Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

on September 12, 2015
I have read this book more times than I can count. I have utilized it in management and leadrship training courses than I have conducted at many companies in many various industries. Problably have purchased many hundreds for class participants. This is the book for everyone in every type of entity or organization from the CEO to the beginning employee. This book will open the eyes for all of us who think we know how to work with people. Buy it and study it. It is written in language everyone can understand. Light reading of a heavy topic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2017
This is my go-to book for understanding and explaining management concepts. It was given to me by someone in the industrial psychology field when I was a young new manager and it helped to form my management style. I have given the book away many times, particularly to those who are placed in a management role without any management training, typically because they are the longest on the job. Not everyone can manage others well, but when that potential is there, this book will help them to see themselves as a leader and lead. The key element discussed in this book is communication and it gives great examples of times we think we have communicated but we have missed critical elements. It also is the book that offered the revelation that a "boss" is a significant other in the lives of those they supervise. I highly recommend this for new and seasoned managers as a quick and easy enlightening read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2013
I hate business books. They are generally impractical and pretentious. In order to puff them up to 300 pages, they start with three chapters of the authors talking about themselves and why and how they wrote the book, then one chapter that makes whatever point they want to make, then more three chapters talking about how much their method will help you.

This little book does none of that. It's points are clear, suggestions are practical, and it doesn't waste your time.

I've been using it to train Managers, both new and experienced, for over 10 years and it has proven its worth time and again. It is the ONLY "business" book I recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2010
This is a brief, but very informative book about: (1) how managers can better understand why employees are not doing their job duties properly or effectively, and (2) how managers can use that better understanding to carry out their managerial responsibilities more effectively.

The book: (1) provides a framework for managers to evaluate improper or inadequate job performance; (2) identifies 16 reasons why employees are not performing their job tasks properly or adequately; (3) gives concrete examples to explain and illustrate the 16 reasons; (4) compares and contrasts some of the 16 reasons that appear to overlap with other reasons; (5) offers possible solutions for each of the 16 reasons; and (6) presents a good argument for why managers need to engage in "preventive management" rather than react to performance problems after they occur.

One especially good aspect of the book is that its analysis and discussion can be applied to the evaluation of the performance of managers themselves, not just the performance of the employees being managed or supervised. Managers should keep in mind that the 16 reasons for improper or inadequate job performance are applicable to them just as much as to the employees they manage. Managers interested in learning ways to do their jobs better and more effectively should read this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2016
I find this a great book to open serious conversation with emerging leadership. Relevant issue worthy of consideration. To agree is not necessary in all cases but in most cases I do agree with conclusions reached and solutions offered. This is not book full of fluff but rather it addresses many root causes to substandard employee performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 27, 2016
Seriously. There is a reason and you may be the reason this is happening. Good for first tiime supervisors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2017
Great information for trying to understand why employees aren't doing what the should be doing. Really helped me understand it wasn't necessarily that they just didn't want to do and has improved my ability to create new strategies to help employees improve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2016
Recommended as a book to read for work. It is okay as far as work books go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2017
Good book for inexperienced individuals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2015
Anyone and everyone who supervises the work of others needs to read this book! It is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse