Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Eliminator Lighting Special Effect Series Mushroom Special Effects Lighting
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Dolly Parton Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 27, 2010
I'm very happy with this product. It's professionally designed with a built-in mic that picks up the sound and the lights move with the beat of the music. You can also adjust the speed of the lighting effects as well. I'd recommend it for any DJ or anyone looking to add some nice effects to their party. The only thing I wish it came with are some different kinds of mounting screws or even plastic tie-downs. A very good buy for your money!
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2012
BE WARNED. I am disappointed over-all. The light functions well and rotates to the beat of music just fine, but the product description does not tell you it overheats quickly and needs to be shut off after 10 minutes so it can cool off for 10 minutes, and so on. Because these are halogen bulbs and get very hot quickly, the manufacturer recommeds a usage pattern of "10 minutes on, 10 minutes off." For what I need, this is extremely high-maintenance. I am a karaoke host and just wanted a light that would flash for a 4-5 hour show. I can't be going back and forth making sure this light isn't overheating every 10 minutes turning it on and off. I called the manufacturer and they recommended I buy one of their light controllers which will time it automatically (which costs more than the light itself). I guess if you were a DJ who had a big light show and you had the controller anyway, this might work for you. But if you're looking for a single light just to accent a small stage, look elsewhere.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2010
I bought this for my daughter for a party she was having. The multicolor lights fill the room. They ran the light for hours without any issues. The only issue seemed to be that it needed a speaker to be fairly close for it to self-adjust to the beat of the music. No a big deal since the music was going to be played at a pretty high level.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2011
come on people think before you write a review, don't bash the product for having a duty cycle. this unit is an older unit with 600 watts worth or halogen lights in it, its gonna get hot and need a break. don't give it lower ratings for working as designed, give yourself a lower rating for not researching products before buying them. this unit has a 10 minutes on, 10 minutes off duty cycle. if you cant abide by this rule spend a little more and get a newer LED unit with no duty cycle. sorry i needed to rant a little, people frustrate me :)

p.s no disrespect to other reviewers was intended, just need to give some people a different point of view, it a good product if it functions to manufacturer specs, customers should research the specs prior to purchasing instead of getting mad when it doesn't go their way.

Finally got mine in from amazon and it is really cool, it can run if needed about 15min without getting dangerously hot but dont make a habit of it as long term it could cause damage, stick with the 10min on, 10min off duty cycle. light is pro quality andvery sturdy, eliminator includes a sound sencitivity knob which is nice, the model from ADJ does not have this, cooling fan is a little load but music hides the noise.

upon further inspection the projections coming from the unit on the wall are shaped like the filiment in the light bulb, it look like a U shaped spiral, you wont notice as long as the light is active and moving, this is something the halogen fixtures have always had a problem with, you think they would have fix that by now??

oh, and this thing gave me a pretty nasty burn on the first use, i normslly use lower wattage halogen or LED fixtures so i wasnt expecting that, after being on for about 5 minutes its hot enough to teach you a lesson about not letting it cool before touching it, if you must handle the fixture while on grab it by the hanging bracket NOT THE BODY
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2011
The description of this light leaves out one very important point. It is a 10 minutes on/10 minutes off duty light. That means that you have to keep turning it on and off every 10 minutes in order to avoid overheating. Not something that I would want to do during a show. Even if I put it on a timer, I would not want to have 10 minutes of down time of my lighting while doing a karaoke show! Now I know that you have to have an LED light to avoid this problem. I returned this one and got an LED light.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2011
We placed this item on the floor using the stand and let it go. The music was loud enough and the lights worked to the beat of the music. Even with balloons in the ceiling, the kids felt like they were in an adult club and it added perfectly to the ambiance... Am thinking of getting another one!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
Are you a "closet D.J.? Do you dream of owning the next Studio 54? Do you miss the days when you were sure the D.J was watching you do your disco moves on the floor? If so, then you need the Eliminator Lighting Special Effect Series Mushroom light at your next party.

I bought this for my partner to use at his Annual New Year's Eve party and it was just the thing needed to bring the party to the next level! It is best for smaller spaces. It is not for professional usage but for your home party especially if you have cathedral ceilings it is PERFECT because the lights spread out! We used it outside aimed down on the dancers!

We had no problems with it working directly out of the box. It is light weight and easy to mount using C-clamps.

John Travolta, watch out!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2010
It works perfect very bright and moves well to the sound of the tunes. Mounts easy and adjusts even easier.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
This is exactly what it says it is, it's a dance light.

The item arrived in perfect condition and functions the way it should however, it uses way too much power. This is ran using two 300watt halogen light bulbs. Also, it does not explain in the description that this item has a 10 minute on and off duty run cycle. What this means is that you need to shut the unit off after 10 minutes of use, and then let it rest for 10 minutes before turning it on, otherwise it will overheat.

And trust me, if you touch this unit where you aren't supposed to after 5 or 10 minutes of it being on, You will get burned- and it won't be minor burns either.

If you have the patience and the money to spend on the extra energy, go ahead- buy it. IT does what its supposed to and looks amazing in the dark. HOWEVER, if you don't want to get burned, shut it off every 10 minutes, and have to deal with a huge power consumption, go with an LED light or a light such as this one that uses much less power and doesn't have such a short run cycle.

I neither recommend or discourage this purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
Great light for the price, but as I always say, make sure you buy from Amazon and no one else. I have 2 of these lights and they definately rival the bigger more expensive Eliminator E-108 Double Derby. In fact there is not much difference and the Mushroom light is smaller and easier to handle. This light is not equippedd with LED lights so there is a duty cycle. However, I know of some people who run them for hours at a time, but you're better off to let the light cool about every 10 or 15 minutes to prolong the life of the bulb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here