Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
Enochian Evocation of Dr. John Dee, The
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 3, 2016
The book wad great. Everything starts out innocently but John Dee gets real cocky by the end and you end up with little respect for him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 22, 2014
Great product. Exactly what is expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2014
5Stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2014
Book was as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2009
I am pretty well read on the mystical studies, but this book is very hard to understand. I think it might be good for someone very very advanced.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2011
If you're not already, you should be aware that this book is a reprint of The Enochian Magick of Dr. John Dee: The Most Powerful System of Magick in its Original, Unexpurgated Form. The cover and title are completely different (probably due to the change in publisher), but the content within the book is exactly the same. Don't drive yourself crazy seeking a rare, super expensive copy of an out-of-print version when a very affordable copy is within easy reach.

This is an excellent book. If you're looking for a history of John Dee, the book is a little sparse on that topic. The book isn't very self-explanatory at all, in fact. What you're looking at is Dee's grimoire: magick he received from angels, these beings' account of the world and Dee's personal notes about his experiences. There's good wisdom here. However, if you want to learn Enochian magick thoroughly, and in a safe manner, I recommend you study in a school or with a reputable teacher with a long, sound lineage in this field. Frankly, while books are wonderful resources, there is only so much you can glean from them compared to the experiential learning one receives from structured training. You can't teach yourself magick from a book, nor should you try.

This book is still a great secondary reference (much of it being translated into English from Dee's original Latin). I recommend this over most other books on the topic of Enochian magick, as much of their content has unfortunately been modified by modern writers.
33 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 2012
Where some other books, like John Dee's Five Books of Mystery, are great resources for historical information and academic study, their formats tend to not be geared toward practical every day use. That is where this book comes in. This book is an excellent compliment to those for those interested in this field and a great reference to have on hand. Many books on this subject have numerous errors (considering it is based largely of barely legible manuscripts its understandable), but it is obvious (if you read the footnotes) that this author has gone through a lot of trouble to minimize errors in this work.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 2008
I prefer to use Enochian the way it was presented to Dr. Dee. So for me this book is invaluable. This book covers the Magick system of Enochian very well. It's specific, detailed and gives user guidance.

It's also one of the clearest works on the 19 day operation - which is like a self-initiation into the Enochian Energies.

This book used to cost well over a hundred dollars. Thank God it was reprinted, for the rest of us. Geoffrey James created one of the most all encompassing and detailed works on the subject. Later authors have pulled considerably from this work.

If you have an interest in Enochian or want to read a viable approach based on the original system of Dr. Dee - this book is a must have. If you have any questions on Enochian work - feel free to contact me via my Amazon profile.
22 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2013
This book was a great addition to my library. I had made the Holy Table and needed more information on working with the Heptarchia, and I found everything I needed to know in this book. The excerpts from Dee's diaries were incredibly helpful. For those who are wishing to explore this little known system of Enochian Magic, this book is a must have.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 3, 2011
The Enochian Evocation of Dr. John Dee by Geoffrey James is an excellent resource for this system that was given to Dr. John Dee by angels. If this is something you would like to learn more about, this is a must-read for your collection.

The Enochian Evocation of Dr. John Dee is a very detailed book about the material. It is written so it is clear to understand, but it is a highly complex system so reading the material more than once is a must.

Overall, this book is a fantastic intro guide for the beginner seeking information about the Enochian magick system and also those who already practice it. It provides clear information for working with it and also which invitations you should use for certain things you want/require of the angels.

I recommend this book for everyone who is interested in this type of system. If it isn't something that interests you, or you think it goes against your religion, obviously you wouldn't like it. For those that do want to research it though, this is a great book to get you started.

* Thank you to the publisher of The Enochian Evocation of Dr. John Dee, Weiser Books, for providing me with a copy of this book for review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse