Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno



on November 3, 2015
Really enjoyed this book. It was an honest and sincere look into a person that is loved by millions, showing his weakness and his strengths and still told with the love and respect of a true friend. Its truly sad that both men died at such a young age. Another wonderful book by the amazing Alanna Nash.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2011
Another frustrated member who wished he was more important to Elvis. Only for the fanatic Elvis fan like me who needs it for the collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2010
Another eye witness account of Elvis's life. Nice read. Nothing shocking or too different from what I read. Alan seems like a nice enough guy and had a nice relationship with Elvis for the most part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2014
Alan was one of the people that was with Elvis through most of "The Kings" professional life on and off the road, the movies, at home.. His account is insightful, while informative. I really enjoyed it. A good read on Elvis. Especially if you are an Elvis fan.
Alan was there for most of it. He saw it all and tells it from his point of view. I would recommend "Elvis: From Memphis to Hollywood" for sure. A must have for Elvis's fans.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 24, 2010
A great look on the inside of the Elvis world! Alan Fortas was one of Elvis' Memphis Mafia and who knew him better than the people who worked for him. I believe what Alan wrote was the truth from his point of view. He didn't sugarcoat some of the things that happened, yet he didn't criticize Elvis too much either. Fortas wrote some good things Elvis did and also some not so nice things, but all in all, I thought it was entertaining and it gave me some insight into Elvis, the greatest entertainer of all time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 27, 2014
good book from a good friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2008
I found Alanna Nash to be a very unbiased and open to all aspects of Alan Fortas and his working relationship within the Memphis Mafia and entourage of Elvis Presley. Her books show the reader both sides of the life of these people without the errors that I have found in other books by other author's about Elvis, his life and loves and passion and problems. Plus her research and time spent involved in her books is a educational journey and eye opening experience. Read Golden Girl : The Story of Jessica Savitch which I found extremely interesting.

It seems that the post by Denise Simms is a personal attack on Ms. Nash since she even spelled her name wrong. Let's face it folks, books about Elvis have been written since the day the man died and several have errors, incorrect dates and times and places, as I too have read Elvis Day By Day and loaned the author photos from my collection for his book and was never paid. As for damaging Elvis Presley's image, Ms Nash has done nothing but educate and enlighten the reader. I am sure that the authors of these books do not profit as Ms. Simms states here because the book business is a tough market to cash in on loads of $$$$.

Please don't let Ms. Simms remarks ruin your chance to read this fine book, until you have walked in another person's shoes, don't criticize or accuse. And may Ms. Simm's find her reading pleasure in something more up her alley. I personally have known several members of the Memphis Mafia and each has had his Elvis story to tell, some better than others, but it is up to the reader to assume what they are reading is what was told and not hear say. I recommend this book and look forward to Alanna Nash and her next project.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2008
Alan must have lost his mind working with someone like Alana Nash who will take what he says and rewrite what he says, when he is not looking. This book is a load of bull and deserves to go right into the toilet. This outsider Nash has profited more by damaging the Elvis image than Sonny West, Lamar Fike and the maestro of the cracked in the head Marty Lacker all put together.

If you want to trade your gas money for this book, you might want to inject some reality into her far fetched tales by either reading Elvis Straight Up by Joe Esposito or Elvis Day by Day by Guralnick. Those two books will set you straight once and for all. If you want a super reference book read Remember Elvis also by Esposito. (It has over 200 interviews Alan Fortas among them with the same insights as in this book)

That's all I have to say about this book. If you want something that rivals the distaste of Elvis What Happened, this book is for you.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here