Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on April 3, 2017
The blurb gives you the essence of the story: this is a survival story that essentially begins as the comet hits and continues for the next two weeks. The big question is whether Denise and her family will make it on the last generation ship left in Amsterdam (and possibly the world). That remains the question for the book–so if you’re looking for interstellar travel or space pirates or anything of the sort, a quick expectations adjustment will give you a much more enjoyable read. This isn’t an action-packed tale, this is something between a gritty story of survival and an absolutely amazing character study.

Denise is strong, focused, and capable, and just the sort of person I want to be with if NASA tells us tomorrow that there’s a comet headed straight for the earth. She’s also female (obv), biracial, and autistic. Her identity plays into her life in complex and real ways. She has developed coping mechanisms to manage the things that are difficult, and they work brilliantly until they don’t. Frankly, Denise copes so much better than her mother, who cannot find her way to giving up her drug addiction.

In fact, this book has all my heart for an incredible, seamless read that is brilliantly diverse. Denise’s sister is a trans woman, the couple she meets who are trying to help the emergency shelters are Muslims of Moroccan heritage. Our potential love interest happens to be Jewish. There are people of different faiths, gender orientations, races and ethnicities, and it is completely natural because it is completely real. It isn’t trying too hard, it’s just precisely what the world looks like. And, just as in the real world, each person’s identity naturally effects their lives over the course of the story.
I suppose what was frustrating for me in this read was waiting for “something to happen” rather than letting myself stay in the moment with all the small twists and turns. This is very much a story of ground gained and then lost again. Progress is not about the progress of action, per se, as the progress and development of our characters.

Overall, a deep and insightful read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
This book has so many things many others lack. A diverse cast, for starters. You don't see a lot of biracial or disabled protagonists in genre fiction, so it's incredibly refreshing to see a protagonist who is both in a story that isn't /about/ disability or race. Not to mention that Duyvis writes about being autistic with an accuracy I think only an autistic writer can have.

Beyond that, books about the immediate aftermath of the apocolypse are somewhat hard to come by, in my experience. It's interesting to see that explored and to see not only how people are looking to get off the planet but how the people who are staying are trying to handle it.

Additionally I found the protagonist very likeable and easy to empathise with. I genuinely felt her stress while I was reading, and that's more than I can say for characters in a lot of other works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
I bought this because I'd seen the author post on Tumblr and thought, "hey, it's on sale, what the heck." I ended up staying up half the night because I couldn't stop reading it. The main character's autism is neither glanced over nor belabored, it's just a fact about who she is that informs the narrative, like Batman's PTSD or Harry Potter's scar. The plot progression is logical and suspenseful, and it manages to tell a story about the end of the world which hurt my heart but didn't feel hopeless or pessimistic. Humanity isn't shown as saintly or devilish, just human, and it's just a great, gripping story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
You have to appreciate a book that does an apocalypse story without forcing all of its characters to become cruel, or painting them as monsters always fighting each other to survive. The characters in this book are all relatable and deep, as well as diverse. When they struggle, their struggles are real and personal and not painted as some horrible quirk in human nature. I could see myself in them and could understand each side of the conflicts presented. Many times I found myself emotional, and at no point did I feel that the writing was insincere. Even the romantic aspects didn't feel forced, and they didn't fall into an obligatory irrelevant sideplot. I love On the Edge of Gone, and would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Refreshing to read not a post-apocalyptic, but during-apocalyptic story. Lots of cool survival details. You'll find yourself wondering how you'd react in the same situation. Would you lose your humanity? Keep your dignity? Fight to help others? Fight to protect your family? It's a nuanced look at humanity under pressure. Also, it's a real page-turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
This book has such loveable characters, and Denise's struggles are so familiar as an autistic person. The writing is excellent. The characters are complex. The suspense will have you on the edge of your seat, but not for so long that it becomes boring.

Having fallen in love with the characters and concept, I am desperate for a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
Loved it.

Half way through the story i knew, just knew she would get her happy ending, i just couldn't tell what that would be for her. The ending is a wonderful yet believable surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
Very well written, gripping, well-motivated character-driven plot. I can't wait to read more from this author!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
I absolutely love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2016
I love YA Sci-Fi, and ON THE EDGE OF GONE was soooo different from any other YA Sci-Fi I've read and it was awesome. Usually apocalyptic-type books are post-apocalyptic, but ON THE EDGE OF GONE starts right before a massive comet strikes Earth and obliterates everything, then continues on in the days afterward and people try to survive and Denise tries to get her family safely off-planet.

Denise struggles with a lot—her autism makes everything she experiences more difficult for her to handle, all the while she resents people knowing about her disability (particularly when she isn't the one to reveal it), and because she's Black in a very white area that comes up as a subtle obstacle several times too. At the same time, her Dutch mother is an addict, and her mother's struggle with addiction and how it affects Denise and her family plays a major role in the book. Plus trying to survive on a dying planet. Plus trying to find Denise's missing sister, Iris. Plus trying to get her family aboard the ship bound for the stars.

ON THE EDGE OF GONE was fascinating and totally captivating. I really connected to Denise and felt her highs and lows while reading, the characters were really complex and interesting, and honestly the whole thing just felt like something that could really happen, which made it a tad chilling, too.

All in all, I very much enjoyed this book, and I can't wait to see what Corinne Duyvis has for us next. Super recommended if you like YA Sci-Fi and are looking for something different, or would like to read an authentic portrayal of an autistic protagonist, or just want to read a great book.

Diversity note: As the author puts it, "The protagonist is an autistic, biracial, part-Dutch part-Surinamese Black girl. The story also features a prominent bisexual trans Black girl, as well as lesbian, Muslim, and Jewish characters, among others." The author is also autistic, so that part is #ownvoices.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.05
$10.58
$6.34

Need customer service? Click here