Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Europe: A History
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 18, 2016
Very informative
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2016
Very detailed and objective. However, it's a pity that it wasn't updated past the late 90's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2013
For what I have read so far: and even though I am a fast reader - it takes time to read and think about - but so far it is quite thought provoking and excellent. It is long but I will enjoy it all I am sure. And I will learn a great deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 6, 2015
exactly as described and very quick service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 17, 2014
A wonderful, entertainingly written book bringing together a raft of historiography on nearly every aspect of European culture, the shank of Western culture, which is, of course, America's. Finally I have a substitute for Palmer & Colton, and the AP-standard texts that cost 10 times as much. And with Davies at hand, I can show the students how Napoleon can be judged less important than his contemporary Beethoven.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 8, 2013
This book,"Europe", is a masterpiece and even though printed in 1996,i has not only kept current with anthropology and ancient anthropology that i have seen in any other book.The only caveat i have is that i wish Mr.Davies would have revised the book to continue european history post 1989.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 2, 2012
Full of detail and brimming with facts Davies presents them in a such a way that makes the book a surprisingly enjoyable and addictive read.

Highly recommend the book. It should be on the school curriculum.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2017
Excellent history of the American Revolution in 1776. Outstanding analysis of George Washington's critical role and the delicate balance that led to America's independence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2014
An outstanding book of whole european history, it gives a complete view from stone age to post communism. Rich on details and reference great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2011
Here is a book you want available to you for brief reference or to dip into for
fascinating facts and insights about European history. Well written. A genuine delight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse