Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 45 reviews
on November 19, 2015
This book is a good read it gives you an outlook as to your human body capabilities of producing neurotransmitters through a nutritional regiment. Very informative even for those people that do not suffer from addiction. I highly recommend to those people suffering from an addictive disorder or if some one has a family member that does, to help them get clean of the Substance of choice. This addictive substance include sugar which is a mild Cocaine.
This are two highlighted points in this book, "A part from sunlight, oxygen, and fiber which we require in order to live there are six classes of essential nutrients for human life: Amino Acids, Vitamins, Minerals, Fats, Enzymes, and Phytonutrients".
"As far as biochemistry is concerned there are only two types of substances: nutrients and toxins".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
I am a personal trainer and this book has given me the truth and the facts behind addiction and real, lasting healing. I've been following Charles Gant for some time now and have read almost every article he's put out. The man has a powerful and comprehensive understanding of health and healing. (see "grand unified theory") You get more than you anticipate from this book and have the opportunity to see the realities behind addictions of all kinds and how it begins at the biochemical level. in a world now filled with potent and readily available drugs (legal and illegal) this is one of the most important books of our generation and a must have for anyone who has a loved one struggling with any kind of addiction.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
This book is a must read for adults and particularly for parents . The medical profession is putting people and especially children at risk by the over use of perscription drugs. This book gives great detail on how to cure the cravings of substance abuse and his success rate of treating patients and curing them is amazing.Every parent must read this book inorder to protect their children from the growing threat from the pschiatry industry and the pharmaceutical industry.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
Dr. Gant, the author, lays out a step-by-step program for the "addict" to discover what neurotransmitters he/she are deficient in that are causing the addiction and how to bring them back into balance so the addiction goes away. The book has checklists that will quickly show you what deficincies you have and the exact supplements needed to correct the imbalances. Dr. Gant has had many years of refining his protocol and has worked with thousands of patients helping them overcome addiction and has developed a proven program. This book and Dr. Gant's protocol should be used in every addiction center in the country. Most centers use talk therapy and/or a 12-step program, therapies that are proven failures. If you have any kind of addiction, give Dr. Gant's program a try - you will be amazed! This book is creating a new paradigm in addiction recovery!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
Such interesting information and nutritional facts that one can use as tools to participate in their own healing process. I purchased this book on my kindle, and found that is it easier to get the hard copy, as I refer to prior pages often. A book you can refer to often and provides great info on how the body responds to different supplements.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2011
The major focus of the book is on healing the brain neurotransmitters. If they work right, you work right. Various chapters cover overcoming sugar addiction, smoking, alcohol abuse, cocaine, painkillers, marijuana and more. Specific nutrients for each disorder are outlined so that you can take immediate action to start healing your body and brain. Every rehab center in the country should also have this book to help prevent client relapse.

I also recommend this book by Dr Gant: ADD & ADHD: Complementary/Alternative Medicine (CAM) Solutions
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
I've been taking the supplements now for three months and I could honestly see a difference after a month. Some of what the book says I "left on the shelf", but for the most part, the science rings true, and the results are proof of that. If nothing else, this book helped me know and understand myself better, and that certainly makes a difference going forward. So glad my psychologist recommended it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
this is some of the best information around, may the divine help us all in this endeavor, but the science is amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2011
I am about to try and detox from morphine and ativan and it was helpful to know that there are supplements that can possibly help. Not really sure if they will work but it gives me hope especially since I have been on the tranquilizer, ativan (1-6 mgs) for 10 years, when I started having daily migraines. I have heard that ativan can be harder to get off of than heroin. I think a big warning leaflet should be given to anyone contemplating taking them. Some of the places he mentioned at the back of the book were no longer current, but overall I found the book very helpful. It opened up a whole new arena for help.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2011
Being an alcohol/drug addiction counselor, I am excited to learn about the great work done by Dr. Gant and others in the functional medicine field. They are the great leaders and are pointing the way into the future to solve the problems of addiction and introduce the world to a new paradigm in understanding human suffering, but more radically helping us all to understand the true nature of healing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse