Kindle Price: $6.99

Save $8.96 (56%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

On the Edge of the Loch: A Psychological Novel set in Ireland by [Cummins, Joseph Éamon]
Kindle App Ad

On the Edge of the Loch: A Psychological Novel set in Ireland Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 46 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle Book
$6.99

Length: 360 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $2.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Depth of Lies
"Depth of Lies" by E. C. Diskin
Learn more about this featured book.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

.
International Praise for On the Edge of the Loch

New, unmistakably Irish, this is a social and psychological cosmos of evocative writing, the authenticity of J.M. Synge, the thuggery of Brendan Behan . . . one exquisite insight after another into the mind of the protagonist, what it is like to be lost and flawed, maybe insane. 
I found it compelling, each chapter a literary or visceral delight; I could neither wait for nor predict the sublime outcome. I commend this work in the strongest way. It has epic qualities.
Jack Engelhard
International Best-Selling Author of Indecent Proposal

A taut, richly atmospheric tale of romance and redemption set amid the wild grandeur of Ireland's Atlantic coast. At its heart On the Edge of the Loch is an exploration of hope, the shining possibilities, the harsh limits. Hope is the strand that runs through the lives of almost every character, binding them one to the other, a silvery thread reflecting light in shadow. 
Geography is a full-blooded character here, a rejuvenating, life-giving force, and Cummins' gift for describing it, alternately solemn and resplendent, is as cinematic as the sweep of the land itself.
James Rutherford
Author of Trumped! The Inside Story of the Real Donald Trump 
(Crossroad Press, 2016)

This story is dark and frightening and brilliantly bright, with twists and turns like the back roads of its west of Ireland setting. 
Just when the author gives you enough to let you think you have figured out the two lead characters, here comes another of those perplexing but pleasing turns, and heart-pounding action scenes to increase the stakes and your nervousness. On my second read I will take more time to appreciate the creative turns of phrase that seem the gift of the Irish. And I'll listen again for rhythms of other Dubliners, like James Joyce. Yes, it will be worth the second read. 
Dick Noble
Author of The Adventures of Mousco Polo 

I read a book with the anticipation of a journey that will take me out of the ordinariness of life, into places unknown. On The Edge Of The Loch gifted me this and so much more. I feel fortunate to be asked to read an advance copy. The reader is introduced to characters who immediately feel alive; you truly care about them. I found very early that I had become a part of the story, continually imagining the climax (with anxiety), hoping I had foreseen what lay ahead. I hadn't! 
The book lived up to all the big expectations it built up in me - it's a journey of heart-stopping moments, not without romance and tenderness. What a great movie or TV series this would make!
Emma Feix Alberts
Author of All That Is Familiar

On the Edge of the Loch builds its deeply focused qualities around one seemingly simple concept: Leave the reader wanting more. This is what each chapter accomplishes as the plot becomes more complicated with each new psychological twist.  
Cummins' gift lies not only in his ability to weave a theme through intricate wording and exquisite characterisation, he presents layer upon layer to force the reader to constantly question. What appears at first as conventional perspectives on love, moves far beyond cliché with surprising results. In the tradition of Thomas Hardy, Cummins blends the Irish landscape with psychological intrigue to produce a truly compelling read. 
Daniel R. Flinn
Author of Dancing with the Ants

A story as inspiring as it is original, full of brooding, suspense, tension, complex character relationships, the superiority of new dreams. But it's also a romance. In many scenes the music of Riverdance played in my ears, words dancing off the page, beautiful poetic language, nothing short of startling at times; and the scene at the cottage with Lenny and her mother is haunting. 
This is simply a beautifully crafted story, compelling and original. I was transported back in time to many happy visits to Ireland.
Amanda Clowes
Cambridge, England

Cummins delivers at a forceful pace the near cursedly indomitable spirit at the very essence of what it is to be Irish. His characters range from the living souls of its city streets to the mercurial, earthy and embracing denizens of its rugged coastline. This 'hero's journey' is a tapestry woven from themes jagged and brutal, forgiving and abiding. You can touch the texture of the thoughts and feelings of Cummins' characters. Above all, though, it's honest, unpretentious, and unapologetic. A very good read . . . one very memorable tale.
Robert S. Galasso
Vancouver, Canada

From start to finish I was captivated - by the main characters, the scenes in Dublin, western Ireland and America, all presented in such vivid terms. I loved how the writer describes the emotions of the characters; I felt I was almost part of their souls. 
At times you think you know where the writer is bringing you, then you realise you don't have a clue! It's a compelling love story, with a backdrop of the complexity of relationships and life experiences. If you love a novel full of raw emotion and fantastic characters, this is for you!
Janet Mooney
Dublin, Ireland

A vivid picture of the human condition, it left me wondering what became of the characters as their lives went on. Many aspects of human life are alluded to: the utter inhumanity of war, the hopelessness of incarceration, unbridled self-sacrifice, etc. 
The author draws upon powerful imagery to illustrate challenges that can seldom be altered. References to Mweelrea, the enchanting yet foreboding mountain, reinforce the enormity of the task facing protagonists Tony and Lenny. But Leo and Cilla's selfless qualities lift the novel. This examination of loss and its impact upon those who have yet to fully understand how their lives have been affected by it, provides the reader with many layers to ponder. 
Nigel Castle
Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK

From the Back Cover

A fleeing man, a woman trapped in long-gone love, 
a covenant demanding irrational courage . . .

Ten years ago, 17-year-old Tony MacNeill went to the penitentiary for a
crime he denied; Lenny Quin was queen of Manhattan art circles, 
soon to succumb to a mind that stopped working. 

They meet in a tiny seafaring village in Ireland. 
Both are obsessive, both exceptional. 
Tony's oath is sworn: become who he was meant to be, belong again to a
place, maybe to someone. For Lenny, the future lies entombed 
in the past; she's elegant and odd, some say dangerous.

Together, their fire is intimate . . . 
But unnerving events force them apart, and secrets and silence fog what's true. 
A strange disappearance and spine-chilling drama draw out old woundings: his 
taking to the streets at fourteen, soul-deep scarring, compulsive courage; Lenny's
walkout on celebrity in NY, heroic zeal in wartime Iraq, her reclusiveness. 

Against all that divides them . . . for all they together might be,
Tony MacNeill will once again turn unstoppable.

From Ireland to America to the underbelly of Baghdad, this deeply moving story 
spins with surprises as it unveils two impassioned people, the extremes 
they'll go to, and the frailty and resilience of the human heart.

Product details

  • File Size: 4699 KB
  • Print Length: 360 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Moon Abbey Media; 1 edition (June 18, 2016)
  • Publication Date: June 18, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HAGVS9I
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #539,314 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Psychology
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Mystery Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on July 1, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

On the Edge of the Loch: A Psychological Novel set in Ireland
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: On the Edge of the Loch: A Psychological Novel set in Ireland