Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Over 2 Million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items shipped same or next working day from the UK.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Essential Collection Import

4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, September 9, 2002
"Please retry"
$21.19 $7.24

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

UK budget-price compilation for one of the most influential & innovative vocalists of the 20th Century - a fact confirmed by Elvis Presley, Jackie Wilson & Smokey Robinson. This unique chronological collection features the original recordings of his MGM, Mercury, Deram & Decca tracks alongside noteworthy recordings of earlier Dominoes & Drifters hits. 18 tracks. 2002.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sixty Minute Man
  2. The Bells
  3. Money Honey
  4. Such A Night
  5. Without Love
  6. I Told Myself A Lie
  7. Twice As Nice
  8. Lets Try Again
  9. Think Me A Kiss
  10. Ta Ta
  11. Ill Love You Till The Cows Come Home
  12. I Never Knew
  13. Lover Please
  14. Little Bitty Pretty One
  15. Deep In The Heart Of Harlem
  16. Crying Wont Help You Now
  17. Only A Fool
  18. Book Of Memories

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 9, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Universal UK
  • ASIN: B00006IIWZ
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #703,751 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Clyde McPhatter Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Zub VINE VOICE on February 12, 2003
Format: Audio CD
Clyde McPhatter, after leaving the Drifters, had nearly two dozen pop charting singles during the late 50's and early 60's. This collection gathers up the top-100 sides from his stint at MGM and Mercury led by the big hits "Ta Ta" and "Lover Please". However, none of his work for Atlantic appears here and that belies the title "Essential Collection". There are five tunes here including "Sixty Minute Man" and "Money Honey" that he did while with the Dominoes and Drifters but these are re-recordings, not the original ones.

Beyond these shortcomings, this collection does offer the first legitimate gathering of his later singles. All nine of his pop-charting MGM and Mercury singles are here along with the aforementioned rerecordings and a few non-charting singles from the later 60's. If you complement this piece with the Atlantic McPhatter compilation CD, then you have a fairly comprehensive gathering of McPhatters's singles.

Sound quality here is generally good with tracks 1-5 (the re-recordings),10,12-15,17,18 in stereo and the remainder in mono. Though brief, the liner notes booklet does contain some background info on McPhatter's career.

Overall, a decent piece that completes the availability of McPhatter's hits on CD. The biggest complaint here would be the notation on the booklet cover touting "18 original recordings...." which is just misleading since the early recordings are not the Drifters originals.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category