Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Josh Too and the conflicts PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 128 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 264 reviews
on July 21, 2015
Great CD....TOP selling, award winning album! What can you say about Neil Young? He was Great with Buffalo Springfield. He was Super with Crosby, Stills, & Nash! SOLO he is great, with Crazy Horse he kicks ass. From his politics, his great & many loves, the Drugs....He sings what he's feeling, he always has, and he's not afraid to put it out there either (Impeach the President)....Still going strong after all these years, he's just the Best!
The Shipper Zipped this out to me like lightning! I'm very very appreciative of a quick ship! Thank You So Much!
"POE"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2011
This album will make you grow, either as a musician or an appreciator. This is from the time of highly inspired guitar work that alternates between mellow and frenzied, smooth and percussive. I bought it for Cowgirl in the Sand, which I happened to hear on a classic rock radio station a year ago. I knew I had to have that album. Luckily all the songs are fantastic and they blend together really well to create a very solid album. Not a lot of songs, but each one is a very long and thoughtful voyage.
I was born in the mid-80s, so I have absolutely no business associating with this type of music: but the character of Neil Young and the very spirited contributions of Crazy Horse make me dream I could have been a part of this time. Music was more for performance, unlike the pervasive electronic djs and tape-runners of the new century; yet while it was performance driven it did not have the desperate urge to show off virtuoso skills or one's vigilante image of which the 80s and 90s saw so much. Any person who likes this kind of stuff, especially in this time, will probably have a refined sense of sentimentality, of history, of vintage excellence and style.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
With the release of his second solo album, "Everyone Knows This Is Nowhere", a timeless gem, Neil Young took his music as a solo performer to a new level, establishing himself as a noteworthy artist at that time. The album eventually became an epic milestone in Neil Young's long career in the music business, and it was a portent of a string of wonderful albums to come! With the assistance of three(3) friends from a group called, The Rockets, Neil Young redefined his music in a big way. The music on this album was fresh--it was a harder form of West Coast folk-rock, recorded deliberately with few takes in the studio--and the album showcased the wonderful guitar interplay between Neil Young and Danny Whitten. The album included a number of extraordinary songs, among them being: "Cinnamon Girl", "Cowgirl In The Sand", and "Down By The River." And, since the album's release, its music has certainly received plenty of airplay on the radio from coast to coast (and deservedly so!) It can be said that this album has passed the crucial test of time, and as a result, it is well worth a listen, even today!

Neil Young made a distinct mark for himself earlier in the California folk-rock scene as a member of the popular, but short-lived group, Buffalo Springfield, with his outstanding songwriting and guitar playing. However, Neil Young's contributions to the band were overshadowed to a degree with the songwriting by fellow band member, Stephen Stills, and the singing by Richie Furay. The group's first single entitled, "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing", was released in 1966, shortly after the group's formation. The song was written by Neil Young. The group's mega-hit that year, "For What It's Worth", a protest song, was released sometime soon thereafter, and it was written by Stephen Stills. Unfortunately, the group's music was not being well produced at the time, and this deficiency was one factor that prompted Neil Young to seek someone else to produce his work in the studio. Here, he found Jack Nitzsche, a well-known producer who had worked with The Rolling Stones. Neil Young even went to the extreme and left the band entirely for a brief period of time to pursue his work in the studio in a different manner, and on his own terms, with Nitzsche's assistance. The result of this collaboration was a wonderful song by Neil Young entitled, "Expecting to Fly." Because Neil Young returned to the group shortly thereafter, the song was fortunately included on Buffalo Springfield's second album, "Buffalo Springfield Again." The album was released in October of 1967.

Neil Young's solo album was recorded in January of 1969, and it was released in May of that year. At about the same time, Stephen Stills, Neil Young's former colleague from the Buffalo Springfield, joined David Crosby, a close friend from The Byrds and Graham Nash, another friend from the British band, The Hollies, to form a vocal band named, "Crosby, Stills, and Nash." The trio released a well-received album, also a gem and a milestone in rock history, only two weeks after the release of Neil Young's solo album! At the suggestion of the president of the record company, Neil Young joined the trio in the studio in a collaboration of sorts. The result was magnificent! The album entitled, "Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young", was yet another gem. And, it is worthy to note here that the group performed together live for the second time only at the infamous mega-concert of that time, Woodstock, in August of that same year!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2009
I do not wish to disagree with the other 2 reviews for this LP. It is very possible that there were a group of bad records together and that's what they both had. I must say that my record is just fine! Not only fine, but amazing sounding. The remastering-from-the-original tapes thing is sometimes special, sometimes just okay - but in this case, it's very special. I have all of the reissues but Harvest and this is I think my favorite to listen to. Maybe it's because the simplicity of the sounds - there's not much on most of this record beyond guitars, bass, drums, vocals - but it sounds like it was recorded yesterday. I a/b'd it with my old copy (bought in the late 70s) and it was significantly clearer and slightly louder, too. The dynamics are greatly improved on the softer songs as well - Round and Round lost a lot of the original 'mush' quality.
The packaging is really nice. I am very tired of buying 180g vinyl in cheap little sleeves and months down the road you get seam splits, etc (I'm looking at you, Simply Vinyl!) These Neil Young records come in thick, thick gatefold sleeves. The beige steamboat Reprise label is reproduced with just a tiny emblem signifying the new label. Really well worth it. I hope my luck continues with "Harvest"!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
Neil Young has produced countless five star masterpieces throughout his career but this one will never be equaled. Down By The River and Cowgirl In The Sand are so incredible they will leave you speechless. It is songs like these that make Neil so enjoyable for folks that like all genres of music. A highly underrated guitar player who has produced music so unique and powerful it will never be matched. This is an absolute must for any serious classic rock, alternative, metal, or grunge collection. If you have never heard it get your hands on it as fast as you can!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
Neil Young's Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere...Timeless Classic Rock on heavy weight 180 gram vinyl...Vinyl is the ultimate audio source.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2012
Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere is the Neil Young/Crazy Horse album to have! This is Neil Young rocking out big time, his guitar riff duels with Danny Whitten are especially crunchy on Down By The River. Neil Young never did get enough credit for his funky riffs. You get the eclectic melancholy Young in songs like Round and Round and Running Dry, you get the country flavor of Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, you get a top forty pop rocker with Cinnamon Girl and the quintessential rock ramble of Cowgirl In The Sand in one short, sweet album. When this album was released all the college late night AOR FM stations were playing cuts, then it became too popular to be "cool" and then a few years later people looked back and said that maybe, just maybe, this is as good as it got with Neil Young? Not as popular as Harvest, not as off-kilter as After The Goldrush or as well known as his collaboration with Crosby, Stills and Nash. EKTIN is where Buffalo Springfield was heading had they survived, I think. If you loved Mr. Soul or Expecting To Fly then this album will be a favorite!

Neil is said to have written two or three of the songs with a 103.5 fever. But he hadn't really started to rust yet. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
Everybody knows this is SOMEWHERE! This is somewhere I want to be. This album is a classic from the first song to the last song! One of, if not my favorite, Neil Young records! Makes me want to head out to the country and sit on a sandy shore of a river with my cowgirl girlfriend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2009
Neil Young's Everybody Knows This is Nowhere really stands the test of time. Of course, that would have been impossible to say when I first heard the album, way back in '69, but even then, I enjoyed hearing the songs repeatedly, and to me, that's the ultimate test of a song, that I can hear it again, in a day or so, and still enjoy it as much. The late night FM staples are there, of course, with Cowgirl in the Sand and Down by the River, but other gems are there, too, like Running Dry (Requiem for The Rockets) and that ethereal, haunting violin by Bobby Notkoff (thanks, Google). All in all, a pillar in the rock album temple.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
This has always been one of my favorite Neil Young albums and I think Neil has always been at his best with Crazy Horse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here