Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice 1st Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
ISBN-13: 978-0521498036
ISBN-10: 0521498031
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$3.77 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
Buy new On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$54.99 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
More Buying Choices
19 New from $43.44 23 Used from $3.77
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Prime Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student

$54.99 FREE Shipping. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice
  • +
  • Identity and the Life Cycle
Total price: $68.00
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

"This is a book that knows where it's going and heads there with authority." David Kirshner; Mind, Culture, and Activity: An International Journal

Book Description

The first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method, a flexible, deliberately non-standardized technique for investigating children's thinking. The book aims (1) to show that the clinical interview method, in the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, is superior to standard assessments of children's thinking and (2) to help researchers and practitioners in psychology, education, and related fields learn to conduct clinical interviews and teach the method to students.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 296 pages
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press; 1 edition (November 28, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0521498031
  • ISBN-13: 978-0521498036
  • Product Dimensions: 5.4 x 0.7 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #492,547 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is an excellent and enjoyable book that provides insight into finding out what children actually know. Dr. Ginsburg is a very well-respected expert in the field of children's development of mathematical thinking. Through the use of the Clinical Interview Dr. Ginsburg shows us how to talk to children at a level they understand and with respect for what the child knows. The Clinical Interview allows the researcher to gain insight into the interviewee's mind through the use of questions such as, "How did you know that?" and "If you had to explain this to a classmate, what would you tell them?" Though the questions seem simple, try talking to a six year old about a math problem they just did wrong without a) telling them they're wrong b) asking a question that leads them to the answer you want to hear and c) intimidating them with your "authority." What this technique does is allow the interviewee to speak freely and go in the direction that their thoughts are taking them. What you as the researcher discover is that oftentimes a child who produces the "wrong" answer may actually producing the "right" answer to the question they THOUGHT you were asking*. Through the Clinical Interview you can discover what they child understood and what they thought they were trying to do. The data you get from this technique is unlike any other and Dr. Ginsburg shows that even thinking about this technique will forever change the way you interact/think about children.

*simple example* Interviewer asks child to add two double-digit numbers (23+19, but presented vertically). The child's answer is 150, not 42. By asking the child enough questions about how they got their answer you may discover the child had his rules wrong.
Read more ›
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: child psychology