Oil month Automotive HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on July 24, 2015
If you're expecting the book to read like the movie in print, prepare to be quite disappointed. If, instead, you approach it as a fresh, but similar, effort, I think you'll be delighted. The movie producers took far more than a few liiberties with the novel; both stand on their own quite well, but are far from the same. In fact, reading the Japanese novel is a treat in itself, giving you many insights into the Japanese mind set and worldview. The film, on the other hand, is a very good Tom Cruise action film -- and I'm not a big Cruise fan. This was one of his better efforts in my view. So read and be prepared to enjoy it, whether you've seen the movie yet or not. Domo Arigato.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2018
Received product and it works just as it should, good show, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 29, 2016
R rated language but good story. First time have experienced that movie screenplay was better than book,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2015
Got the book because I loved the movie. The book adds a dimension the movie did not cover --- how the Mimics came to be "mimics". Well worth the read. Although each version is has differences, I enjoyed each equally well as the differences work for each version of the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2014
I would recommend this one to anyone interested. You get past the quirkiness of it being a 'foreign language' translation very quickly. If you believe there is a billion other earths floating out there... The premise was not a big stretch ( for me ).
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2014
enjoyed the movie. and reading the book gave more depth to the flick. not the same, changed of course, as hollywood does to all the books it makes into movies. but, both are good in their own way. (spoiler alert___ holly wood gives us a happy ending. the book does not.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2014
Book was fun. Never slowed down. Was very interesting and a bit different from the movie I just saw. I recommend reading and seeing the movie. Both were superb!!! It was like getting two great stories. Moving on to The Forever War. Love love love this story...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2015
This was a very well written fictional tale which made the movie more understandable - enjoyable. I really think the author is a genius with an amazine imagination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2014
The movie was different from the book. All in a good way. I loved the book. It was a quick read. I also loved the movie. Both were really good in their own ways.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2014
makes your mind work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse