Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Escape
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 2, 2006
This is a reissue of the 1996 remastered edition along with the 4 bonus tracks. I bought this hoping that it had been newly remastered, but the sound is identical to the 1996 cd. "The Essential Journey" from 2001 is louder and has a better mix (as in you can hear the instruments better and clearer) than this 2006 cd. The live tracks on this cd can all be gotten on the 2006 "Live in Houston" cd and the sound on that cd is better, clearer, and louder than on this reissue cd ("Reissue" is written on this cd wrapper not "remaster"). I'm a bit of a fiend for remasters and I did play them "side by side" and can hear no difference from the 1996 to the 2006. The only true new thing on here is "La Raza Del Sol".

So this is great if all you've got is the original cd release, but do realize that this is not a 2nd remaster. Get the "Essential" disc if you want that; it's the closest there is and it does sound better than the 1st edition remasters. Of course, not all the songs are on there that I'm sure you want. I'd like to see all their albums remastered like the "Essential" is. But oh well, it's not here.
88 comments| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2005
While I am not the biggest fan of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, I do believe that the band Journey is a Hall of Fame band. One thing that the Hall of Fame seems to like in bands is stability among the composition of the band. This is something that has always been a problem for Journey. Journey was originally a spin-off band from Santana formed by Keyboardist/Vocalist Gregg Rolie and guitarist Neal Schon. They started out as a Progressive Rock band, but eventually would transform themselves into a mainstream band. This was due in part to two key additions - lead vocalist Steve Perry and keyboardist Jonathan Cain. Perry would join Journey in 1978 and become the lead vocalist on "Infinity" that would feature the mainstream Rock songs "Wheel in the Sky" and "Lights". The band would then release two more albums and was slowly beginning to establish themselves as s commercial force in Rock. By 1981, the band would put together what would be its strongest lineup when Jonathan Cain would replace longtime keyboardist Gregg Rolie. Journey now had its strongest lineup in Perry, Cain, Schon, Bassist Ross Valory, and Drummer Steve Smith. It would be this lineup that would form the basis for "Escape". This would be the album that would establish Journey as legitmate Superstars in the Rock and Pop World.

The additions of Perry and Cain are important because they were not just hired hands - they would become the main songwriting nucleus for Journey. Perry and Cain would collaborate on the songwriting for all ten songs on "Escape". Eight of those 10 songs would include Neal Schon. Perry and Schon actually started collaborating on the "Infinity" album. Part of the reason why "Escape" would be the album to put Journey over the top was the addition of Cain. Not only is he a sensational keyboard player - but he is one terrific songwriter as well as guitar player. The quality of the songwriting and music got much better following his inclusion into the band.

As mentioned, Journey started out as a Progressive Rock band. By 1981, they had become an early "Arena Rock" band. I classify "Arena Rock" as a good mix of Hard Rock and Ballads. "Escape" has all of the elements for "Arena Rock" and seems to do a good job at splitting the Hard Rock and Ballads evenly. Journey also perfects the "power ballad" - a good mix of soft music with its harder Rock moments. Steve Perry is one powerful vocalist who really shines on this collection. Schon's strong guitar playing gives the band a hard edge when needed And of course - they have the powerful songwriting trio. For the most part, the band does it with a very basic formula - just playing Rock and Roll. The quintet doesn't rely on horns, external musicians, or guest vocalists. They create all of the sound on this collection. I find it ironic that this album achieved commercial success during a time where the mainstream music world was heading toward synth-pop.

"Don't Stop Believin": This has become a legendary song. It starts out as a ballad, but grows into a harder Rock song. Cain's keyboards with Perry's vocals provide a terrific opening. Slowly Schon's guitar gets folded in for the harder edge. The lyrics are incredible as it deals with people searching for love.

"Stone in Love": It is going to be Schon's guitar that is going to be the dominant presence on this track. Most likely Cain also contributed guitars to this track. This is your classic "reminiscent" look back to the good old "young romantic days".

"Who's Crying Now": This is probably Journey's best power-ballad. Cain's keyboards provide a nice intro again and Perry shows outstanding vocal ranges on this track. Steve Smith has some power drum moments too. Neal Schon gets a nice guitar solo toward the end of the song.

"Keep on Runnin": This one starts off with what best be described as a classic guitar jam between Schon and Cain. Smith provides what can best be described as thundering drums. Perry's vocals are great, but the rest of the band provides terrific background vocals.

"Still They Ride": This is more of a classic ballad. This song will move you as you listen to it. This song starts out as a narrative with a bit of a reminiscent theme in this song as well. Cain's Keyboards set the tone for a good part of the song.

"Escape": This is a harder Rock song. A short guitar jam starts this song out. While this might not be the catchiest song, this song has some great lyrics. As the song starts "He's just a boy out of school; Livin his world like he wants to" - thus providing the impetus for "Escape". Listen to the Guitar solo about 2 minutes into the song - has a bit of the flavor of Ted Nugent's "Catch Scratch Fever".

"Lay it Down": The harder Rock edge continues on this song. Once again, heavy guitar work. Perry demonstrates some great range. Listen to how he belts out "Higher, higher, higher, ringin' in my head"

"Dead or Alive": More hard Rock guitar to start out with. Cain's Keyboards make a return on this song with subtle Jazz-like sound to it throughout the song (the only place where they deviate from a "basic" Rock formula). Not the catchiest song, but not bad.

"Mother, Father": Falls into the power-ballad category. Great lyrics as it deals with an estranged son trying to connect with his parents.

"Open Arms": This has become a classic ballad. Not my favorite Journey ballad, but certainly not a weak one either. Probably hurt by being overplayed on conventional radio.

The liner notes fold out and contain all of the lyrics and musician credits. Overall, this is Journey at their best - probably the album to have if you are a Journey fan or looking to get into them.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Twenty-five years ago, "Escape" went to No. 1 with three top 10 hits. It represented a new beginning of rock 'n' roll after the implosion of disco. Emphasizing strength and freedom of youth, survival of love and new hope, it became a classic of that era that still holds up. Every song is a keeper with fantastic vocals and instrumental hooks. Despite poor critical reviews, this album went on the sell over 10 million copies and is still a standard staple in rock & roll history!

Note: This is a Stereo SACD and not a Multi-Channel Surround, however, the sound is amazingly crisp.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2010
Avoid all of these Journey remasters/ reissues and find the original non-remastered CD's. Why? Please see below the next paragraph.

FYI: some of these Journey Legacy reissues have new remastering that is worse than the previous 1996 remastering while some have the 1996 remastering:
Infinity (not remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues, old 1996 remastering)
Evolution (not remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues, old 1996 remastering)
Departure (remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues)
Escape (not remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues, old 1996 remastering)
Frontiers (remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues)

This was an amazing CD with lots of great songs and the most natural-sounding production of any Journey album. As with the albums before it, there's some great, underrated guitar work, especially the solos.

I initially thought this was a much better, fuller sounding version. I even initially posted a favorable review. All of the Journey remasters and reissues seemed to sound great and better than the originals, until I realized something is missing. The sound is very compressed.

When I first listened to the CD, it seemed fuller sounding. It seemed great...at first. I started to wonder why I began listening to the remaster less and less. Then I dug out the original CD. I realized how instruments that jumped out on the original now just all blend together on the remaster. Drum hits that popped out before are softened and now in the background along with every other peak, making for a very generic, modernized and cloudy sound. The definition and clarity are gone.

Feel can be hard to describe or pinpoint, but the feel and excitement of great albums like this are destroyed by this kind of mastering that has become the norm for new albums and reissues alike. That feeling that made you had with the original will eventually (or instantly) disappear with this version.

It makes no difference how loud or full the CD sounds compared to the original. When they eliminate all of the peaks, the music overall loses its power. All of the accents are gone.

Unfortunately, the record companies (and sometimes the artists) simply want their discs to be as loud as possible. The only way to do that is to compress the music by lowering the peaks and bringing up the valleys.

It's easy to think initially "it's bigger, fuller and louder" but over time you'll wonder why you just don't enjoy it quite as much anymore. The punch is taken out and gone. Parts of songs that used to be loud compared to other parts are relatively reduced in volume and there's no longer those big contrasts.

If you don't believe it can be that bad, for a great example and side by side comparison, search YouTube for two videos titled "Loudness War is killing music" and "The Loudness War: Iron Maiden (Part 2)". (Neither are my videos). You'll see and hear what I'm talking about. One compares Dire Straits' Money for Nothing from the original CD vs. the remastered CD and the other compares Iron Maiden's Wasted Years from the original CD vs. the remaster. It is the exact same effect as on this remaster.

Here's some other compressed remasters I've wasted money on that should be avoided. I listened to these for a long time before I realized what was missing from the music. This is by no means a complete list. More remasters these days are overly compressed than not. Simply, these are some of the ones that I own and am really glad I never ditched the original CD's. These are albums that I love and do not just casually listen to:

AC/DC:
All Atlantic and Sony remasters

Anthrax:
Among the Living Deluxe Edition 2009 remaster CD/DVD

Black Sabbath:
Ozzy years Black Box

Def Leppard:
Pyromania Deluxe Edition
Hysteria Deluxe Edition
((I haven't bought the Adrenalize Deluxe, but given the compression of the other 2 above, I won't).

Helloween:
All Sanctuary deluxe remasters with bonus tracks

Iron Maiden:
All 1998 remasters

Journey:
All 1996 and 2006 and 2008 remasters, reissues and special market releases

Metallica:
All the early CD's that were secretly remastered (they are not labeled as remasters; any with "EMI Ventues" on the back tray insert are the recent pressings that are remastered)

Ozzy Osbourne:
Every remaster including:

Blizzard of Ozz 2010 remaster

Diary of a Madman 2010 remaster and 2010 Legacy edition

30th Anniversary box set remasters (are the same as above)

All 2002 remasters:
Blizzard, Diary, Bark, Tribute, No Rest, No More Tears, Ozzmosis, Ozzman Cometh

All 1995 remasters (not the worst, but still compressed):
Blizzard, Diary, Speak, Bark, Ultimate, Tribute, No Rest, No More Tears, Live and Loud

(All that's left for Ozzy are the original CD issues, which are the ones to get)

REO Speedwagon:
Hi Infidelity Anniversary remaster

Supertramp:
Breakfast in America 2002 and 2010 remasters (can't comment on the other titles).
However, the Japan-only 2013 Platinum CD is simply stunning. It sounds three-dimensional and incredible. That is how a CD should sound and it has received accolades along with other Platinum releases that Universal has done in Japan. (Note: if your CD player cannot play CD-R's, according to Universal, it won't play a Platinum disc).

Van Halen:
All 2000 remasters

Whitesnake:
1987 (self-titled) Deluxe Edition 2010 remaster CD/DVD

1987 (self-titled)/Slip of the Tongue Axe Killer label 2000 remaster 2CD

Here I Go Again The Whitesnake Collection 2CD of Slide/1987/Slip

Hope all of that helps. You have been warned. Don't waste your money on these remasters/reissues. Get the original non-remaster if you really want to enjoy this music the way it should sound.

If you think this remaster, or the other remasters listed above are great, like I used to, seriously just check out those eye (and ear) opening videos mentioned above.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2001
I LOVE this cd. My favorite cd of all time. I've been a professional musician for over 20 years and these guys are the real deal. I'm sorry for some of you that it isn't "dark", and they made sure the guitars were in tune, and Steve Perry can sing (this is now called 'over produced'), unlike bands of today who screech their low monotones. I'm sorry if that offends you in some way. Journey is not trying to make a political statement. They are just writing about things that everybody thinks about. Sure, it's commercial sounding, but that doesn't make it bad, that just gives it greater listening appeal to more people. Now, to pick on the rest of you: I didn't grow up in the 60's. I grew up in the 70's and 80's. Yes, I think the Beatles are fantastic, but if I were left on a desert island, I'd rather have "Escape" than any Beatles or Jimi album. Sorry! Journey is just what I'd rather listen to. Every band has some crap songs. However, I think that Escape is 99% good music. The only song I wouldn't give a '10' to is "Dead Or Alive", though it is still good. Sometimes more artsy stuff like Jimi or the Beatles can get hard to listen to, especially some of John Lennon's wierd crap. I appreciate ground breaking artists like the Beatles and Jimi Hendrix, but music has evolved. The bottom line is I'd give Escape 5 stars and Revolver 4. Sorry, it is just what I like more. Now, please re-read the title for this review...........
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2009
This album was the defined turning point for Journey. This album spawned off two tours of the album, a live album from the tour later released in 2006, and even their own video game on the Atari 2600.

This album got Journey a number one spot on the Billboard's Pop Albums and with 10 tracks on the album, 4 singles came from this album which were, "Who's Crying Now", "Still They Ride", "Open Arms", and the band's most recognizable song, "Don't Stop Believin'". All of them broke the Billboard's top 20 with 3 in the top 10, and 2 in the top 5. Several non-single tracks like Stone in Love, Mother Father, and Escape had their own popularity and most have found their way on Journey's compilation albums like Time3, Greatest Hits Live, and The Essential Journey. Even the other 3 "Dead or Alive", "Lay it Down", and "Keep on Runnin'" all have a special place in the heart of the album and the fans.

Escape as you can tell from several other reviews of mine including this one, is my favorite album because it has most of the Journey classics being "Don't Stop Believin'", "Stone in Love", "Who's Crying Now", "Still the Ride", "Escape", and my favorite rock ballad of all time "Open Arms". The Album also just never gets old for me as I've listened to it dozens of times.

The reissue features another classic hit from Time3, "La Raza Del Sol" which has a more Latin feel to it like Santana which is a rare occasion but definately worth a listen. Closing the reissue is the 3 big singles from Escape from the Live in Houston album which are "Don't Stop Believin'", "Open Arms", and "Who's Crying Now".

Like with other classic rock albums, Escape ages well and whether if your a fan of Journey or arena rock, you should welcome this album to your CD collection with "Open Arms".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2007
This one brings back so many memories from the early 80's! That is what I think is the best part of listening to this CD!

My favorite track is "stone in love" because of the 2nd half of the song's rock montage! It always gets me psyched up for anything! Not to forget the rest of the tracks, which range from great love ballads to simple blues rock. I highly recommend this one, which is Journey's greatest CD!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2006
Released in 1981, "Escape" went on to multi-platinum status and solidified Journey as one of the top acts of the 1980s arena rock era. Led by Steve Perry's multi-octave vocals, Neil Schon's searing guitar, Jonathan Cain's melodic keyboards, and Steve Smith's booming drums, Journey mesmerized millions of fans with their combination of vocals and insturmentals.

This CD is packed with great songs, and three, "Open Arms", "Don't Stop Believin", and "Who's Crying Now", landed in the Billboard top ten. My favorite song on the CD is the title track, "Escape". This song really shows off Neil Schon's guitar and Steve Perry is once again in top form on lead vocals.

This CD has stood the test of time and has remained popular for well over twenty years. I give this CD my highest recommendation. Having been in high school when this album was first released, it brings back a lot of memories for me. Listen to "Escape" and hear Journey's best work.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2007
I started typing this review as Stone in Love from the Summit DVD concert is playing on my TV. We are on Keep on Running right now. This album is I think as close to perfect as any of the hundreds of CD's I have. Almost 30 years after it was initially released it sounds as good, fresh, energetic, etc. as I recall hearing it as a boy in my early teens. I think this was the "hungry" band at their realized peak and Frontiers was the follow up. But with Frontiers Journey was at the top and trying to stay there. Frontiers has an aged feel to me, but Escape...WOW....With La Raza Del Sol added you won't be dissiapointed either.....Journey para vida....Journey for life
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2001
Some friends of mine have never understood my fascination with music or the hundreds of CD's, LP's, and cassettes I have collected over the years. When I explain to them 'why', I tell
them by explaining the tears that suddenly appear in my eyes when
I listen to "Mother,Father" off of this incredible album.
Critical acclaim has been very rare for Journey and after listening to this album, one would wonder why critics have such
a 'high regard' in the music world. From the sweeping grandeur of
"Don't Stop Believin", I was transported into this album as a teenager. Steve Perry's voice reflects the sorrow and joy that he has encountered in his own life, and the prestige of a recording remains one that allows you to feel the inspiration of the artists. Neil Schon and Jonathan Cain, as always, are true to their craft: Neil's guitar work shines throughout complemented
by Jonathan's soaring and subtle keyboards.
Forget everything you have heard or have known about this band.
Listen to the agonizing soul expressed in "Still They Ride", the rebellious spirit exploding from "Escape", or the carefree memories of our youth from "Stone In Love". If you still find no inner connection, let "Mother,Father" roam loudly through your speakers in a darkened, candlelit room...
Critics? Well, I believe we all are regardless of our 'rank' in the music business..Respect is given where respect is earned..
"Escape" has earned mine...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here