Lyft Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
48
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$30.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 48 reviews
on January 24, 2015
I am not a fan of retroclones (basic/AD&D throwbacks). This, thankfully, is a modern system with the flavor and personality of a late 70s tabletop game without the outdated mechanics of one. The book is written with an almost manic tone instead of the textbook style writing of many modern D&D publications and I find it to be a nice change. The mechanics themselves are an extremely simplified version of OGL 3.x with extraneous items removed to fit the style of play presented which results in significantly faster play than most 3.x games.

Starting with each player having multiple 0-level characters with iron-man (3d6 down the line) stats? Pretty fun in practice. Throw the ones with bad stats under the figurative bus :)

Race as a class? Pretty good and, if you want to expand beyond that, there are third party resources that have you covered although it's hardly necessary. I like the idea that ALL Elves traffic in sordid deals with Outsiders.

The corruptive and random elements behind the spells are neat as is the... different? spin on vancian-ish magic.

I really enjoy it and if you want a lethal, balls to the wall, heavy metal game then this is it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
This RPG is large tome of information that is far superior to most fantasy RPGs. I would choose this product over both the Player and GM guide for D@D 5e. This one book has about equal content. The book is exceptionally well written and the art style is iconically cool. The spell system beats just about any I have ever seen. I can not recommend this enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
First off, this book is huge. I just received it today and have only thumbed through it. The artwork is great and brings back a lot of fond memories. I am eager to begin reading the newer rules and rehashing over some of the older or "Old School" rules. From what I have seen and read on the net about this game, it seems to be quite unforgiving to the PC's and especially so to the low level player. A lot of folks probably won't enjoy that fact. In my opinion it only adds to the overall game experience. Notice the word game to those who take it a little too seriously. I can recall a number of PC's I burned through in the early years of RPG play when I would just rush them into harms way and witness their demise or reward. All in all I am very curious to see how the rules have come along in the 30 odd years since I sat down with the first group of die rollers. No pun intended. One more thing to add: the artwork depicting the mishaps is priceless in this book. I can imagine a PC rushing in with just the axe handle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
Some interesting concepts for a old school style rpg. Tons of charts and lists so if you want a quick and easy game this probably isnt for you. If you like referencing a chart for every spell cast to give you the unique effect then you will like this system. All the odd dice are a must d16, d24 etc.
Im using bits and pieces of this system for my swords and wizardry game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
Excellent would order again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
The Guardians of the Galaxy of RPG's. Fire up your 70's sound track and hold on for the ride. Adventuring and creating memories on a scale that modern systems cannot deliver and most fail to even comprehend. Mind Blowing, Fantastical, appendix N goodness!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
This game is a call back to simplier RPGs from the early days. Only four basic classes and three races (treated as classes). There is a fatal funnel (start with multiple 0 level characters) that make character death entertaining and make getting levels satisfying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
crazy game for people who love random tables, lots of fun, but players will hafta get over dying and stuff...lol
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
AMAZING! this is old school gaming at its best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
An excellent roleplaying game, with new, interesting ideas on almost every page, yet oozing with old school gaming goodness. Every class feels new and interesting, the game is extremely well put together and the art work is astoundingly good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here