Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 9 reviews
on August 10, 2012
The volume is a collection of papers and thought pieces connected with a conference on the subject at Harvard. It is of very uneven quality, indeed the task of editing it obviously came second as a requirement to the possibility of offending participants by exclusion. However there are some substantive essays, some interesting excursus, and some compelling graphics along with the mundane. There's something for everyone here and thoroughly suited to serve as a class textbook on the subject because of its range. It doesn't highlight the different perspectives it contains but that could be part of the work of the class.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
The book is rich in examples and case studies of different ecologically concerned city and urban sprawl spaces. Additionally, the book illustrates different graphic representation techniques for project presentations. It has proved to be very handy for writing my Master's degree thesis in Architecture. I would recommend to architects and urban planners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
I haven't read all of this book but it has come in handy in both graphics and content. This has helped me out a lot as a student of landscape architecture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2010
Ecological Urbanism is a must-read book. Mohsen Mostafavi and Gareth Doherty weave together a comprehensive agenda of urban interventions, ideas, policies, and strategies from different geographic settings in order to build a powerful model and vision for a more ecological future. Drawing on this massive, solid effort and on well-grounded research, the editors provide a series of detailed key lessons from all corners of the world for building a future that is less dependent on diminishing resources and is more socially, economically, and ecologically sensitive. Based on the integration between different disciplines and fields--including architecture, planning, urban design, landscape architecture, and engineering--Ecological Urbanism explores different approaches and solutions that contribute to a more ecological and just world. As Sir Peter Medawar said, "If politics is the art of the possible, research is surely the art of the soluble."

Scaling up is a significant aspect of this book since the vast majority of previous research and studies have focused on architectural and building scales. Only a handful of studies have focused on city and regional scales. Therefore, Ecological Urbanism addresses this gap, providing a collection of theories and practices that aim to articulate and advance design strategies, real solutions, and tactics that craft the foundation of the post-carbon city.

Human beings need a revolution in urban problem solving. The fate of the entire earth is one of the most urgent matters confronting humankind today. It will affect each of us, as well as our children and our children's children. Faced with the pressures of global warming, rapid growth, congestion, water shortage, drought, population explosion, urban sprawl, and pollution, cities today need to use land, water, energy, and resources with ever-increasing efficiency. The ultimate role of Ecological Urbanism is, in fact, to be a revolutionary and compelling guidebook that provides a knowledge base for a more livable and sustainable future for current and future generations. As a reference book Ecological Urbanism is a must read for academics, practitioners, students, policymakers, officials, economists, socialists, environmentalists, and anyone else concerned with the health and well-being of our cities.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
Very good!!!! very good I love it. it works as good as i expected. impressive. I will come back again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
Needed it for school, so I bought it. Book came wrapped and well packaged.
No dents or ripped pages or anything of that sort
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
Designed for students not professionals.
Layout like a comic book. not recommended for serious practitioners.
Many essays thrown together.
Not recommended
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
Hey half of this book is just illegible, dark and shadowy with lots of atmosphere GSD style graphics ... way too expensive. But I don't expect anything less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse