Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 543 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 679 reviews
on September 6, 2014
My daughter and I visited Alcatraz and were very impressed by the audio program prepared by the National Park Service. Several movies were mentioned and we decided to watch Escape from Alcatraz because it was based on an actual escape. The movie is a little old fashioned according to modern tastes that run to special effects and larger than life characters. We both enjoyed the movie very much. It seemed plausible and showed the "mechanics" of the escape very well. The warden was very mean and some of the inmates seemed perhaps too nice. After all the modern portrayals loud-mouthed, screeching, sexually aggressive, super violent, psychopathic prisoners we see on T.V. and in movies nowadays, these criminals seemed a bit tame.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Who doesn't love a good prison break? Well, I don't know about anyone else, but I sure do. And best of all, this escape actually happened. Frank Morris, played by Clint Eastwood, plans a daring breakout from the country's most secure maximum security prison. He recruits old friends John Anglin, played by Fred Ward, and John's brother, Clarence Anglin, played by Jack Thibeau, and new friend Charlie Butts, played by Larry Hankin and based on real-life Alcatraz prisoner Allen West, in his preparations as they set out to not only escape from the facility but to delay anyone realizing that they were gone, giving themselves a longer head start. While a few (very few) changes were made under the name of "artistic license", this is a film that can be enjoyed as much today as it was back when it came out in 1979. I think filming on the real Alcatraz Island helped, but a lot of credit goes to the actors and filmmakers as well. It can't have been easy to shoot this, whether on a studio set or in the real place. All of the inmates were convincing in their roles, whether major or minor. The escape plan, which remained unchanged from real events, was creative and kept my attention. This is a film that will surely continue to be enjoyed for years to come. Watch it! Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
I looked forward to seeing this movie as I had just come back from a trip to Alcatraz. It was a bit disappointing. I did enjoy seeing the scenes that I remembered, even the colors were right on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
There are films that will hold up thru the passing of time and this is one of them. You will be glued to the screen from beginning to end. A must watch for Clint Eastwood fans
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
I find "Escape" compulsively re-watchable. One of the films in which even the ordinary law-abiding citizen viewer roots for the prisoners from beginning to end. The escape plan is so ingenious, the warden is such a self-important and inhumane person. Tension mounts as the escape plan is threatened by unrelated circumstances. Luck plays a big part. The fact that the film is based on a true story adds a great deal. Casting, performances, pacing and direction are all right on. Taut and tension filled. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
Great transfer to Blu Ray. Bare bones but at least it's on blu!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
Totally enjoyed the movie. I'm a huge fan of Clint Eastwood and never get bored watching any movie he stars in. Escape from Alcatraz portrayed Clint Eastwood's character while incarcerated in prison as a smart, cunning and confident individual. But definitely did not portray himself as arrogant towards the warden and prison guards. The warden was portrayed as someone that was equally cunning so long as he controlled the upper hand obviously. However, prisoners knew how to pull off the escape by impeccable timing and a bit of luck and opportunity. Excellent story portrayal of the movie somewhat based on a true story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2016
We just visited Alcatraz last month and read up on the story of this escape. This movie accurately displayed all we saw and learned about, and was very well done! And for any other tourists who have visited the island, it was so fun to see all that we toured captured in the movie...even the ferry ride.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
Classic that you have to see, especially after visiting Alcatraz Island. You'll notice that the storyline of the movie is pretty similar to what actually happened at Alcatraz. (The Alcatraz tour still shows the paper mache heads in the prison cells)
It's fascinating to hear the theories of where these fugitives went after their escape, and then seeing the movie's perspective of it. (And it still blows my mind that this feat was actually accomplished!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
Without "Escape From Alcatraz," there would be no "Shawshank." This is a true story. Casting is marvelous. What an amazing story of determination, intelligence, and endurance. There is enough circumstantial evidence to suggest the trio may have survived. I love prison break stories because they give me hope in tough times. My father taught me that when driving, you always have to look for an escape route. I think the same holds true in all of life. You can find a way out of your circumstances if you put your mind to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse