Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on December 28, 2014
This book definitely was an "Earthly Pleasure" to read. The setting is wonderfully funny in a most natural way -- I could come to believe in a heaven like this -- and the characters fit into it well. This was a totally satisfying read, and I would recommend it for anyone who's looking for a lighthearted feel-good story. Bravo Ms. Neches!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
A nice little romance with a nice little twist. I found it refreshing to read an upbeat and hopeful novel for a change.
Very sweet
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2008
Skye Sebring works in Heaven's Hospitality Department where she is a Greeter welcoming newcomers. However though she performs her work with enthusiasm, her favorite pastoral pastime is watching the reality TV channel Earthly Pleasures.

However everything changes for couch potato Skye when she greets former playboy Ryan "Bad Boy" Blaine. However he was brought to Heaven prematurely as he survives his near death experience; he returns to earth with little recall of his short visit except for remembering Skye. She feels the same way as if they were connected once before so she follows him back to earth. Meanwhile his wife Susan plans a giant wedding bash to overcome her shame of their sudden nuptials. As the heavenly triangle begins to unravel, Skye searches for her link to Ryan who investigates Susan odd behavior while she arranges the wedding of the year.

This is an entertaining offbeat whimsical tale of love that readers who enjoy something different will appreciate. The story line is fast-paced as the three protagonists untangle their tangled relationships that affirm love can move heaven and earth. Karen Neches provides a delightful debut that will have her fans clamoring for more.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2008
This is a fun twist on Heaven and what we think the "after-life" is all about. Although there are alot of characters introduced through-out this book, they eventually come together in a believable and sensible manner. This is an easy to read book, fun and full of love and thought provoking (but not too deep). My only complaint was the editing. There were several typos and words left out and even the main character's name was mis-spelled (Sky instead of Skye).

Brief overview: Skye is a greeter in the Newcomer section of Heaven. At the annual award banquet for her department she is promoted to go to Earth. She must go to school to learn how to become an Earthling, which her teacher simplifies into 5 lessons based on songs by the Beattles. In the meantime, she briefly meets a man (who died only for a few seconds) and becomes interested in him and watches him on the Heavenly TV Show, "Earthly Pleasures." A reality TV program where angels can watch people on Earth. Skye eventually does go to Earth and all the characters (many I did not mention) are eventually brought together in a loving and interesting manner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
Loved it. Very easy reading and enjoyable. Is nice light reading and a break from reality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2015
This is the 2nd time I've read this book. It was so wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2009
So, Skye is a greeter in Heaven; a sort of public servant who eases newcomers into the realization that they have passed on and helps them orient to the hereafter. She takes a lot of flack in her position and she's growing a bit tired of it. Skye finds herself becoming more curious about life on Earth, which she has never visited, being a "new" soul. Or so she believes...

This book is not deep, it is purely fun. The notion that God is portrayed as a female, that you can conjure up anything you like with the aid of a sort of celestial Blackberry and that lives on Earth amount to soap operas on heavenly TV are part of the entertainment of this one. I recommend it highly for a very light, fast read and suggest that you suspend disbelief and literary criticism when you do. It's a couple hours of escape that I relished!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2008
I'm sorry, I've never put a book down without finishing it, but I just couldn't get through this one. Within the first 40 pages I felt as though I was reading a book from my pre-teen years. Admittedly that's probably because there is a teenage character that I felt was way over-done on the stereotypes.
At any rate, I was looking for a book that would be somewhat ethereal or transcendent and instead was greeted with one that I felt was cliche and trite.
I realize many people enjoyed this book, perhaps I'll pick it up again when I'm in a different frame of mind.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here