Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on March 23, 2015
A step above home fix it books and provides a great deal of design solutions to many problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
This was a text book from a very difficult class to get through; the text didn't make it any easier. Very technical focus, as site engineering is of course. I did like the examples and found them helpful of successful site design solutions.The older edition, I understand, uses a larger format so if it's illustrations you want, I'd recommend finding that version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2009
Abysmal instructions...
This book seems to assume the reader is already a trained landscape architects reviewing for the LARE exam.
This textbook manages to take rather simple theories and turn them into Quantum physics by the virtue of jargon, verbose explanations, dismal graphics, - and get this: They are No answers to the exercises in this book.
The authors are undoubtedly very knowledgeable regarding Site engineering, but either clueless or indifferent to techniques of effective instruction.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
Site Grading is the foundation of all landscape architecture and yet probably the most difficult and abstract technical element within all of landscape architecture to become aware of, practice and master. Check the LARE pass / fail rates on this topic.

Good luck in finding a better textbook on this challenging yet essential subject if you want to be a minimally competent landscape architect; maybe the simplicity of an earlier edition might help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2012
Only read a little bit of it for a site engineering class, but what I read seemed pretty good. Stuff about calculating slopes, interpolating contours, all kinds of grading stuff. For a method of interpolating contours from a grid of given spot elevations, it shows a more complicated, algebraic way, and a really simple way as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
Got it mainly for school, provides it purpose, but really don't use it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
I think as a textbook accompanying a class, this book might work well, particularly if an answer key to the end-of-chapter problems were available. It is somewhat difficult to use as a self-teaching book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
It could use more step-by-step examples, but I do admit this is probably the best book on the market for site engineering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
It looks like a good book that I can grow into needed.
A bit more than I need right now.
But it was suggested
and I think it was a
good suggestion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse