Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,229 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,227 reviews
on October 11, 2016
I stayed up all night to watch seasons 1 and 2 and laughed quietly. I wonder if Diane Ladd's real-life mothering looked as serene as her semi-detached character portrayal in the series.Laura Dern was pretty convincing as the semi-detached daughter. Apparently the father's suicide when Amy was just a little girl, sent them both mother and daughter off-kilter.

The mother was a grown-up, so she's aware of consequences. Amy is still a little kid, full of exuberance,oblivious to other people's sensibilities and short on impulse control, trying to function in the real world of big people. People who get involved with her wish they hadn't.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
Interesting story line, realistic, very well acted and directed. Laura Dern is superb and very believable; supporting cast adds a lot. Good show.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2017
At first I found this hard to watch because the main character is oblivious to her behavior and is in need of a serious attitude adjustment. I don't know if I would have kept watching but when Luke Wilson's character came into play it definitely drew me in! Viewers are accustomed to watching protagonists we respect so this was a bit weird. It does get better as the season progresses and Season 2 is much better than the first. There are moments where you come to root for everyone regardless of their flaws. Overall I ended up enjoying the story and would've kept watching had there been another season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
So well written, very believable situations. Such a breath of fresh air, compared to the nonsensical unbelievable situations on TV today. Laura Dern is fantastic. I can see why she's a producer she believes in what she is doing and she's putting her money behind it. The tension between her and her former trainee -that took her job- is palpable, you can cut it with a knife, sometimes I find myself looking away from the screen ....I just can't stand the awkwardness and tension between the two of them. Very delightful series. Very original concept, I have a nice that's a hippie and thinks that she can change the world also. More power to her!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
Binge-worthy series that I missed when it came out. A couple of the episodes are particularly memorable, and I have recommended this series to friends and family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
Funny and spot on. Laura Dern does a great job of portraying a character based on a real person in today's culture
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
This is by far one of my favorite shows in Amazon Prime... one of my favorite shows period.
Deep, smart and funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
excellent series well acted and scripted. Laura Dern, luke owens, Dianne Ladd and many of the supporting cast made this a great series to watch,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
Not a bad season, it kind of loses its appeal the later half, looking forward to seeing what the second season holds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
Great performances from Laura Dern, Diane Ladd, and Luke Wilson highlight this touching, funny, quirky, and slightly offbeat drama about a rehabbed & emotionally and mentally reborn woman with a trunk-load of personal issues. It is a bit predictable and does get a little preachy in its idealistic messages sometimes, but the beauty is is that it then goes on to often shatter those very messages and show how flawed life and the characters truly are. It is definitely easy to watch at 30 minutes per episode. Had the creators tried to make it an hour long show, I don't think it would have worked. As it is, the pacing stays fluid and engaging. In my opinion, the best parts are the little monologues narrated by the main character, that often will strike a chord with the viewer, as well as the well acted interactions and conflicts between Amy (Laura Dern) and those from her past.
It's definitely worth a watch if you have 30 or 60 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse