Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Decluttr Store
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.25
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Essential Selection, Vol. 1

4.0 out of 5 stars 53 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, May 16, 2000
$24.94 $1.93

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

Fatboy Slim and Paul Oakenfold, two of the most famous DJs in the world and kings of big beat and house, respectively, are supremely showcased in this double-CD collection. The Essential Selection, Vol. 1 glorifies each mixmaster's equal, yet mutually exclusive talents in roof raising. The back-to-back discs are an enlightening example of the yin and yang of club music; Fatboy Slim's grounded, drier, giddier expressions of overlapping funk and disco juxtapose Oakenfold's spatial, entrancing continuum supplemented with buzzing, flatulent bass lines, and celestial synths. Both DJs are experts in flow, building beats seamlessly into climactic moments of frenzied, adrenaline-fueled euphoria, then swinging the vibe down again with the subtlety and patience of a free-falling feather. No doubt Fatboy Slim is known for his deliberate lack of subtlety stylistically, but when placed in this context, immediately compared to Oakenfold's ethereal grooves, it's evident that Stormin' Norman possesses copious finesse. Because of their stylistic polarity, like platinum and gold, these DJs shine with matched but multihued brilliance, and like soil and sun, are indispensable components of a diverse dance music ecology. --Beth Massa

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Walter Wanderley - Summer Samba
  2. Armand Van Helden - Necessary Evil
  3. Alan Braxe - Vertigo (Virgo Edit)
  4. Hardy Hard - Funky Music
  5. Major Force - Return of the Original Art Form
  6. Ceasefire V. Deadly Avenger - Evil Knievel
  7. Art of Noise - Metaforce
  8. Size 9 - I'm Ready
  9. Fatboy Slim - Everybody Loves a Carnival
  10. Fatboy Slim - Jack it Up (DJ Delite)
  11. The Chemical Brothers - The Private Psychedelic Reel
  12. Soul of a Man - Beween the Eyes
  13. DJ Stew Feat. The Buddha Monks - Funky Fresh
  14. Mr. Spring - Blaxxtraxx3 (Funky Nassau)
  15. Mr X & Mr Y - 1956
  16. Scanty Sandwich - Because of You
  17. Underworld - Born Slippy
  18. Groove Armada - At the River

Disc: 2

  1. Jaya - Precession (Subterranean EP)
  2. Luzon - The Baguio Track
  3. The Unknown - The Spirit
  4. Mono Culture - Free (Extended Vocal Mix)
  5. Perfect State - Perfect State (Original Mix)
  6. Brainchild - Symmetry C (Lange Breakbeat Remix)
  7. Skip Raider Featuring Jada - Another Day
  8. Jan Johnston - Flesh (Tilt Mix)
  9. Solar Stone - Seven Cities
  10. Z2 - I Want You
  11. Philippe Van Mullem - Secret Folder (Pt. 1 & 2)
  12. Moogwai - Viola (Original Mix)

Product details

  • Audio CD (May 16, 2000)
  • Original Release Date: May 16, 2000
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino
  • ASIN: B00004S7LD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 53 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #187,754 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on August 17, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on May 18, 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on July 23, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on May 24, 2000
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
on August 14, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on October 5, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on March 3, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on August 21, 2010
Format: Audio CD
1 helpful vote