<Embed>
Buy new:
$13.87
List Price: $16.99
Save: $3.12 (18%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Sep 30 - Oct 2
Fastest delivery: Thursday, Sep 24 Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$17.76
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti
Add to Cart
$14.47
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: tabletopart
Add to Cart
$18.53
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Publisher Direct
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Elephant's Girl Hardcover – May 19, 2020

4.6 out of 5 stars 66 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$13.87
$11.52 $13.67

Discover Prime Book Box for Kids
Story time just got better with Prime Book Box, a subscription that delivers editorially hand-picked children’s books every 1, 2, or 3 months — at 40% off List Price. Learn more about Prime Book Box
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Elephant's Girl
  • +
  • The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal)
  • +
  • The Secret Lake: A children's mystery adventure
Total price: $26.35
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Mixing realism, fantasy, and information about elephants, the author presents well-rounded, often mischievous human characters, and the unlikely focal setting of the zoo entices readers to fantasize about living there. Lex’s investigation reveals a puzzle that may contain answers about her past, and readers will eagerly accompany her as she works to crack it." —Booklist

"Poignant...An already engaging tale of life at a zoo turns into a mystery...[and] a bittersweet ending completes the story's magic and mystery." —Kirkus Reviews

"
Skillfully paced with just the right amount of tension, this offers a thoughtful look at how our past shapes our present, and how, similarly, memory is shaped by our current circumstances." —The Bulletin

"This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo." —School Library Journal

About the Author

Celesta Rimington is an elephant advocate, a musical theater performer, and an active participant in her local writing community. As a teenager, she worked at a zoo in Omaha, which is part of the reason she set her story in Nebraska. She now lives in Utah with her husband and two children, where they have a miniature railroad with a rideable steam train.
celestarimington.com

Product details

  • Lexile Measure : 0800
  • Grade Level : 3 - 7
  • Item Weight : 14.4 ounces
  • Hardcover : 336 pages
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0593121221
  • ISBN-10 : 0593121228
  • Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers (May 19, 2020)
  • Product Dimensions : 5.75 x 1.06 x 8.56 inches
  • Reading level : 8 - 12 years
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 66 ratings