BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
Eleven Eleven
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 21, 2015
This album will jolt you, soothe you and just amaze you. If you like the Johnny Cash that they don't play on the radio this album is for you. If you hunt for blues music new and old that sounds bourbon soaked and bruised this album is for you. Crafted by a true American songwriter in the most honest sense of the term, Dave Alvin uses words the way a fine leather craftsman uses thick full grain leather. He first makes them utilitarian and then beats beauty into their surface. Weighty at times and light hearted at others this album takes you for a ride through a world so real you don't mind the pain in Alvin's voice on some songs because the joy in others heals new wounds as quickly as they are inflicted. At times a working man's history lesson and at others a melancholy remembering of the loss of young life from the distant past and all too recent past this series of songs are just amazing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
I bought thisCD and another Alvin Bros. CD, as a gift for someone who loves to play guitar, and is familiar with their songs and technique. It was a great gift. I only listened to parts of this before I sent it as a gift. Because it is the Christmas season, I have not had time to listen to it personally. However, I listened to an interview on Wisconsin Public Radio, "Fresh Air", when they were interviewing Dave Alvin. He gave some great insights to his music. And, I was fascinated to find out more about him and his brother. He did a song called, "What Happened to your Brother". The story behind this song is hilarious. It is on this CD. And, because I listened to the interview, I was sold on Dave and Phil Alvin. I highly recommend this
CD. I also bought Dave and Phil Alvin's CD, Common Ground.. which features the music of Big Bill Broonzy. Both these CD's were a hit with the person receiving my gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
Fans who visit Dave's web site will be greeted with the message that says something like "Folk Music Can Be Played Loud or Soft, and I do Both". True to his words, Dave has made a career out of mixing hard, bluesy, Americana with poetic folk music. However, he has rarely made an album that mixes both styles. The last time he did it was in 2004 with "Ashgrove" which in my opinion is probably the most enjoyable (not necessarily best) album of his career. Eleven Eleven is essentially an older brother to that record. The same themes of history, nostalgia and lust run through it's veins and it's pumped with both a bluesy and a folksy beat. I could nitpick and attempt to quantify how this album or a particular song ranks in his rather impressive catalog, but why bother. Dave Alvin is an american music master and this album finds him at the top of his game. Meaning, if you like Dave, or you like Americana this is a no brainer.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2017
From the opening Harlan County line this album captured my attention. Dave Alvin is a great storyteller and delivers a solid performance with this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Just a terrific album of original Americana from the legendary Dave Alvin. His deep vocals and harrowing guitar will burn these tunes into your subconscious. highlights include "Gary Indiana", "Harlan County Line", and the tune reuniting him with brother Phil, "What's Up With Your Brother". Why are you reading this? You should have bought the album by now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
Love this album, if only for the first track, "Harlan County Line"! Heard it first on an episode of "Justified" and I've always been a fan of The Blasters and Dave Alvin. "Run, Canejo, run" and "Johnny Ace is dead" also hit the mark bang on!!!! And his brother Phil joins him for a track! Home Run!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
Can't go wrong with Dave Alvin! Great purchase experience, too, in all regards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
You like Dave Alvin? Get this. This is what he does best. Story telling and excellent musicianship from the entire band. Top of his game. A perfect Dave Alvin CD. Tony Joe White and Dave Allen are both doing the best stuff they've ever done. Great year for quality music if you know where to look.

THANKS DAVE! Great entertainment and just a spectacular CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
Kills things dead. Expose your children as soon as possible.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
I Love this CD a friend of mine turned me on to it a few months ago and I play it regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse