BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Russell Dickerson $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

The Elephant Keepers' Children
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$27.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 16, 2017
A hilarious and deep and joyous complete romp of a novel -- one of the most interesting and both deep and light-hearted and action-packed and joyful modern novels I've ever read. It just makes me happy reading it... and a few years after it first came out I'm reading it again with my 20-year-old son for fun, and he's finding it a joyous lark too. If just makes you happy and filled with buoyancy inside when you read it, and even when you're just thinking about it ! And if by any chance you're feeling blue -- read this buoyant and deep and overflowingly happy novel !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
Our hero is 14 and has a quirky view of life which he shares liberally. He has a sister who is capable of reducing adults to stammering and a brother of mythic strength. The story takes place on a small island off Denmark. The plot is a desperate plan to save their parents. But on the way, we are given a number of pearls.
My favorite pearl is the presence of the door that releases you. It appears just before perfect happiness or great grief. And in the middle of ridiculous escapades, we may stop and listen to the presence of the door.
The prose is satiric and quite funny. Observations on fellow humans are unexpected and astute.
We are taken to the world of elephant keepers, people with an elephant of longing, and their children. It is a different kind of book and one worth taking in.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
A Protestant minister and his wife disappear in Denmark, and their children and their children's friends set off to find them. It turns out that the minister and his wife are responsible for absconding with a treasure of valuables, and want to claim the reward by disclosing its location. Meanwhile, a terrorist drug dealer, Black Heinrich, plans to blow up the Danish court, dignitaries, and treasure, but the incident turns out to be a fizzled-out bombing with little damage. There is a subplot about Danish complete lists and records of illegitimate children of Danish aristocrats and royalty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
It drew my interest right away. It was funny and full of detective-style drama. However it was too long. After awhile it lost its charm and began dragging on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Is this really what life in Denmark is like? I have to wonder. All I know about the Danes, I've learned from Peter Hoeg. My ideas may be a little skewed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
The contrast between the children and their practical and meditation based approach to life and the adults and their ideology driven one is empathetic. The refrain about the children's extensive study of spirituality gets a bit tiresome, but the book was in sum a pleasure to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2016
I bought a copy for everyone in my family. I loved this book it was so fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
Peter Hoeg has a masterful command of language and a brilliant imaginative mind. The story mixes reality and fantasy that skims the borders of both. Kind of like The Woman and the Ape he exposes the underbelly of human frailty but elevates the human spirit. I had a great time reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
strange and fanciful story with heavy religious symbolism. many many characters with difficult names. sometimmes a little difficult to follow but in the end very good and reasonably tight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
Loved it for its astute observations, its humour and its heart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse