Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $13.00 (48%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Eloquence of the Sardine: Extraordinary Encounters Beneath the Sea by [Bill François, Antony Shugaar]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Eloquence of the Sardine: Extraordinary Encounters Beneath the Sea Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 14 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Nolyn: The Rise and Fall, Book 1
In the depths of an unforgiving jungle, a legend is about to be born. Listen now

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Mac and Windows desktops
    Desktop

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

"With an elegant mix of storytelling, science, and humor, Francoise delights us with his infectious love of life beneath the waves. These aquatic reveries pry open the oceans’ mysteries to reveal pearls within."--Jonathan Balcombe, New York Times bestselling author of Super Fly and What a Fish Knows

"Delightfully told in stunningly beautiful language, Eloquence of the Sardine is a rare book combining deep scientific insight and first-hand experience with the sheer poetry of the sea. Take the plunge, immerse yourself, feel the beauty, and be amazed!"--Carl Safina, New York Times bestselling author of Beyond Words and Becoming Wild

"We live on a planet that is mostly covered in oceans, but we hardly know the stories contained in them. In the tradition of Rachel Carson, Bill Francois reminds us that these stories come from many voices -- lonely whales, educated octopuses, and insatiable tuna -- if we're willing to listen. With lyricism and honesty, Francois speaks for these voices, whether they live far out on the blue water or show up on our dinner plates. The stories in this book will convince you that these voices are all worth knowing, saving, and celebrating."--Nick Pyenson, author of Spying on Whales

"In Eloquence of the Sardine, Bill François guides us on a fascinating journey to reveal dimensions beneath the seas rarely seen by most of us. With a talent as a storyteller and the insights of a scientist, he introduces us to a gallery of undersea inhabitants and considers lessons we can learn from them on the future of our oceans. Weaving personal stories with physics theory, history, and parables, Eloquence of the Sardine is an enchanting and insightful exploration of life in the underwater world of our rivers, seas, and oceans."--Vint Virga, author of The Soul of All Living Creatures

"Full of engrossing stories, gentle humor, and wit, Bill Francois's eye-opening exploration of the underwater world takes the reader on a fascinating scientific and philosophical journey into the secret lives of fishes. Eloquence of the Sardine is exactly that: eloquent, as well as revelatory and highly readable."--Marc Bekoff, co-author of A Dog's World: Imagining the Lives of Dogs in a World Without Humans

"An lluminating debut collection...François’s tone is conversational, and his passion and excitement are contagious...a fun deep dive into marine life."--Publishers Weekly

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Bill François is a physicist passionate about the marine world. He studied at the ENS school in Paris and then devoted himself to research on hydrodynamics. The eloquence contests he won, like the Le Grand Oral on France 2, propelled him to become passionate about his other world: that of words. He mixes these universes to relay the importance of protecting our oceans.

Antony Shugaar is a writer and translator. Aside from Giorgio Faletti’s A Pimp’s Notes, his recent translations include books by Simonetta Agnello Hornby, Silvia Avallone, Nanni Balestrini (with an NEA translation fellowship), Fabio Bartolomei, Massimo Carlotto, Giancarlo De Cataldo, Diego De Silva, Marco Mancassola, Gianni Rodari, and Paolo Sorrentino. He is the author of  Coast to Coast and I Lie for a Living and the coauthor, with the late Gianni Guadalupi, of Discovering America and Latitude Zero. He has published with the Washington Post, the Boston Globe, and online with the New York Times, among other publications. He is currently at work on a book about translation for the University of Virginia Press. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08FZ8W2HQ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ St. Martin's Press (August 17, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ August 17, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 16375 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 186 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1250272432
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 14 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
14 global ratings
5 star
70%
4 star
30%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 22, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on August 22, 2021