& FREE Shipping.Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Duke Box has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by secondspin
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All used discs are inspected and guaranteed. Used discs may not include digital content.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express US
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Duke Box

Box Set

4.1 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, March 6, 2007
$48.13 $24.49

Editorial Reviews

The Duke Box contains a generous serving of more than eight hours of music from what many consider the greatest decade of the greatest orchestra in the history of jazz.

What's more, the Duke and his men, among them the incomparable Johnny Hodges, Ben Webster, Lawrence Brown, "Tricky" Sam Nanton, Harry Carnet, Rex Stewart, Barney Bigar d and Jimmy Blanton are captured live in dance halls, night clubs, concert halls and radio studios...with a you-are-there feeling absent from most commercial recordings.

We are lucky indeed that these slice-of-life sound documents survivie, or were made in the first place, such as the unique Fargo dance date, and hearing it chronologically places this grand music in a very special and illuminating perspective.

There are numbers you may know but never heard like this before and when there are several versions, each is different , and then there are some things that even seasoned Ellingtonians will encounter for the first time. So come on in for your special date with the immortal Duke!

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  2. Me and You
  3. Grievin'
  4. Little Posey
  5. My Last Goodbye (hj)
  6. The Gal From Joe's
  7. Tootin' Through The Roof
  8. Day In, Day Out
  9. Merry-Go-Round
  10. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  11. Ko Ko
  12. Blue Goose
  13. So Far, So Good
  14. Cotton Tail
  15. Concerto for Cootie
  16. Jack The Bear
  17. Boy Meets Horn
  18. The Sergeant Was Shy
  19. Never No Lament

Disc: 2

  1. It's Glory
  2. The Mooche
  3. The Sheik Of Araby
  4. Sepia Panorama
  5. Ko Ko
  6. There Shall Be No Night
  7. Pussy Willow
  8. Chatterbox
  9. Mood Indigo
  10. Harlem Airshaft
  11. Ferryboat Serenade
  12. Warm Valley
  13. Stompy Jones
  14. Chloe
  15. Bojangles
  16. On The Air
  17. Rumpus in Richmond
  18. Chaser
  19. The Sidewalks Of New York
  20. The Flaming Sword
  21. Never No Lament
  22. Caravan
  23. Clarinet Lament

Disc: 3

  1. Slap Happy
  2. Sepia Panorama
  3. Boy Meets Horn
  4. Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
  5. Oh babe, Maybe Someday
  6. Five O'Clock Whistle
  7. Fanfare
  8. Call Of The Canyon
  9. Rockin' in Rhythm
  10. Sophisticated Lady
  11. Cotton Tail
  12. Whispering Grass
  13. Congo Brava
  14. I Never Felt This Way Before
  15. Across The Track Blues
  16. Honeysuckle Rose
  17. Wham
  18. Star Dust
  19. Rose of the Rio Grande
  20. St Louis Blues
  21. Warm Valley
  22. God Bless America

Disc: 4

  1. Take The A Train
  2. Hayfoot Strawfoot
  3. It Can't Be Wrong
  4. What Am I Here For?
  5. Mainstem aka Altitude
  6. Could It Be You
  7. Goin' Up
  8. Don't get Around Much Anymore
  9. Nevada
  10. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  11. Take The 'A' Train
  12. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  13. Mainstem aka Altitude
  14. I Don't Want Anybody At All
  15. Johnny Come Lately
  16. Thing Ain't What They Used To Be
  17. Moon Mist
  18. You'll Never Know
  19. Tonight I Shall Sleep
  20. I Don't Know What Kind Of Blues I Got
  21. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  22. Moon Mist
  23. Introduction
  24. I Wonder Why
  25. Goin' Up

Disc: 5

  1. Star Spangled Banner
  2. Introduction by Duke Ellington
  3. Take The A Train
  4. Moon Mist
  5. Tea For Two
  6. Honeysuckle Rose
  7. Star Dust
  8. The C Jam Blues
  9. West Indian Influence
  10. Lighter Attitude
  11. New World A-Coming
  12. Floor Show
  13. Don't Get Around Much Anymore

Disc: 6

  1. Introduction by Duke Ellington
  2. Ring Dem Bells
  3. Medley
  4. Jack The bear
  5. Do Nothin' 'til you hear from me
  6. Summertime
  7. Cotton Tail
  8. Black and Tan Fantasy
  9. Rockin' In Rhythm
  10. Sentimental Lady
  11. Trumpet In Spades
  12. Things Aint What They Used To Be
  13. Announcer and Duke Ellington Introduction
  14. G.I Jive
  15. Amor, Amor
  16. Frankie and Johnny

Disc: 7

  1. Take The A Train
  2. Suddenly It Jumped
  3. Laura
  4. Kissing Bug
  5. Stompy Jones
  6. Solid Old Man
  7. Carnegie Blues
  8. In A Mellotone
  9. Fancy Dan
  10. Things Aint What They Used To Be
  11. Black and Tan
  12. Mood To Be Wooed
  13. Frantic Fantasy
  14. The C Jam Blues
  15. Air Conditioned Jungle
  16. On The Sunny Side of the Street
  17. Rockin' In Rhythm
  18. Take The A Train
  19. The Blues
  20. Sono

Disc: 8

  1. Solid Old Man
  2. Singin' in The Rain
  3. Three Cent Stomp
  4. Tulip or Turnip
  5. Take The A Train
  6. Hy'a Sue
  7. The C Jam Blues
  8. Passion Flower
  9. Clementine
  10. Just A-Sittin And A-Rockin
  11. One O'Clock Jump
  12. Unbooted Character
  13. Paradise
  14. How You Sound
  15. It's Monday Every Day
  16. Caravan
  17. Cotton Tail

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 6, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Storyville Records
  • ASIN: B000MV8ZPO
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #399,692 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

January 13, 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 12, 2007
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 15, 2007
Format: Audio CD
15 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 12, 2007
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Duke Box
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Duke Box
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: duke ellington jazz