Hangover". It's not the Hangover!!! It's not the sequel to the Hangover, it's not the same storyline as the Hangover, in fact, it's got nothing to do with any kind of Hangover. Due Date may be directed by by Mr. Phillips of Hangover fame and star Galifinakis of the same, but this is a completely different movie with a different plot. If you want to watch another version of the Hangover the sequel comes out this summer, but if you want to enjoy an engrossing comedy starring two great entertainers, watch Due Date. When you watch this, please, I beg of you, don't measure it by The Hangover. Do you measure Field of Dreams by Dances With Wolves? Do you measure Mad Max by Braveheart? This is it's own movie separate from all others.
1111 comments| 144 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2011
Robert Downey Jr and Zach have a good chemistry involved with this movie, its theme reminds me of planes, trains and automobiles with Steve Martin and the late John Candy. If you loved that movie you will definately love Due Date, poor Peter's goal is to get home to his pregnant wife and encounters Hollywood (Zach) in an airplane Peter gets shot by an air marshal they both get kicked off the plane put on a no fly list and Hollywood talks Peter into riding along with him and his dog sonny to L.A Peter can't rent a car because his wallet is still on the plane or so he thinks, the trip involves many hilarous moments from a freak car crash which Peter suffers a broken arm to being arrested at the boarder for drugs to getting accidently shot by Hollywood. This is true enjoyment I loved the dog he was great!Due Date
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2011
This is a classic slapstick, tough luck comedy story involving a road trip from East to West coast.

In a nutshell: an expectant father is flying from ATL to LA when he crosses paths with a odd-ball guy who ends up getting them kicked off the airplane for suspicious behavior. In the process, he "loses" his wallet and, by a mixture of circumstances, has to travel across the county with the same nutcase who got him thrown off the plane. During the journey, they get into a mix of trouble.

What I liked: Zach Zach Galifianakis is really funny throughout -- great scenes and acting. The obliviousness to societal "norms" is what makes it funny. As you see in the preview, Robert Downey Jr.'s character is telling a sad tale of his father leaving him as a child. After hearing it, Galifianakis starts cracking up laughing and says something about how his father would never do that because he loved him.

Disliked: Some of the craziness is overdone; needed more edgy scenes and clever ideas in some points of the film; the Mexico scene was a bit much.

Overall: VERY GOOD for a mindless comedy. If you liked Hangover, Wedding Crashers, Sex Drive, Road Trip, American Pie, etc., you'll probably enjoy it. Fortunately, it doesn't go as far as Borat or Jackass in terms of shocking and grotesque humor. But, if you are easily offended, dislike raunchy jokes, or just don't enjoy this type of comedy, it's probably not for you.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2010
Architect Peter Highman (Robert Downey Jr.) is trying to get home to his pregnant wife who is expecting soon when he comes into contact with Ethan Tremblay (Zach Galifianakis) an aspiring actor. After a series of unfortunate event's Peter and Zach get kicked off of their plane and end up carpooling to get home. These two characters confront several obstacles on their way home that seem impossible to recover from.

"Due Date" is oddly low rated and I wonder if some critics saw the same movie I did. While I'm sure this movie isn't the next "The Hangover" it surely doesn't deserve such a low rating. The story isn't too great this is more of a new age of humor that was brought about due to movies like "The Hangover" and "Superbad" which sold like crazy to young audiences who find this more grotesque humor involving masturbation and bodily fluids wildly entertaining. Older audiences aren't going to enjoy it as much.

This is basically the same scenario as "Planes, Trains, and Automobiles" where you have two opposite characters who must work together to achieve the goal of getting home. This movie does not quite have the story and moments moments that really provoked strong emotion like in "Planes, Trains, and Automobiles" it does provide the laughter with some pretty bizarre scenarios. Robert Downey Jr. and Galifianakis is a weird combo but I believed that this movie really pulled it off.

While it isn't AMAZING it is still a decent movie to go see and provides some good laughs if you are in to that kind of humor.
I give this movie a 6 out of 10

This review and more at
[...]
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
If you love Zack Galafanackis you'll probably enjoy this film. He masturbates and his dog masturbates while they're spending the night in a rental car. Funny, right? Well, no actually. The film includes scatterbrained plot twists and set-ups that go nowhere, or almost nowhere. Jamie Foxx appears...then disappears...all to set up a gag at the end of the film which really isn't worth the effort. The pair's poisonous relationship (the only potential laugh-getter in this film) is suddenly and inexplicably transformed into a moping kind of bromance. Did I mention that Zack G's character shoots RDJ and then vomits on the bleeding wound? Hilarious, right? Nah, not really. The contrived scenes of RDJ giving acting challenges to ZG in a gas station restroom are painful to watch.In truth, there's little here that makes sense, least of all why Robert Downey Jr ever agreed to be cast in this miscarriage of a movie. Due Date doesn't deliver.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2011
Todd Phillips needs to pay residuals to the late John Hughes for a complete theft of his plot for "Planes, Trains and Automobiles." But while that movie was light and funny, and quite often genuinely from the heart, this movie aims below the belt, and is often dark and cruel.

The cool little twist to this movie (at least to me) is that Robert Downey Jr.'s Peter is very much a sarcastic prick. Yeah, he earns it, since Galifianakis' character is so intolerable, but it's nice that Peter has an edge.

I think the problem is that even though the movie is occasionally funny, Galifianakis' behavior is beyond disgusting and repulsive, and yet the movie seemingly looks down at Peter for his reaction to it. Whenever Peter lets loose to tell Galifianakis' Ethan what a slob he is, he either pays for it by being physically hurt or is forced to apologize.

What saves this movie is Downey Jr. -- because quite honestly, he's the one who has all the laughs. For all the crazy behavior by Galifianakis, it's actually Downey who gets you laughing. His wrinkle-faced expressions of disbelief are hilarious.

The movie goes into loony-tunes territory later on, when Peter and Ethan get into all sorts of illegal activity, and the movie conveniently fails to mention why they're not put in jail for the rest of their lives at the end of the film.

Michelle Monaghan (reuniting with "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" co-star Downey), Jamie Foxx (who almost doesn't seem to know why he's in the movie) and Juliette Lewis are completely forgettable and wasted.

What "Due Date" really is is just a cash-grab by Todd Phillips, who threw together the film with Galifianakis to capitalize on the success of "The Hangover." But the film suffers from a slapdash feel. You can sense them massaging out the script to make it to feature length.

It's not a bad film, and Downey did do a fabulous job, but I think it could have been better than the slightly amusing quickly-made post-"Hangover" paycheck movie it turns out to be.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2011
Note: There are spoilers. You have been warned.

I'm not going to lie. I thoroughly enjoyed this film. There is nothing better than fate (mostly Ethan) colliding two complete opposites as they must rely on one another with the task of traveling across the country. It's the kind of film that you watch when you just need to laugh. While I thoroughly enjoy many different films, comedy is the one of the few genres that can easily mask and interweave itself in other genres. However, this film is made for the single purpose of laugher. I am totally fine with that.

What I loved most about the film was the dialogue. There was some mild wit but truly hilarious moments. Of course, Zach Galifianakis was the perfect choice as the unbelievably clueless Ethan Tremlay. It doesn't show Galifianakis' range of acting, but he perfects what he does best: being annoyingly awkward and idly enjoying the aftermath.

Robert Downey Jr. as Peter Highman was an interesting yet exceptional choice. The differences in both Ethan and Peter are present physically but throughout the film (of course) you see their similarities (which are few) but magnified by their experiences together. A feeling of comraderie slowly engages Peter leaving the audience wondering if he is in it to reach his wife before birth or if he truly feels a friendship forming between him and Ethan. Or was it the pot?

Throughout the film, there are great moments of clarity. Ethan will say something extremely intuitive, and Peter will respect him, feeling that he probably judged Ethan wrong. Immediately after this revelation, Ethan does something else to break it. It's repetitive but effective.

One thing I didn't like was the entrance of Darryl's character. It was never resolved, and I absolutely hate it when conflicts like that are never resolved. Also, I felt that his character was filler. It added nothing to the movie, and I immediately forgot about his character after the movie was finished. Of course, it did add a little bit of conflict between Peter and his wife, Ethan egging him on to interrogate until he received the answer that he wants.

Is this movie worth watching? Absolutely. If you're in the mood to laugh, if you love Zach Galifianakis' humor, and if you just love silly comedy films, it's definitely worth it. I loved this film. It was like a movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
I'm not sure what happened, but this movie is just not funny.

When I went over the scenes in my head after it was over, I couldn't figure out what happened. Each scene had the potential to be funny, but it just wasn't.

My guess is that the original script was funny, but something happened in the directing, acting, and final edits that just went sour.

It could be another case of delusions of grandeur where the makers of this film were so sure it was funny that they went into it over confident and forgot to get feedback on each scene after it was shot, to go back and edit it. As I said, each scene should have been funny, but the delivery made it awkward, uncomfortable, and something you groan at, not laugh at. It was a huge disappointment. Towards the end of the film, they just take it way too far. I don't want to give away spoilers but there's no way the main character would respond to the other main character the way he does, warm and tolerant at the end. The crazy guy tries really hard to ruin his life, and it ends with them good friends because of all they went through. That made NO sense at all. It seemed obvious to me that this was a result of a bad editing job. It's like they ended up with too long of a film, so chopped out scenes where they redeem the crazy guy's character, but it still ended as if they've showed us some reason why the main character wouldn't just have him arrested or worse, killed him or something.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2012
This was a very funny movie - we enjoyed it a lot. I would say it has hangover over tones- but- thank goodness not as vulgar (which for me is more enjoyable - since we watch movies with our young adults & friends as well)

"I liked the hangover movies too- but all the nasty language & nudity was over the top & not necessary which this movie proves they can cut that back a bit"

So 5 stars from me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2012
"Due Date" attempts to be a raunchier version of "Planes Trains and Automobiles". It succeeds in being raunchy but lacks the wit and ingenuity of John Hughes' film. Zach Galifianakis absolutely flounders here. Don't get me wrong. I think Galafianakis is a real comic find with his work in the "Hangover" movies and "Dinner for Schmucks". He could be the next John Candy but here he seems to be channeling Chris Elliott or, even worse, Tom Green. Robert Downey Jr. is left with egg on his face playing straightman to Galifianakis' pathetic antics. What keeps me from giving this one star is the occasional laugh notably a scene at the Western Union station. Regardless, a waste of time. Director Todd Phillips must have had a hangover between "Hangover" movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse