Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Eagle Claw PVC Sand Spike Rod Holder (White, 2 x 36-Inch)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Chris Staples Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2012
I am new to surf fishing and decided to purchase some of my own equipment after fishing a few times using borrowed equipment.

A PVC sand spike is a simple design and you can easily make one yourself - but this one was at a great price and was "ready-to-use." I plan on buying more as I buy more poles to fish with.

The 1st sand spike that arrived had a broken tip - this was a packing problem - the sand spike is almost the same length as the box it is shipped in and the tip must have been smashed during transit. Like always Amazon had another one shipped out that arrived the next business day and had UPS pick up the broken one free of charge.
Why I love Amazon.com

Note on sand spikes - when placing in the sand, push down and rock it back and forth parallel to the water. The spike sinks into the sand well and if placing close enough to the water, the water will seal the hole back around the spike.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
Very light gauge PVC. Flange lip where rod goes in snapped in half on first attempt to put this into the sand. Then about the third time using it (in a single day) pushing it into the sand resulted in the pointed end bending due to the lightweight PVC. In the trash now, cannot be salvaged. If you don't buy a metal one then just go to the hardware store, buy a good piece of 1.5 inch PVC pipe and cut one end at an angle.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2013
I have used many PVC spikes and this has to be the worst that I have had. The point broke the very first time I used it, must have been those darn clam shells in the sand. Eagle Claw is a big name so I figured this had to be better than the 8.99 spikes I could have bought locally. Oh yeah, the local ones were thicker PVC too! Oh well, live and learn. I would not reccommend or buy these again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2016
broke in the first time using it
very very very weak
better off going to a bait shop and getting it...a real one same price (( by me))
or go to home depot and get it even cheaper and just put a screw threw
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
I see these all the time in FL bait shops for 5 bucks and they're cheapos. I make my own for about 2 bucks a piece out of much heavier PVC than this. It's easy, takes about a half hour to make two of them with a strong piece of 6' or 8' PVC which costs about $4. 1.5" PVC will fit most rod butts. All you need is a hacksaw. You can flare the top by heating it over a stove (don't let it touch) and then inserting it upside down over a beer bottle you've placed on the floor. Easy peasy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
The pvc is not very strong but it held up for the vacation. I would build one out of stronger pvc or buy a metal one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
very thine pvc, could not even make it through shipping without breaking! a total wast of time, don't buy cheap!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
Simple design, works well. You could buy your own PVC pipe and cut it, but this one is molded well and works well enough its worth buying. Great for beach fishing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
used them just yesterday at stumpy meadows reservoir in the only sandy spot we could find lol very cool held my rods all night for cat fishing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2016
Unbeatable price and nice quality for that price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here