Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 121 reviews
on February 3, 2014
I read this book after Lou Gerstner's book on Elephants (Who says Elephants Can't Dance?) which was perfect. Gerstner shows how he needs all the influence he can muster to change IBM to become the profitable behemoth it once was. More importantly he shows that this change needs to be facilitated by the upperest management. Ross shows in her book how Enterprise Architecture and corporate change for that matter can only succeed when it is facilitated by the upper management, hence Gerstner's book is very illustrative for Ross' point.

The book is clearly based on real life cases, unfortunately only outlining success stories. But it is based on what can be achieved and more importantly what has been achieved. Making this not an Ivory Tower EA mumbo-jumbo book you find so often.

Clearly dated, the stories, cases, are not at the last maturity level she mentions, and the companies she discusses are all looking for massive business integration by implementing ERP systems. Not something many of us would base our business on these days (2014). New evolutions like Cloud and SOA are not in there. But the story holds true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
I've been interested in and studying the craft of Enterprise Architecture for the past three years and only recently purchased this book because I had read many of the others, this was a mistake.

This book, in my opinion, should have been read first to gain and understanding of why there is a need for EA in the first place. Topics such as selection of the Operating Model, development of the Enterprise Architecture and the Engagement Model are covered in-depth.

What I appreciated even more is this book is the result of years of significant research and backed up by hard numbers. And the numbers never lie.

I would also recommend reading "IT Savvy" after completing this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2011
This is a must read for anyone interested in the Enterprise Architecture domain. Enterprise Architecture As Strategy cuts to the core of the enterprise architecture. Enterprise Architecture is still an emerging practice and there is a lot of literature out there on this subject, but this book does what other books could not do - which is to put the enterprise architecture in the center of a business. Enterprise architecture enables a business to sustain its core competencies and to capitalize on market opportunities in a changing marketplace. The key concept used in the book is the "Operating Model" concept. An enterprise cannot effectively define its enterprise architecture without understanding its operating model. The central idea of the book is to understand the operating model of an enterprise, which is defined as understanding how an enterprise delivers goods and services to its customers. The operating model of an enterprise then guides the business process and process integration standardization requirements. The book defines four operating models - diversification, unification, replication, and coordination. Operating models should be defined by the business and, once defined, they provide a bedrock to the enterprise architecture effots.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
Great book, I read several architecture book, most of them discusses about one of the following: application, infrastructure, security, DB, etc. But this book goes way beyond the software architecture and discusses about how IT architecture must be aligned with the business. The authors nicely explained various case studies to explain the complex concepts easily. So for this is the best enterprise architecture book I read in my life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2010
"Enterprise Architecture As Strategy: Creating a foundation for business execution" presents a compelling case for adopting, advancing, and maturing Enterprise Architecture as a key component in the business strategy. This tightly-written book provides actionable guidance without being overly prescriptive. Jeanne Ross, Peter Weil, and David Roberson base their guidance on extensive business research, academic study, and statistical analysis of real-world business results. The authors illustrate their findings through readable business case studies that business professionals will appreciate.
The authors make a clear case that companies adopting enterprise architecture to build their foundation for business execution can achieve stellar results, and avoid the undesirable consequence of agility-favoring natural selection in the marketplace. They provide a concise and understandable framework for building the foundation for business execution, and remind us to apply patience and provide support while we build architecture maturity and learn from each step in the framework.
The authors set the high-watermark for enterprise architecture books. They reveal how enterprise architecture is at the nexus of business and technology, and how it can and should be used to align IT with the business operating model. This alignment builds synergy throughout the organization. Though not said in as many words, the point is clearly made that even professionals in the IT department must consider themselves as business professionals first and foremost. They are business professionals who know and apply information technology to enable business capabilities.
I highly recommend this book.
__Joseph Starwood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
An easy but informative read. If you're new to the concept of enterprise architecture then you'll learn a lot. If you're just refreshing your skills before diving into evolving your company it will give you that much needed outline to guide your actions
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2006
This book should be on the reading list for CXOs of all types unless your business is untouched by technology. This is a must read for both IT & business folks alike.

The issues discussed in this book resonate strongly with the daily grind at my company. Add to that the fact that this is based on some thorough research from Harvard lends a lot more credibility to this book & I do not hesitate in recommending it to my non technical peers.

It provides a good frame of reference to help you understand the different organizational / IT ecosystems & what sort of characteristics differentiate them. Something to remember before embarking on any enterprise architecture strategy.

It then follows with real life case studies / examples of various such scenarios. I really like the fact that this book is written in a very matter of fact way without the hype that is driving the Enterprise Architects of today insane.

I did reflect a lot upon everything it talks about & also found the core diagrams that it mentions (I think chapter 2/3) really useful. They have served as great discussion starters with business for Tech/Business alignment.

IMO, this book is like a good single grain malt, one that you want to sip very slowly & savor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2013
This book presents a raft of high-quality information about how Enterprise Architecture affects the success of several organizations. The authors summarize real-world research and draw actionable conclusions.

I first encountered this book as a graduate-level textbook in Enterprise Architecture, but I have re-read the book several times in order to find new insights about how other people had worked around problems similar to the ones I had.

This is not a beginner-level book, but experienced managers both inside and outside of IT will find this book an invaluable resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
The book is a great reference and presents Enterprise Architecture by a business point of view . I strongly recommend this book for those who are involved with TOGAF and are looking for something less complex.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2010
The authors make a solid argument that an Enterprise Architecture is a "foundation for execution" that supports the company's strategy. Four stages of maturity are discussed in detail with helpful case studies. A fifth level of maturity is offered up as a vision for the future.

Senior executives and managers across all functions of an enterprise should read this cover to cover. IT management will benefit from the series of questions presented, fueling the discussions between IT and functional leadership. This book certainly helps guide the dialogue which leads to the development of roadmaps for technology, data and processes.

The result of a clearly articulated and well understood enterprise architecture is a foundation for evaluating investments and architecting future systems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse