Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on December 1, 2012
This has helped us, we pulled our 9th grade son out of public school because he just wasn't being educated. Since then we have tried alpha and omaga, a beka ,and bob jones, but none have done as well as this program!The setup is a little off until you get used to it, but then it works fine. I highly recommend this book because it breaks it down into small portions for easy understanding and then builds off of each earlier lesson for mastery, kind of like saxon.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2012
If you are an English or ESL teacher for anyone from middle school and higher, I would say you absolutely NEED this book in your library. It takes the complex rules of English grammar and breaks them up into small bite-sized pieces easy enough for second-language learners to understand, and gives simple and direct exercises for your class to do every day (along with answers - that's the best part). It's consistent in its formatting, it's easy to photocopy, it's easy to explain, and you don't have to know grammar very well yourself to teach from this book - it explains everything for you ahead of time, you just need to read the instructions :) Each exercise is specific for one grammar point and takes approx. 10 minutes from start to finish. If you go over the answers in class with students together, they will soon learn to pick out different parts of speech very quickly, which will help them in future English classes and in their essay writing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2017
I bought this for my home school teens after another grammar curriculum brought tears. The questions in the first curriculum used quotes from very old writings that it wanted students to learn and practice grammar with. However, NO ONE talks that way! My teens had trouble even understanding what half the sentences meant... Forget about understanding the grammar of those sentences! **** ENTER Easy Grammar Plus! The sentences used as examples and assignments are easy to understand... allowing the grammar to shine through and be learned quickly and easily! My teens grow a bit bored with the repetition, but they are learning and no longer dreading grammar each day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
Used this book with my kids, several of whom disliked grammar until we tried this one.

Simple book without pictures or color, written in a conversational tone. The author teaches crossing off prepositional phrases first, which removes a major source of confusion. Method uses labeling parts of speech, underlining, crossing out, etc but does not teach diagramming.

This book contains lessons you can read through with your kids, then practice pages to photocopy, followed by the corrected pages. If you have only one child, you could do the work in the book. Easy to understand. Plenty of practice. Good for 4th or 5th grade and up, a complete grammar course that does not need to be completed in one year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
Easy Grammar Plus is the best grammar book in publication that I have found. (Some decades-old textbooks that are no longer in publication might give this one some competition.) I used this book for years while working as an educational therapist. I just bought it again for some new clients.

The book is not scripted, so it is not going to teach the teacher how to explain grammar. For example, the book contains a list of prepositions, but the teacher will have to know how to teach what a preposition is (such as with the rabbit and the bridge) and then the book provides plenty of practice. The author does have short explanations now and again, and because concepts are presented in such small increments, it is very easy to understand without much teaching.

Many grammar books begin with subject, verbs, nouns, and adjectives, complete and incomplete sentences. When I have used those books, I noticed that some students got confused as soon as the sentence structure got a little more complicated.

Easy Grammar Plus is a structured, sequential approach that begins with prepositional phrases. Students first learn to recognize prepositions. Once they take all of the prepositional phrases out of a sentence, they find it easier to identify the parts of speech of the few words left.

The structured, sequential approach allows for extensive practice for each new concept presented as well as consistent review of concepts previously taught. Therefore, students acquire a complete understanding of new material being presented, but are never given the opportunity to forget what was learned before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
It was my mistake, but I wanted to just warn anyone else that this is a teacher's edition and includes answers with the worksheets. My daughter actually needed the student workbook, which is substantially cheaper, but I thought this was a textbook and bought it instead. The book and seller were fine, but if you do not want or need a teacher's edition, do not purchase this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
If you home educate, this book is a must. Brilliant to teach the prepositions first. Remember! Preposition has the word "position" in it. And, most prepositions describe "anywhere a mouse will go". We made word search from an online puzzlemaker website for the preposition list, to make it fun to learn them. We also recruited my husband to see who could unscramble the preposition handout from the book. My son is in 7th grade and really dreaded grammar. This book turned him around in literally one week. The mental block was gone, and suddenly, everything else fell into place. We also got the Daily Grams by the same author. We have not used them, yet; but it looks great. If you use this for one child, you can write in the book. Answers are included. Very methodical and clear. Yeah for Wanda Phillips. She is a genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
Why spend years studying grammar when your student can learn all the grammar he/she needs with this one book in a few, short months?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
I wrote a more extensive review with daily grams, in the same series. I love these books and wouldn't look for any others. They are simply the best there is. My one suggestion, which other reviewer's have mentioned, is that having the answers seen side-by-side with the page the student is working on makes it easy to grade, but also easy for the student to accidentally see the answer. It also makes for a very large and cumbersome book to tote around. However, I would order it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
Great way to learn grammar. It is simple to understand. However, this is for your upper grades (7th and higher). If you are looking for elementary look for the grade level. This is a great program for those teaching or learning grammar that are not strong in grammar.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse