Industrial Deals HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. Get 10% back on select Bang & Olufsen products Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on January 18, 2016
What could have been a useful jig just hasn't been well thought out and ends up being basically useless. I wanted this for mounting 38N Blum hinges but there are several issues.

1. The picture shown is upside down, it goes the other way up and it's the edge of the screws that hold the edge of the door, not the nice big plastic piece.
2. Even with the screws all the way in there is still too much gap meaning the hole is too far in. All of my doors have been drilled with the hole closer to the edge so this can't be adjusted to match them.
3. The small holes shown aren't drill holes for the mounting screws, you have to drill those yourself. They helpfully put little guide dots for half a dozen hinges, none of which match the industry standard Blum 38N Euro Hinges, so you now have a series of unhelpful bumps to push your guide point off center.
4. Where you drill the mounting holes is much thinner underneath so doesn't go all the way down to the door, so if you use a vix bit it can still angle and create a mis-aligned hole.
5. It really needs a built in locking clamp.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 14, 2017
My cabinets are all edge mount so I only needed this for the doors, the rim of the screws don't offer much to hang the template on the edge of the door so I added a backer with a scale and bit holder to the template and now it works great.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 18, 2012
Takes the guess work and measuring out of installing Euro hinges. I've used this jig on 12 cabinet doors so far and it works great. In fact, the default setting for the location of the hole worked just fine with my Euro hinges. One thing to note: The jig is made of hard plastic and as I drill the hole with a forster bit it starts to wear away at the inside hole of the jig. Not a big deal, but eventually the jig may not be so perfectly round. Well worth the price as it is a timesaver.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2013
The jig does the job. I would buy again.
For a first time user the instructions were alright, but some of the steps could be explained better.
If you have never installing an euro style concealed hinge you will make mistakes to start with.
Use scrap material the same thickness of your doors to test drill in.
Mount the hinge in the test board then mount on the cabinet frame.
Keep test drilling until you get a hinge hole setback placement that will work for your cabinet.
Sometimes the published setback distance for the hinge hole from the door edge is not correct.
Take your time to get everything right then drill the doors.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2016
For something that is made for aligning a European style hinge it didn't quite work out. The main part was spaced correctly but the Forstner bit I own didn't quite fit. The jig seemed like about 1 mm too small for the bit. The screw holes did not line up to the hinges I had but that was an easy fix though it still doesn't bode well for this product.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2016
Seems like a good working jig but my forstner bit wouldn't fit. I broke out the micrometer and found out in mm it should be 34.93 but was actually closer to 34.5. My bit was about a .25mm to big for the actual size so I sanded it out and it works fine now. Just be wear it might not fit your bit straight from the box.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2016
I purchased this when I ordered Fitside inset cabinet hinges: Fitslide E3-17 Concealed Clip On Soft Close Hydraulic Inset Hinges for Frameless Cabinet. The jig was suggested in the "Frequently bought together" section. The hole drilling instructions are for an overlay hinge, and the required hinge hole to door edge dimensions is 1 mm less than the jig supports. I made my own jig using two pieces of scrap wood. The hinges work great BTW.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 23, 2016
easier to just make one with the same drill you use to drill the holes i though it would work to line up the hinges that do not use screws to hold them on it will not
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2016
Unfortunately the one I received did not open at all. I was unable to use it to properly place the forstner the proper distance from the edge of the board.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 2016
Terrible... Center hole was too small even though this jig is supposed to be standard 35mm. Also the small screw holes to drill you pilots were also off.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse