Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 143 reviews
on December 26, 2015
Let me start out by saying I easily give this score 5 stars!

I knew this was a pretty lackluster reissue, but knowing that original first presses are scarce and are typically offered for $500+ this was my only realistic option to owning it on vinyl.

Nothing fancy here...just the score/soundtrack on wax. Packaging is simply the cover/album artwork.

I wish there was a more deluxe issue considering how long it's taken to finally reissue this. Perhaps at some point there will be with added material...until then, if you love Elfman and this score like me you either already own this or will buy it regardless of how it comes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 16, 2016
This LP soundtrack is awesome! The emotion in it is great. It's happy, sad, depressing, angry, etc. I bought it to play around Christmas and am so pleased with it. It truly is a beautiful record and the music is easily recognizable from the movie. Awesome overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
To preface, this is not a great way to buy a soundtrack. It's only available as a CD, and it's a really old release. The case has a note explaining that the transfer isn't great, so this is not ideal for the audiophile. Personally, I'm not one; it sounds something less than crystal clear to me but I couldn't characterize it better than that. It's not a complete score, and one piece of pop music from the film is thrown out of order at the end. This is the sort of soundtrack that merits a deluxe rerelease.

That being said, it's totally worth getting in its present form. Like the film it represents, the music is simple, but moving. It's an intimate piece of work, with soaring orchestral and choral melodies but a great deal of quiet as well. The Grand Finale is indeed well worth the wait. As with many soundtracks, the added value is that it calls the listener back, reminding one of the themes of the film (which you ought to watch at some point, even if it isn't 100% necessary to enjoy the music). And those themes are worth being reminded of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2011
Movie soundtracks have always been an obsession of mine. They are often classically inspired but yet, the movie goer thinks of the music as being in the background and often won't listen to it on it's own merit.

I love the movie and I love this soundtrack. As a former musician and songwriter, it's my norm to listen to the music as well as watch the movie. Some soundtracks grab you and some don't. Edward Scissorhands is one of those soundtracks that grabs you....not by the throat but by the heart. The music is dreamy and when necessary, can be scary.

I hear the influences of Debussy,Stravinsky and Saint-Saens (Carnival Of The Animals) throughout the score both in the melodies and especially in the orchestrations.

I can't much disagree with the majority of reviewers here. The music takes you to another realm and does it so that you have a soft landing when you are finished. Compare that to soundtracks that "borrow" songs from artists in order to create the ambiance.

20 years later, this soundtrack stands on it's own merit. Hats off to Danny Elfman for creating this masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2015
This release reminds me of the magic of this movie all over again. Edward Scissorhands has always been my favorite movie because of the modern telling of a classic kind of tale. Danny Elfman defined modern fairytale with this piece of art. As far as the actual product is concerned, the vinyl is a great quality but the packaging is lacking. This is why I gave 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2016
This is the most beautiful music I have ever heard in my entire life!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
I preordered this Vinyl because Tim Burton, obviously. Seriously though, this vinyl is absolutely stunning quality. If you want to feel every ache and happiness for Edward over and over again without your significant other judging you for watching a movie too many times back to back, then this vinyl is for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
While I am disappointed there hasn't been a special edition coloured or picture disc released for this soundtrack, it's awesome to have this one in the collection. It doesn't come with a booklet or any other extras, what you see is what you get. The music speaks for itself though, classic Danny Elfman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2005
Writer/producer/director guru Tim Burton, Danny Elfman, and Johnny Depp round off the trio in EDWARD SCISSORHANDS that seems to have worked well for them so far (cf. other films such as SLEEPY HOLLOW, CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY, CORPSE BRIDE).

In particular, Burton's direction and storyline here create a character in Edward that is sensitive and loving, with a child-like naïvité, but who is grossly misunderstood and feared. Depp's masterful acting complements the story wonderfully, making the viewer surprised by Edward's uniqueness, but also compelled by his sense of compassion and unjust treatment.

Elfman's accompanying score is delicate and tender, and it simply couldn't be better. In true Elfman style, we find that we can be both comforted by his music and, at the same time, be left with a sense of unease that perhaps things aren't as pristine and perfect (in the quaint town here EDWARD is set) as they seem. Indeed, Elfman's score includes a gentle choir, wistful strings, and soft bells. At every turn Edward makes, Elfman's music is there guiding your ears and your mind through a world that is new, exciting, fantastic, but somehow dark and mysterious. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
I loved this movie. The soundtrack is a complement to it. I've listened to this cd probably a dozen times. It's that good! The music is split into two parts, like a story book, much like the film itself. Part one is called "Edward Meets the World", and the second part is called "Poor Edward". Most of the music is by Danny Eflman, except a song by Tom Jones, from the film called "With These Hands" and is the last track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse