BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 4, 2016
Stevie Ray Vaughan was a fabulous guitarist & singer. His band was tight & powerful. This collection of songs is fabulous. If only Stevie hadn't gotten on the helicopter, we'd then still be amazed by his talent as he has gotten sober 4 or so years beforehand & would certainly have continued to make great rock and roll. I purchased this collection for my granddaughter on her 4th birthday. She's in Dallas & thought Vaughan version of "Mary had a Little Lamb" would be good way to introduce her to Texas boogie rock and roll.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2017
This 2-CD compilation is great and really gives a great retrospective of Stevie Ray Vaughan. The songs are in chronological order which I love, because then you can always see how an artist evolves through the years. I had the 1995 Greatest Hits CD but this has a lot more songs and sounds even better! Great Blues CD! Includes live tracks and is just great for when you're in the mood for some good old-fashioned Blues Guitar! I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Why is it that the most talented leave us too soon? Hendrix, John Lennon, Freddie Mercury, John Bonham....and Stevie Ray.
The array of songs is interesting and varyed; spanning most of his career. His early works with David Bowie are not featured; however, it is quite logical to see (hear) how quickly he developed such an unmistakable "vibe". I swear, if he were here with us now, he and Jimi and Frank Marino would be writing music together.
One of the best buys I ever made from Amazon Music by far ! Besides that he is drop dead sexy.

The Phoenix
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
I'm not sure exactly how to describe Mr Vaughn. He is a mix of story and blues and the acoustics are positively mind blowing! So if you haven't heard of him or even if you own other CDs by him this is excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
through the years i've collected every one of these SRV greats , the problem being to get them i had to grab a lot of abums to collect them all. this collection is in my oppinion really "The essntial SRV..." . in saying essential i mean you get basicly all the comercial greats as well as some not so well known ( to some) gems , and some scorching live performances that in my oppinion is where Stevie really shines. getting to hear a true bluesman play it raw is where it's at ! Stevie was known to say when asked about being one of the greats ,stuff like ' i dont know about that..i just play..' and to me that kind of sums it up . though i have no clue as to how he wrote out his music it all sounds as if he is just playing it then and there and from the heart..i know there has to be at least some technical ability involved but the emotion put forth in Stevies playing makes you forget your listening to just a song. i am not embaressed to admit many a time while listening to be over whelmed with the pure genius and talent that i shed a tear. just the idea of such a tortured talent finally getting free of his demons to lose his life so early and unexpectably is sureal. he was a guitarists guitarist in that in the way he used the likes of greats before him as inspiration he will be inspiring future greats for rest of time. now thats saying something !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
I can see why this is called "The Essential..." and is one of his top rated and most popular recordings. It has all of his most well known pieces...plus..one of my new favorite now...Riviera Paradise, which, I think, is some of the most soothing blues guitar I have ever experienced!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
It's Stevie Ray--how could it be anything but great? Sound seems to be good. Just wish he were still around kicking it for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
Mr. Oak Cliff never ceases to amaze me, must be in the mood however or it runs too fast for chillin to the music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
OH yea, great music. Stevie is great. Amazon makes it so easy to buy and down load music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2017
The best that blues music has ever seen. Gift blues a chance with this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Original Album Classics
$19.15
The Real Deal: Greatest Hits Volume 2
$5.61

Need customer service? Click here