Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 654 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,113 reviews
on September 27, 2015
An early Johnny Depp film that parodies 1950s middle-class America with ticky-tack houses, pastel colors, overly coiffed housewives and above-all, intolerance of difference. Edward Scissorhands (Depp) is a handcrafted humanoid -- a work in in progress -- whose creator (Vincent Price) dies before he could substitute Edward's shears with human-like hands. It's kind of like "Frankenstein" meets "To Kill a Mockingbird." As long as Edward is useful to the neighbors (cutting lawns, trimming shrubs and doing the ladies' hair), he is accepted, but once Joyce, the local sexpot (played by Kathy Baker) makes advances on Edward, he is transformed from a useful curiousity to an accused rapist. Depp's performance as Scissorhands -- heavily influenced by mime -- is very touching. But Peg Boggs (played by Diane Wiest). is a character who is essentially unmotivated except perhaps for a naive pity for a lonely boy. I wonder whether the moral point of the story is lost on the audience, especially since Edward's "otherness" is artificial, not natural.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Tim Burton's movies can at times be hit or miss, but Edward Scissorhands is absolutely one of his best and just a fantastic film in general. I rate this movie 5 stars, I rate the bluray release 3. Here's why: it's hard to argue with the under $10 price tag, and for that price one really shouldn't expect much more than the movie. That's about all this is. The extras are very, very limited. I would be willing to pay a little more to have more special features.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
THIS IS A TRULY WONDERFUL MOVIE. Visually stunning and vibrant. Especially on the Blu-ray. From a simple synopsis of the plot, it would seem difficult to achieve. But this movie succeeds so admirably. Johnny Depp is very good in the part of Edward Justin of tenderness and vulnerability to touch one's heart, but he escapes the trap of being cloying. If you haven't seen it, you really should. And if you have the Blu-ray makes it worth seeing again. I highly recommend this movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2016
This film is an excellent allegory. A wonderful Christmas/Winter story about love and acceptance of those different from you that is packed with all-star performances, imaginative storytelling, and a wonderful score. Fun for the whole family, it's not afraid to get "real" about a fanciful story. I love this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
A classic FAMILY horror/comedy starring Johnny Depp. But the big boost to this movie is the late horror master Vincent Price in his last performance before his death. Easily one of the 5 best horror icons of all time Price is superb in this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
This beautiful film is a modern-day classic in the tradition of the great horror/tragedies. Tim Burton fans will find it considerably darker than his animated films, but the gorgeous production values, superb acting and solid screenplay will make it well worth watching numerous times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2016
Has a great story, great music, and great actors for the role. The only reason I give it four stars is because I find some of moments very hard to watch in a "cringe" kind of way, as well as some moments that give suspense, which I'm not a fan of suspense in general of movies when it is too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2007
Essentially a lovely, melancholy parable about conformity and the pain of being misunderstood by writer-director Burton, this film is a winner thanks to Depp's sensitive performance as a freaky, fragile creature with achingly human qualities. Pasty-faced and goth-attired, with a mane of wild, unkempt black hair, Depp is simply brilliant in his first big movie role. So is the superlative supporting cast, including Ryder, Wiest, and horror maven Vincent Price, in his farewell role. "Edward Scissorhands" is a quirky, endearing twist on the Frankenstein fable that feels cunningly contemporary.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
I enjoyed this movie when it was first released and now I've added it to my own collection! Plus I'm a big fan of Johhny Depp!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
Fanciful and funny with tragic overtones. Wouldn't recommend for little kids as there is some violence. Acting is first rate and the scenics and costumes are hilarious spoofs on the pastel excesses of the fifties. Not to be taken too seriously on a literal level it is nonetheless something of a morality play. I found the film to be entertaining and at times raucously funny.
The story line is pure fantasy as the story of a young man who was created by a mad scientist who gave him multiple sets of scissors in place of hands. He was about to be fitted with real ones just before his creator died and left him to fend for himself in a dilapidated castle on a promontory overlooking a small town filled with eccentric characters. I won't spoil it for you with any more detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse