Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 231 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 323 reviews
on October 20, 2016
Every year or two I remember that this movie if funny, silly and quite a bit different than just about anything else out there. If you are looking for a silly comedy that incorporates casual witchcraft, really bad puns and double entendre, the 1980s and boobs, then you should see this movie. This movie has a pretty familiar plot: Elvira (the outcast weirdo) needs a fresh start, so she moves to a sleepy little boring town where she shakes things up, much to the dismay of the local squares. No, I didn't write "SPOILERS." If you consider that a spoiler, then you sure haven't seen any 80s comedies before, because that's just about all of them. What makes this movie different and charming is Elvira herself. She is corny, overdone and more than a little bit inappropriate. Her two favorite co-stars are worth the cost of the DVD all by themselves.

I paid about $6 and received a single DVD in a case. It is a real produced disc (not a DVD-R) and the presentation is nice, but no -frills. I watched the movie and I was pleased with the quality of the audio and video. It wasn't really impressive, but for a cheap movie that was shot almost 30 years ago on FILM (whatever that is), or possibly on video tape (that was a thing, right?). . . it was good enough.

If you are easily offended by comedic depictions of witchcraft, really blatant sexual references and (probably) some mild bad language. . . stay away. Personally, I find everything in the movie to be too cutesy to be offensive, but I wouldn't let anyone under 14 or so see this movie. Parents should check it out before letting kids anywhere near it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
I have always loved this crazy comedy horror. Especially now that I have the DVD I have found things I didn't see or hear before. This is a pure classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
Flawless in every way.. This movie is very well made and is hysterical! This one is a MUST-HAVE for any Elvira fan. Perfect Movie!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
ELVIRA: MISTRESS OF THE DARK is simply delightful! Cassandra Peterson has forever sealed her status as Halloween icon. The wonderful thing about this movie is that it absolutely knows the difference between naughty (which it is!) and nasty (which it's not!). E:MOTD perfectly skewers small-minded, small town life without being acidic about it. When ELVIRA arrives in Falwell, she becomes the target of the sanctimonious, while attracting the more open-minded to her "wicked ways". Self-righteousness is dismantled by ELVIRA's infectious charms (only some of which are physical), and unabashed freedom. Yes, she is extremely hot. Yet, she also carries the story w/ her humour and her character's perfect melding of Morticia Addams, Vampira, and the stereotypical Valley Girl. From the hilarious opening, right up through the incredible Vegas finale, ELVIRA owns the screen! Pure joy!...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
For all types and ages of Elvira fans, Cassandra Peterson's alter ego delivers a 5 star performance in the campy, creepy, cleavage busting story about the 'real' Elvira, who upon resigning from her infamous red sofa studio, demanding respect, and getting none, she wallows away in her dressing room, until receiving a telegram, stating her Great Aunt, Morgana Talbot, from Falwell, Massachusetts has passed on, and she is to appear for the reading of the will, as she is 'kin', she has a stake in the inheiratence.
Upon arriving in Falwell, in a decked out, black convertible, complete with barb wire wrapped around the rear view mirror, skulls lining the body of the car, an inverted pentagram inside the steering wheel, leapord print interior, with a license plate reading "KICK ASS", the Falwell residents are less then welcoming, to say the least, as the town is about as big as a zip code, and as conservative as the namesake. With a supurb storline, and plot, we get a sneak peak into Elvira's offscreen antics, and along with the one liners, wisecracks, and abundant sexual inuendos, and double entendres, the film, first out in theaters in '88 (which I watched, and LOVED), the DVD has some bonus featurettes as well as the classic movie itself. Co-written by Cassandra Peterson herself, actress/comedienne extrodiaire, this movie will leave you sliding down your own sofa, holding your stomach, from laughing so hard.
I swear, this movie I laughed so hard in, I actually had tears coming out of my eyes, and I've NEVER had that happen as I'm not big on comedies. But this one, trust me, would make old grumpy Uncle Henry even crack a grin. If only for the great cleavage shots...lol. Trust me, boys, you'll LOVE it. And to the rest of the ladies, it proves that you can be a sex symbol, AND an intelligent actress, and heroinne at the same time, as Elvira discovers, when her trademark red ruby ring is much, much more than just a piece of costume jewelry.
Friends, lovers, enemies, idolizers, all are in this unforgettable, laugh a minute spoof on horror movies, with a few scares themselves. Can't stress it enough: This movie is MUCH more than you could ever have thought it would be...
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
I enjoyed watching this movie and it played great with no problems, so no complaints from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2015
This is the greatest "Elvira" movie in my eyes. She does everything to use her body for some crazy "body language" which most fans will agree is a great comedic value that our store is comfortable with and conveys in her excellent performance. The story, the supporting cast and effects war well conceived and definitely made the movie a cold favorite. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2017
Funny, silly, irreverent - classic Elvira!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2017
Greatest movie ever in my book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Great movie! A classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse