Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Beauty & Grooming Shop Popular Services GoldenGlobes GoldenGlobes GoldenGlobes  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis OscarsGNO Go Explore Outdoor Recreation on Amazon STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
Price:$25.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on December 27, 2015
 This is such a fun kit! My 11 year old was able to assemble this totally on his own. None of the pieces broke during assembly ( as is typical of other kits he has tried). The directions were easy to follow with helpful illustrations. The best part was once it was built it actually WORKS! It is so fun to watch. I will warn you that a hand held fan did not have sufficient power. We placed it in front of a box fan, on high speed, on wood floors and it worked great. It does walk a little slow but still cool. We found if it lacks traction on the smooth floors placing it on shelf liner gave it a little grip. I would definitely recommend this product.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2015
This is a pretty cool kit. It works well, holds together. The instructions are clear and the parts are well-formed. You could take measurements from this model and make your own version of a strandbeest from different materials, or larger in scale.

It walks differently on different surfaces, and the gearing is not quite as easy to drive as it could be. Switching from wind mode to finger-crank is not straightforward. This would probably be better, and the price would be more justified, if it were a LEGO set. But it's still solid as is. And my understanding is that Theo Jansen is getting some royalties from this company, which is nice if it's actually true -- other companies are just stealing the idea without paying anything.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my scientist dad--despite the "Jr Scientist" title, it's reasonably complex to build--a child would need help. All the pieces were there, and it took my dad just over 1.5 hours to finish.

He really enjoyed putting it together, and anyone who stands still for long enough gets a demo of it working while he explains the gear system. We'll probably get him the other strandbeest kit for his birthday!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Awesome model. Facing the wind or not, it walks in the same direction. Also, the fan spins even under the slightest breeze. The only draw-backs are that the gearing is a lot lower than the other StrandBeest models available...so it moves a lot slower, and the construction of this one could stand to be sured-up a bit. Still a great model though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
Great saturday project for any age. The windmill piece at the top (clear plastic pieces) doesn't really work due to the size of the gears, but it's a great project to learn about driveshafts & a unique model for your desk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
An interesting boy based on one of Theo Jansen's strandbeests. This is an authorized version. It contains all plastic parts plus two metal rods. A booklet contains an introduction to strandbeest and the assembly instructions. The model is rather flimsy but works well. It can walk slowly against wind. Made in China.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2015
My 9yo son and I put this together in about an hour. He loved making it and playing with it for days. But it's not really a plaything. It comes apart fairly easily and we lost one of the parts already. (It still functions, it just falls apart even easier, now.)

Still, I highly recommend this project if you're interested in Beest-style machines! It works well and is super fun to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
My nine year old had a fantastic time with this. She worked on it for about an hour on her own. She got a couple of gears on backwards, but her eleven year old brother stepped in and helped her fix it. It doesn't hold together well, but it was great fun and very educational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
I bought this particular kit for a friend of mine and we enjoyed assembling it. I've assembled all the strandbeast kits that are available so far, and I've really found them fun and engaging (even at 30 years old). I highly recommend these to anyone of any age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2015
Recieved the kit quickly. Atleast 1 part is missing, had to stop building as its a key component, possibly more missing but currently unknown, contacted the company for a replacment part, no reply as of yet. Dissapointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

What do customers buy after viewing this item?

Best Selling

Top Rated

Lowest Price


Need customer service? Click here