Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: CD case is clean and sharp. Booklet clean and sharp. ABSOLUTELY NO SCRATCHES! CDs are like new with no marks, etc. Email for pics before purchase if desired. Customer satisfaction builds our business.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 16, 2000
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

Jacopo Peri's Euridice was written for the marriage festivities in Florence in 1600 of Marie de' Medici and Henri IV of France, Peri used as his text a poem by Ottavio Rinuccini that tells the familiar tale of Orpheus and his bride. To improve the story's suitability for a marriage celebration, in this version the gods allow the lovers to live happily ever after. The earliest opera for which the music has survived, Euridice displayed a new musically enhanced and heightened form of speech that allowed a solo voice to move the story forward and respond to its dramatic needs. But there are two problems. Typically for its time, Euridice is entirely in the form of declamatory recitatives accompanied by basso continuo, with stylized characters, no true arias, and little sustained melody, and thus it becomes tedious to modern ears. Also, while the singers are excellent, the orchestra is dreary and the production as a whole lacks energy and vitality. The set will be valuable to those interested in the history of opera, less so to others. --Alex Morin

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Euridice, opera: Prologue: Sinfonia a 5
  2. Euridice, opera: Prologue: 'Io che d'alti sospir'
  3. Euridice, opera: Prologue: Sinfonia a 6
  4. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Ninfe che i bei crin d'oro'
  5. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Donne ch'ai miei lamenti'
  6. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Al canto al ballo'
  7. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Antri ch'ai miei lamenti'
  8. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Nel pur ardor de la più bella stella'
  9. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Lassa che di spavento'
  10. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Per quel vago boschetto'
  11. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Cruda morte'
  12. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'S'Appennin nevoso il tergo'
  13. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'Se fato invido e rio'
  14. Euridice, opera: Scene 1: 'A te qual tu ti sia degli alti Numi'

Disc: 2

  1. Euridice, opera: Scene 2: 'Scorto da immortal guida'
  2. Euridice, opera: Scene 2: 'Funeste piagge'
  3. Euridice, opera: Scene 2: 'Ond' è cotanto ardire'
  4. Euridice, opera: Scene 2: 'O Re nel cui sembiante'
  5. Euridice, opera: Scene 2: 'Poi che gli eterni imperi'
  6. Euridice, opera: Scene 3: 'Già dal bel carro ardente'
  7. Euridice, opera: Scene 3: 'Gioite al canto mio'
  8. Euridice, opera: Scene 3: 'Biond' arcier che d'alto monte'

Product details

  • Performer: Bianca Simone, Marisa Pugina, Sylva Pozzer, Alessandro Carmignani, Luca Dordolo, et al.
  • Conductor: Anibal Cetrangolo
  • Composer: Jacopo Peri
  • Audio CD (September 16, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Pavane
  • ASIN: B000001MT7
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,353,630 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers