Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Prophets of Rage PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 64 reviews
on September 14, 2017
Thomas Sowell is one of my favorite writers. If you have read his books, then you know why-- and if you have not, then you'd have to read them to understand. Here is a man who isn't afraid of the truth-- and he writes it beautifully.

In Japan, they have people who are considered "National Treasures" for one reason or another. If we had a similar system in this country, Thomas Sowell would be considered a "National Treasure."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
A great read, and very quotable, such as: "One of these days the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals may declare the Constitution unconstitutional."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
Clear, concise, logical analysis backed up with facts. A refreshing look at the truth of things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 1, 2007
Thomas Sowell is one of America's intellectual giants. He is at the top of my list of people I would love to spend an afternoon with. Short of that, his just released "Ever Wonder Why" is a good alternative.

"Ever Wonder Why" is a collection of Sowell's best columns, 146 in all. In the book, Sowell, prize winning author, economist (UCLA's `Chicago School East'), and historian, provides his insights on the culture wars (elitists vs. workers, issues of equality, the role of the lay press, immigration), economic issues (housing, the `cost' of health care, social security, taxes), legal issues (judges, property rights, medical lawsuits), political issues (gun control myths, Ronald Reagan, the high cost of busybodies), education issues (school performance, vouchers, the `good' teachers), racial issues (are cops racist? Bill Cosby, race and IQ), and random thoughts.

Sowell informs, and teaches. He writes with impeccable logic and clarity. An afternoon with Sowell, either in-person or with "Ever Wonder Why," will be stimulating and thought provoking. You will be better for it.
0Comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
Sowell is very informed on economics and history, I learned a lot about both subjects, also about why the various federal welfare programs do not work in the long run, they just cause dependency and a lack of self reliance. I would have enjoyed hearing him in person at a lecture, or in a class, he gets an A in common sense. Definitely an excellent read!!! Tom J., Culpeper, Va.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2012
Dr. Thomas Sowell articulates what so many of us instinctively understand and know in such a well written fashion that you would be hard-pressed not to agree with his comments. That's a big concession if you're a liberal! He presents his views as the scholar that he is, supported by his well-researched homework and his decades of experience in the real world. Only liberals find it difficult to accept his pure common sense. The rest of us just smile and think "Right on, Dr. Sowell!"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
I love reading anything that Thomas Sowell writes, and Ever Wonder Why is no exception. He explores and explains topics in ways that really make a person think. He identifies unintended consequences of policies; he really digs beneath the surface and reveals real outcomes that miss the stated goal of the policy. Reading his writings has turned me into a more critical thinker.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
As is expected, Thomas Sowell is lucid, sometimes amusing, but always clear headed voice for reason, both in the field of economics, and in the realm of social issues. He never disappoints. We need more of his thinking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
Excellent book, deep thinking. It makes you analyze your believes. Highly recommended. I have a couple of more books from this author that I will read. Can't wait.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse