Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 9, 2017
Fun to listen to if you are a Bright Eyes fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 16, 2013
Many critics believe this is the Bright Eye's E.P. that catapulted them from "maybe" to a resounding YES...This Conor Oberst talent is indeed who his fans believe him to be, a genius! I'm not a critic, yet here I will second their motion that this E.P. is leaps and bounds beyond any other Bright Eyes E.P. I have been listening to Bright Eyes for about 14 years, daily. This is not to take away credit from any other work of theirs, but this E.P. starts with the amazing "A line allows progress..." and just goes from there. I believe the first two songs are the best two, but the remaining songs are great in their own right. If you're overwhelmed by the number of releases in the Bright Eyes catalog, there really is no bad place to start, so this could be the one to start with. Buy it, you wont regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2017
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2013
What a great EP!! I love all the songs. The lyrics are impeccable and it is totally a must have!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2005
God it is soo perfect that i cant even begin to describe.

Every day&Every night starts with "a line allows progress,a circle does not",a song that also holds the album title inside its gracefull lyrics;"this feeling always used to pass,but now it's every day and every night."it is a song about someone who forgot the purpose of her life,someone totally lost and alone, have nothing to do but get drunk and looking for an exit desperately.As they always does;conors lyrics tell the story in a natural,mournful way with lyrics that will haunt you whenever you hear them in your ordinary life.The song will pass you by with its haunting guitar melodies and will probably leave you questioning your own life,possibly with tears in your eyes..

Then,as you think if connor can ever do anything more touching then this one,"a perfect sonnet" will begin.And believe me no words i say is enough to tell you how touching,moving,rocking, devastating this song is!!As the song gets slower and faster over and over,it will make you think about each line connor tells,each section;which is another dagger to your heart,and you may cry over and over screaming this song in nights thinking of everything you did wrong and everything you've lost for all your life.

Ýt's a classic bright eyes song,what can i say?!!!

"Then comes on my way to work" a song questioning about the passing life and death,in a way that you dont really wanna like thinking about.The song is not that great as overall,but it is still bright eyes,and it has the quality to turn you upside down in the moment you least expect,by some line you've missed out before,or some piece of melody that you havent noticed...

A new arrangement;it resembles to arienette,one of the greatest bright eyes song ever;it's not as good as arienette but it is like a passage,a preparation to it.The most of this ep resembles fevers&mirrors,so if it has been released just before it,it'd make total sense.

The last song,i didnt got into it yet,never even listened it with all my ears but i'm sure sime time from now i'll really see what that song is about and it'll effect me just like all the others did in time.

A final,important note..Yes ; bright eyes songs are not songs to listen and just,like.You need to be ready for the songs and for the things he'll say to you,otherwise they will probably not make sense.

i see that some people are giving low stars to bright eyes telling that BE is not a great musician or a lyricist as we all say,and they blame him for pretending to be sad.and i just want to say that i know,that these people are just not ready,or not strong enough for him,and sadly some of them will never be.

but if you are one of those deep people,still confused about the way life works and ends,or figuring out how love matters to give a meaning to it all,buy this EP..you'll not regret i promise
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2012
Amazing ep and the kickoff to Bright Eyes' remarkable run of high quality output spanning from this '99 collection on through the 2005 sister albums I'm Wide Awake It's Morning/Digital Ash- a period that in my view represents Conor Oberst's creative peak as an artist. What preceded this release was fine and laid the foundation and template for his unique brand of confessional songwriting; A Collection Of Songs Written and Recorded 1995-1997 and the first BE proper album, Letting Off The Happiness. But Every Day and Every Night is where he truly spread his wings as a unique, compelling lyricist for the first time. Every track here is rock solid and the 5 songs are unified by an undercurrent of grim and moody introspection, expressed through both whispers and near-screams. I have never been one of the pack turned off by Oberst's emotive, "unstable" voice prevalent in his early work. To me it seemed to ring true and gave added impact to the imagery evoked by the lyrics. It fit his brand of storytelling perfectly.

To think the dude was a mere 19 years of age when he wrote these songs still impresses me. Pieces like "A Perfect Sonnet," (widely declared his strongest song to date at the time of this release) the meditative "On My Way To Work" and the dark and atmospheric closer "Neely O'Hara" help piece together what is one of Oberst's strongest and most cohesive records. It stands tall and holds up remarkably well over 12 years on!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2004
This was the second Bright Eyes cd I purchased and I was quite impressed. Some of the songs on this cd have a deeper (more bass) sound than the songs on "Lifted" and it makes for a very interesting sound. I think that this cd, especially "A Perfect Sonnet", shows off Conor's poetic genius more than a few of the songs on "Lifted" do. The speaking transitions after "On My Way to Work" and "Neely O'Hara" are wonderful and should not be skipped. Every song on this cd is well worth it and there are no songs that will keep you from putting this whole album on repeat. Even though it is only five songs, it will leave you wanting more of Conor and his emotional poetry. Note: I just read "Valley of the Dolls" and discovered Conor's allusion to Neely O'Hara who "swallows her sleep," so just in case you ever wondered who she is, you can read the book and find out more of what Conor meant.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2004
Every Day and Every Night is indie rock(?) at its best. It packs a lot of emotional punch without any cheese! Its poetic and highly interspective. Conner Oburst deals with a lot of darkness in the this EP. AND, it just sounds good. The style is dynamic: melodic and catchy yet original and unconventional. I could decribe Bright Eyes style as -elements of blue-grass and folk combined with acoustic indie rock. Sometimes there is screaming/sobbing, sometimes there are clean cut, pretty harmonies. That sounds strange I know. But give it a chance if you like bands like Cursive, Grandaddy, Modest Mouse, etc. Every Day and Every Night is deep and passionate and if you're deep and passionate, you just might like it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2001
Shame on whoever gave this a bad review. I believe this is the best Bright Eyes album, although it is too bad there are only 5 tracks. Conor Oberst is not only amazing on the CD, he is an amazing person, and are great live. Conor Oberst has the most fantastic screams in the history of rock. Yes, better than Janis Joplin by far. The lyrics to "A Perfect Sonnet" and amazingly well crafted and delivered: "I believe that lovers should be tied together, thrown into the ocean in the worst of weather, left there to drown, left there to drown in their innocence." Neely O'hara, although a somewhat uncharacteristic Bright Eyes song, makes good use of different sounds and is multi-textured. Perfect to listen to while driving down an old dirt road late at night, with a clear moon and stark white trees on all sides. The album is worth the listen for sure. It's easy to get into, and hard to get out of.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2000
When Conor Oberst puts his words to paper something truly special happens: he somehow puts his finger directly on the pulse of what is bothering every single one of us. The album consists of 5 songs that span just over 20 minutes, but after listening to it you'll feel like you just came out of a 2-hour therapy session. The music is simplistic and catchy, and it serves as the perfect backdrop to the amazing lyrical content and even more amazing vocal performance. If you've had a loved one die, if you've seen your life crash before your eyes, then you'll recognize the grief and the beauty of Bright Eyes. Seriously, it's that good.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse