Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$28.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 782 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,859 reviews
on April 29, 2013
The film travels well worn paths but I found it to be entertaining. Ignoring the gobbledegook, the so-called scientific explanations, the cast made it come to life. For me, at any rate, clarity as to why things were happening, save for the theme, that the devil made me do it, never was achieved, but I did get the idea: the ship was out to perpetrate great bodily harm on the rescue crew which came to investigate what had made it disappear years before (and reappear now).
Sam Neil and Lawrence Fishburne head the cast and do what they can to make the manifestations of evil apparent, with Neill bearing the brunt of the need for a certain amount of overacting to make real the impact of the invisible. The remainder of the cast reacts suitably to the terrible and unknown forces which are tearing them apart.
I wouldn't want to lay out too much dough for the discs now (there is an entire disc of extra's), but at something like the current 'used' rates, it is a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
If you are into Science Fiction you need this movie! It's one of those movies you will watch and watch again and find yourself quoting lines or at least I do. The quality on blu ray is incredible which does the film justice as it is pretty effects driven. Sam Neil is great as is Lawrence Fishburne and the rest of the cast. I thought this was a well known movie because I have been a fan since the first time I saw it but to most its one of those diamond in the rough films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2017
this is a good movie, have seen it lots of times. good acting, script and sets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2014
but don't take my word for it. there's a reason everyone else has been harping on about this movie, because it set a new standard. in a genre (horror) where virtually everything is worthless shlock, anything that can make you sit up and have fun is worth owning. spoilers ahead: i would like to point out that i distinctly remember a scarred weir being under the mask at the end, not cooper, then it cuts to credits. if you were looking for that version like i was since that wasn't on the vhs version or the tv version, this isn't it. in fact i wonder if that ever happened or if i cheerily imagined it. this movie probably won't do anything you've never seen before, but that's ok. it doesn't those things better which is why you should watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
Wish they hadn't thrown away the cutting room floor, yet this is an excellent release
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
Great scifi space epic. The ship Event Horizon was on a deep space mission then disappeared. Seven years later, a distress signal from the ship is received on Earth. Larry Fishburne's team is sent to investigate. Sam Niel is the Event Horizon's creator and joins the team. No violence but lots of gory scenes and implied evil. Very intriguing with good effects and high production values.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2017
Item received in good condition and works well. BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
Starts off so well... and then just completely loses it. The movie was good then all of a sudden I found myself in some fantasy horror movie that reminded me of "Hellraiser". There was so much they could have done with the concept, and this could have been the "Interstellar" of it's day had they capitalized. I guarantee you'll like the first half, but hate or be confused about the second. SO SO DISAPPOINTED.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
What an amazing movie. One of my favorites from college and I had to buy it. This is a story about a crew that boards a spaceship that is haunted. It starts out a little slow but becomes unbelievably entertaining. Lawrence Fishburne and Sam Neil are both extraordinary in this movie. Who doesn't want to watch a movie about a haunted spaceship soaring in space? Draw the curtains, make some popcorn and make sure you have someone with you. Sit back and enjoy If you're a fan of scifi and horror movies I highly recommend this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
This film baldly plagiarizes Alien and 2001 Space Odessey. But the rip-off makes for a brilliant melange, a twisted and gory homage to those two films.

Instead of Kubrick giving us Discovery One's homicidal HAL with a New Age space monolith created hallucinatory antiseptic space purgatory in orbit above Jupiter; we have Anderson giving us Event Horizon's gravity drive - which is essentially a sentient magnetically bound black hole, basically a demonically possessed interdimensional hyper drive - that spits up demons from another dimension creating a hallucinatory shipboard hell fixed in the upper atmosphere of Neptune.

The aesthetics of the ship (which are very cool) imitate that of Alien's Nostromo, and the ill-fated crew here is from a rescue ship come to save and salvage the Event Horizon (sort of the reverse of Bowman in 2001 boarding the escape pod Eva to flee HAL and go meet the Monolith) much like the crew of the Nostromo responded to the "rescue beacon" of the alien ship in Alien.

There are other similarities between these three films that I won't divulge to avoid spoilers. Suffice to say that the screen writers and studio ought to be paying royalties to the makers of those other two films - though I suppose all the rights involved are all owned by the same conglomerate..?

Other critics here complain that elements of the story are absurd - all I have to say to that is all science fiction and horror fantasy is on some level absurd. The laws of physics don't need to apply to a fantasy world. It's called suspension of disbelief. If you can't manage it, you'd better stick to PBS documentaries and such.

It's also all rather gory and over the top. But based on all the squalling here and at Rotten Tomatoes, I'd thought that it was going to much much worse than it actually turned out to be. It's about as gory as Alien, or Aliens - while a bit graphic in places, most of the intensity is psychological.

Because despite all the obvious derivation, and all the silly quibbles, this movie is simply great. Why? Though many of the plot points are ripped off, the spin here is unique, the production values are awesome, the acting is great, and resulting hybrid is intense and scary.

All of which is merely to say that this film totally rocks.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here