Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Elan
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

  • Elan
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 16, 2006
Every summer night at 9PM, the firefall was tossed over the huge cliff at Glacier Point, in a certain National Park in California. But, the last summer they did this was 1969... but somebody in this band must have seen it because they named this great group after that event.
"Elan" was the third release by Firefall and by this time they were on AM Radio with the hits "You Are The Woman", "Cinderella" & "Just Remember I Love You". FM Radio found them cool enough with "So Long" & "Mexico".
The band always had an ying / yang thing goin' on between the Ballads of Rick Roberts that earned them big sales and radio airplay and the harder rocking edge of the songs of Larry Burnett that recieved more critical aclaim and audience approval.
The big hit here is "Strange Way" that reached #11 on the pop charts and the band was riding high with all the excess that was afforded a 70's Rock Band. "Elan" was this band's most sucessful project and went platinum.
Along with "Strange Way" , Rick does his ballad thing on "Count Your Blessings", "Anymore","Goodbye I Love You" & "Sweet Ann", he teams with Jock Bartley to write "Sweet and Sour" which "surprise" became another hit single.
Larry Burnett has his moments here with "Wrong Side of Town","Get You Back", and does his own ballad with "Baby".
"Winds of Change" is a Bluesy Rock Song written by Rick but sung by Larry and it is the final song from the original record. But on this Re-issue there are three "Bonus" tracks that were recorded for "Elan" but space limitations kept them unreleased all these years. "Headed For A Fall" is here in a sparse acoustic arrangement and this one had a major overhaul before it's offical release on the LP " Undertow". The other two are from Larry and they are good, the bluesy "New Man" and the edgy tale of an assassin "Sharpshootin' at the Senator" that caused a riff with their Record Company who would not release it.
"Elan" along with "Luna Sea" are the best works from this great band and in a couple of years things would start to fall apart but right here Firefall was indeed on top of their game and producing great work... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!
55 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
I've loved this band since their first album, and Elan continues providing great harmonies and solid musicianship. Yes it's been labeled country rock, and some may deride their style, but these guys can sing. Most of the vocals alternate from Rick Roberts to Larry Burnett and, unlike many bands with only one notable lead singer, this band has two amazing talents that do not disappoint. Buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2004
I'm a huge fan of this band as can be seen by my brief reviews of their work, but great songs, close harmonies and quality instrumental work will do it for me every time. Strange Way, Sweet and Sour and Goodbye, I Love You, are three of the best tracks, and once again if you find the Rhino re-issue, you get three bonus tracks and some insightful liner notes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have a special fondness for ELAN. Way back in December of 1978, I was driving cross country from a misadventure in California to my home in Southwestern Virginia, and Firefall's cassette accompanied me. 30+ years later, I still enjoy it immensely.
This Rhino edition has detailed liner notes about the dissension in the band, based on the band's direction and the feuding between Rick Roberts and Larry Burnett. To me, Roberts was always THE voice of Firefall, but I enjoyed all the group's repertoire.
ELAN is Firefall's most successful album, and the only one to be certified platinum. Three bonus tracks were added to the original selections, providing a good representation of the band's distinctive sound.
STRANGE WAY, the album's biggest hit, is one of FF's best efforts--its somber bass foundation, the cascading strings and that great flute outro are marvelous components of a perfectly crafted song. I also like the desperate pleading of GOODBYE I LOVE YOU; the tropical ambience of SWEET ANN; the pseudo-funkiness of ANYMORE; the bluesy grit of WRONG SIDE OF TOWN; the playfulness of SWEET AND SOUR; and the folkish acoustic version of HEADED FOR A FALL which headed to a fuller, rockier version on their subsequent UNDERTOW album.
In light of all the band's inner turmoil, its to their credit, an album as good as ELAN was made. Two more gems (UNDERTOW and CLOUDS ACROSS THE SUN) were on their way before the band's ultimate demise. A re-formed Firefall would yield disappointing efforts such as MESSENGER and BREAK OF DAWN,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
If you enjoy country rock with GREAT vocals...... This album is well worth your money..... Would love for them to tour again, I just saw Coldblood again last year and they were great....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
Great songs, great musicianship, execellent production values. What's not to like? This album represents the band at it's commercial and creative height.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2011
this is really good cd for firefall fans of which i am one. i liked thier sound. they could rock and do slow songs. they had an element of jazz and blues in them also. the flute was a major asset to thier sound. strange way is a classic.sweet and sour and sweet ann are great songs with good vocals. that lead singer had a great voice. winds of change is great rock song. this is a really good cd for firefall fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2009
The music is great and helped me to go back in time and place!! Great music for the late '70s. Very upbeat!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
a great mellow "EASY HADR ROCKIN" album, one of my personal all-time favorites, from the 1970's includes the hit "STRANG WAY"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2007
This was the 3rd release from Firefall and one of my favorites.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here