Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on December 28, 2017
I purchased this as a gift for my 6-year-old granddaughter, who requested it as her "favorite movie" after a sleepover. Another generation enchanted by Anne Hathaway and humorous spins to a fairy tale, enhanced with scene-stealing songs even a rebellious elf likes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2015
if you're really into stories about fantasies and fairytales, then you will enjoy this movie. I thought the character to be memorable and delightful.the story was delightful and I loved it.to me, Ella will go down in history with such wonderful characters as Cinderella and Snow White. I will definitely save this one for my grandchildren.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 21, 2017
Very cute, with characters breaking into song and dance (much like the end of Slumdog Millionaire). Plot a mixture of Cinderella with a touch of Wizard of Oz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2017
It's a nice chick flick! I enjoyed it. It's fun, the actress is awesome, so that much covers it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2015
Story was fairly original, but still pretty fairy tale predictable. Definitely family friendly and still pretty parent enjoyable.
Charming cast, fun motown songs (super out of place, but still somehow awesome?), great characters who defy their racial stereotypes. Plus you have whats-his-face from Robin Hood: Men in Tights & Princess Bride as an over the top villain which is kind of funny with the whole Ella must obey when someone tells her to do something and the whole "As you wish" thing from Princess Bride.
I don't know, I thought it was interesting.
Anyway, it's fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2015
My wife and I enjoyed this movie. Released in 2004, the movie is a cleaver and humorous adaption of the Cinderella story with fairies and giants, prince charming and an evil want-to-be king, etc. Anne Hathaway is charming in this movie (I am sure there is a better word than charming, but..). Her role is not sappy, she is a strong-willed character who prevails in the end, and her dialog is sharp and funny. She also sings in this movie. Her voice is great and perhaps is why she got a role in a remake of Les Miserables (2012).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2017
A Feel Good Movie! And, of course, a fairy tale happy ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2016
A story about a girl who obeyed and complied with every request/order. In a society where the message to girls often is" be nice", 'don't make waves" and "try to make it work" this is a good movie. Ella often does things she doesn't want to do because of the "Curse" which said she had to do whatever was asked of her. In the end she must decide if she can tolerate the curse or break it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2017
I really enjoyed this light hearted comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2016
Good, clean fun with an empowering message for little would-be princesses (and for their mommies and daddies, too). Plenty of laughs and engaging characters; the ugly stepsisters are a total hoot. Takes the best of P.C., satirizes it, and uses it to great philosophical effect -- and belly-laugh hilarity. A great choice for family movie night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse